Customer Reviews for

The Outsiders

Average Rating 4.5
( 2658 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2122)

4 Star

(350)

3 Star

(105)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(53)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

74 out of 83 people found this review helpful.

Most Likely the Most Unforgettable Book I Have Ever Read (So far...)

I know I am going to write a long review so I will give my first impression off the bat: THIS BOOK IS WONDERFUL! READ IT!
I first picked up this book last summer because I thought I had to read it for my school's summer reading list. In the car on the way home from the...
I know I am going to write a long review so I will give my first impression off the bat: THIS BOOK IS WONDERFUL! READ IT!
I first picked up this book last summer because I thought I had to read it for my school's summer reading list. In the car on the way home from the library, I did what I always do with new books: read the back cover. I honestly didn't think I'd like this book because I really had no idea what it was about, but after reading the back cover, I was immediatley interested in what I read and started reading it right there in the back seat. From there, I don't believe I went anywhere without the OUTSIDERS by my side. In and out of school, I raved to my friends about this book. Although a few of them didn't really listen (matt), one girl told me about S.E.Hintons other books. I was also extremelly excited to see the play a local high school did, see the movie, and do a book report on the OUTSIDERS.
I found characters very well developed and abosulutely wonderful for the imagination. Ponyboy is really one of the better characters I have read about; someone we could all look up to: the gentelman in a tough situation. And someone I can really relate to as a teenager and a lover of books and movies. The names of the characters were creative and I throughly enjoyed the descriptions of the characters and their various situations. The OUTSIDERS gives a new look on a subject that is often looked upon with much scorn and violence.
But what I might have enjoyed most about this book is the absolute innocence of it. If you are looking for a book a 10 year old (or younger) could read, this is definitly a mature book without all the througly annoying nonsense of the teen books. Being 14, I, unfortunately have tried many times to find a book without language or sex in the teen section and have failed sadly (although I have been very happily succesful in the Christian Fiction section!). The OUTSIDERS can be found in the teen section but contain none of the atrosities mentioned that effect the teen and adult books of today. This book does have a fair bit of violence but it is a book about gangs and we are not talking about a book where elves go on a picnic and get neither ants nor rain.
If anyone asked me to give my opinion on this book over lunch I could probably say a heck of a lot more and give away the story entirelly. But I won't. My final answer if you are deciding on reading this book or not, the answer is clearly YES without a doubt.

posted by Stella_Black on April 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

123 out of 137 people found this review helpful.

Amazing Story!

This book is amazing. I had to read it for school and to tell you the truth at first I thought the book sucked. A total bore! But then I got more into it and started to realize how interesting the story actually was. Its a great book, definetly worth reading!

posted by Aryanna on May 31, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2658 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 133
  • Posted May 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing Story!

    This book is amazing. I had to read it for school and to tell you the truth at first I thought the book sucked. A total bore! But then I got more into it and started to realize how interesting the story actually was. Its a great book, definetly worth reading!

    123 out of 137 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Most Likely the Most Unforgettable Book I Have Ever Read (So far...)

    I know I am going to write a long review so I will give my first impression off the bat: THIS BOOK IS WONDERFUL! READ IT!
    I first picked up this book last summer because I thought I had to read it for my school's summer reading list. In the car on the way home from the library, I did what I always do with new books: read the back cover. I honestly didn't think I'd like this book because I really had no idea what it was about, but after reading the back cover, I was immediatley interested in what I read and started reading it right there in the back seat. From there, I don't believe I went anywhere without the OUTSIDERS by my side. In and out of school, I raved to my friends about this book. Although a few of them didn't really listen (matt), one girl told me about S.E.Hintons other books. I was also extremelly excited to see the play a local high school did, see the movie, and do a book report on the OUTSIDERS.
    I found characters very well developed and abosulutely wonderful for the imagination. Ponyboy is really one of the better characters I have read about; someone we could all look up to: the gentelman in a tough situation. And someone I can really relate to as a teenager and a lover of books and movies. The names of the characters were creative and I throughly enjoyed the descriptions of the characters and their various situations. The OUTSIDERS gives a new look on a subject that is often looked upon with much scorn and violence.
    But what I might have enjoyed most about this book is the absolute innocence of it. If you are looking for a book a 10 year old (or younger) could read, this is definitly a mature book without all the througly annoying nonsense of the teen books. Being 14, I, unfortunately have tried many times to find a book without language or sex in the teen section and have failed sadly (although I have been very happily succesful in the Christian Fiction section!). The OUTSIDERS can be found in the teen section but contain none of the atrosities mentioned that effect the teen and adult books of today. This book does have a fair bit of violence but it is a book about gangs and we are not talking about a book where elves go on a picnic and get neither ants nor rain.
    If anyone asked me to give my opinion on this book over lunch I could probably say a heck of a lot more and give away the story entirelly. But I won't. My final answer if you are deciding on reading this book or not, the answer is clearly YES without a doubt.

    74 out of 83 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2009

    Nico

    This book is really great! It has very believable, dimensional characters. The writer makes the characters seem real by giving them problems, and putting them in situations that they have to face their problems head on in a split second. They are faced with very real problems, and some not-so-real ones. The story takes place in a very common setting, where there are two social groups that collide day in and day out. The characters' problems co-relate with their setting to make things even more realistic. I would definitely reread this book just for fun! It is a good read for all ages!

    42 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful Book!

    This is the book I owe the world too! It's the book that really got me into reading and opened many doors for me. The story is about the tension between two groups (the rich kids known as the Socs and the poor kids known as Greasers). One day things are taken a bit to far which leads to a few problems for the Greasers.

    This is a book about friendship, family, and the struggles that sometimes need to be made to make it in the world.

    39 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2009

    !!!THIS BOOK IS AMAZZZZING!!!

    THIS BOOK IS AMAZING! I COULD READ IT AS MANY TIMES AS I WANT AND NEVER GET SICK OF IT!!!!

    37 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2009

    The Outsiders

    Timeless story written by 16-yr-old SE Hinton. Any teenager will be able to relate, especially boys. While not a difficult book to read, it is a great example of author voice, and an example of what a young person can accomplish. Should be on your 'Must Read' list...you won't be sorry!

    26 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Outsiders is a Fantastic Read

    The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton is a book the author wrote while she was still in high school and it is loosely based on her own life. The story takes place in a small, rural town in the 1960s. The two main groups in this story are the "socs" and the "greasers." The socs are wealthy high school students that do bad things and get away with them. The greasers are poor, less educated and tough.

    The Outsiders is a story of rebellion, youth, and heroism. It focuses on an endless, senseless conflict between two groups of young people and the problems that result. Its main character, Ponyboy, watches his world slowly fall apart as the battle between the groups rages around him. The use of a first-person narrator gives the reader a sense of belonging to the greasers, encouraging sympathy for their struggle. Ponyboy is a strong, sensitive, intelligent young person who cares very deeply about his friends and brothers. He often faces danger, and what he wants most is a sense of security and stability. Instead, events spiral towards an inevitable tragedy, and Ponyboy must accept his own powerlessness. The Greasers are young men who refuse to accept the subordinate position that society has given them. The Socs mock the Greasers and the adults in town overlook them: rather than accept their status and live in peace with the wealthier citizens of town, the Greasers seek respect and rebellion. They are proud, strong-willed people who know they deserve better. The result is a life of constant conflict and ever-present danger. At the end of The Outsiders, Pony is transformed from greaser into a writer. He learns to express his resentment and anger through more creative means, no longer resorting to violence. He is able to share his story with an authority figure, his English teacher, who does not belong to his crowd. The universal message of The Outsiders is that peace can come through understanding, communication, and a willingness to move beyond violence to resolve conflicts.

    This is a timeless story that was written from a teen's perspective. It is well written and enjoyable. It is required reading for most children in school yet most like the story and see a parallel of this story in today's times.

    21 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    AMAZING!!!

    Great book!! I read it in class and if i hadnt i would have missed out on alot. I couldnt put it down. The realism of it is incredible. I highly recomend is for a project or just for fun!

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Stunning!

    I had heard of The Outsiders before, and finally decided to read it on my own. I was absolutely stunned by how much it affected me. It is honestly the best book I have ever read, and this is coming from a die-hard Harry Potter fan. If you are going to read this, however, I would recommend reading the end in a private place, considering I literally sobbed for about twenty minutes, something no book has ever made me do. It's amazing!

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2009

    An Amazing Adventure

    S.E. Hinton's The Outsiders had to be one of the most moving teen reads ever written. This book can be read 100 times, and you'll still cry at parts and smile at other parts, even when you know what is going to happen.
    My good friend had first told me about this book and she started explaining how much she loved it and how it was about gangs, and I did a double take. At the moment, I thought she was crazy for obsessing over a book about gangs. Now, I see why she loves it so much.
    No one would ever think a book about Greasers and Socs would ever be this incredible. But it is, and the fact that Hinton had started writing this at the age of fifteen is amazing.
    Incredible author and an incredible heart warming book that will live on forever.

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I LOVED THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!! <3

    THIS BOOK WAS AWESOME!!!! I LOVED THE CHARACTERS AND HOW U CAN'T REALLY TELL WATS GOING 2 HAPPEN IN THE BEGINNING. IT IS MY ALL TIME FAVORITE BOOK!!!!

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    BUY THE BOOK!!! The BEST!!!

    Ponyboy Curtis, the main character in The Outsiders, lives with his older brothers, Darrel (Darry) and Sodapop. Pony and his friends (Darry, Soda, Johnny, Dally, Two-Bit, and Steve) are 'greasers'. Greasers are like hoods who have a rough relationship with the 'Socs'. Socs are the rich kids who like to jump greasers for fun, and once in a while greasers and Socs get into a rumble. But one night, while Pony and Johnny are at the park, things go too far and Pony and Johnny must run away... Lots of way more exciting things happen after that and the book only gets better. Only that I dont want to spoil all the fun! Im sorry if you wanted to know more...

    **By the way: The second you are done reading the last paragraph in the book, READ THE FIRST PARAGRAPH IN CHAPTER 1. Trust me. ;)

    REVIEW: I promise you that you will enjoy reading every single word in the book (I know I did)! This is one of my TOP FAVORITES BOOKS and always will be! BUY THIS BOOK!!! You wont regret it. Five stars.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Fav

    I read this book this year in my reading class and loved it<3 i also reccomend that was then this is now and rumble fish

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    highly recommend

    The reason why I choose book is because I really recommend everyone to read this book. The reason why I say that is because this book can make you get really excited and make you not wanting to stop reading the book. Then characters in the story make the book live because actions gets better and better. The author writing makes the story very thrilling and all the action in it grasp my attention really fast when I first looked at the book I thought I was going to be disappointed but when I started to reading I told myself that was a lie but I was very surprise on how amazingly this book was. And after I read this book I recommended story.all my friends to read it and they told me no this book is going to be lame and I told them they need to try it out and they did. After one of my friends read the book he told me dude I don't like reading but this book is the best book I have ever read. But my friend told my other friend then he thought it was going to be corny but when he read it he was surprised. But out of the whole book my favorite part of the book is the part when the greaser and sacs fight that part has allot of action in it that part gets you really attracted me to the story and when I got to that part I didn't put the book down. So it was great telling you about my opinion and I really recommend you to read this

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2010

    Tha BEST book EVA!

    I read this book last year in 7th grade and i LOVE this book i read it like 5 times since them and it never gets old!! YOU HAVE TO READ IT!!! but if your to lazy to read it then watch the movie i LOVE the movie to! and maybe you will change your mind and read it...yup thats all i have to say

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    If this is suppose to be an introduction to the book it is edgy.

    I thought this was a great book because it could be any time period by just changing the gangs names. My daughter had to read it for seventh grade, she also has is dyslexic so I read it in order be able to help her if necessary. But I enjoyed the plot and twists of the story. So it is a good read and I would say take the time to read it.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    The sample sucks

    The sample sucks. Its just the authors note. DONT GET THE SAMPLE.

    6 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2012

    The Outsiders By: S.E. Hinton The Outsiders is a book about tw

    The Outsiders
    By: S.E. Hinton
    The Outsiders is a book about two social groups that go back and forth about who is better. The main characters are Ponyboy, Johnny, Dally, Sodapop, Two-bit, and Darry. Other characters are Cherry, Randy, Marcia, Steve, and Bob. The story takes place in Oklahoma. One group is the “greasers.” They are the poor east-side kids. The “Socs” are the west-side rich kids. The characters, Ponyboy and Johnny, get themselves caught up in running away, a murder, and a church fire. They find a little help on the way from Dally Winston. Ponyboy and his oldest brother, Darry, have problems of their own as well. I think that one of the themes for this book is family. The whole gang is like one big family. They stick together no matter what. When someone is in trouble, they are all there to help. I think that the other theme for the story is don’t judge a person unless you know their story. It’s important to understand a person before you form an opinion of them.
    I think that The Outsiders is a great book and I enjoyed reading it. I recommend it to everyone who loves a good, suspenseful book. I think Hinton developed her characters very well. Teenagers can really relate to all the social class drama. She definitely reached her target audience. The whole idea for the story, in my opinion, was executed very nicely. I think that everyone should read The Outsiders. I give the book two thumbs up!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Great book

    I had to read this book for school. So I thought this book will be boring but it is not boring at all.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    This book is a novel based on the 1960's about 2 groups in Oklah

    This book is a novel based on the 1960's about 2 groups in Oklahoma. There were the greasers, hoods who lived on the bad side of town, and then there were the Socs. Rich kids who greasers thought had it made. The narrator, Ponyboy, a 14 year old kid who is part of a greaser gang, lives with his 2 older brothers because his parents died in a car crash. One night, when Ponyboy and his friend, Johnny, get jumped by some Socs, everything goes wrong. The 2 boys have to run away before they get caught. So they ask their tough friend, Dallas Winston, to help them get out of town. Dally gives them some money, a gun, and a plan to help them escape. Then Ponyboy and Johnny hop on a train to the country. There the find an abandoned church. They think everything will be fine then. Well of course they are wrong. When Dally arrives to see how the boys are doing, they go to Dairy Queen. When they return to the church they’re staying in, it’s on fire. To make matters worse, some kids were trapped inside of it because a school was having a picnic around the lot. Ponyboy goes running off into the church to save the kids. Johnny follows after him. After they get most of the kids out, Ponyboy starts to come out. But before Johnny can, the church collapses on him. Both boys are rushed to the hospital right away. What happens next? It’s not my job to tell you!
    I really enjoyed this book because it made you fall in love with the characters. With each chapter you got to know something more about them and more complex. S. E. Hinton did a wonderful job slowly unraveling the plot. I know this is a story a bunch of people can relate to, whether they’ve been judged, have a bad home, or have had trouble with not knowing what to do. This story shows us that we all are in common and no one is better than another person.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2658 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 133