Customer Reviews for

The Outsiders

Average Rating 4.5
( 2749 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2198)

4 Star

(358)

3 Star

(108)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(57)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

85 out of 97 people found this review helpful.

Most Likely the Most Unforgettable Book I Have Ever Read (So far...)

I know I am going to write a long review so I will give my first impression off the bat: THIS BOOK IS WONDERFUL! READ IT!
I first picked up this book last summer because I thought I had to read it for my school's summer reading list. In the car on the way home from the...
I know I am going to write a long review so I will give my first impression off the bat: THIS BOOK IS WONDERFUL! READ IT!
I first picked up this book last summer because I thought I had to read it for my school's summer reading list. In the car on the way home from the library, I did what I always do with new books: read the back cover. I honestly didn't think I'd like this book because I really had no idea what it was about, but after reading the back cover, I was immediatley interested in what I read and started reading it right there in the back seat. From there, I don't believe I went anywhere without the OUTSIDERS by my side. In and out of school, I raved to my friends about this book. Although a few of them didn't really listen (matt), one girl told me about S.E.Hintons other books. I was also extremelly excited to see the play a local high school did, see the movie, and do a book report on the OUTSIDERS.
I found characters very well developed and abosulutely wonderful for the imagination. Ponyboy is really one of the better characters I have read about; someone we could all look up to: the gentelman in a tough situation. And someone I can really relate to as a teenager and a lover of books and movies. The names of the characters were creative and I throughly enjoyed the descriptions of the characters and their various situations. The OUTSIDERS gives a new look on a subject that is often looked upon with much scorn and violence.
But what I might have enjoyed most about this book is the absolute innocence of it. If you are looking for a book a 10 year old (or younger) could read, this is definitly a mature book without all the througly annoying nonsense of the teen books. Being 14, I, unfortunately have tried many times to find a book without language or sex in the teen section and have failed sadly (although I have been very happily succesful in the Christian Fiction section!). The OUTSIDERS can be found in the teen section but contain none of the atrosities mentioned that effect the teen and adult books of today. This book does have a fair bit of violence but it is a book about gangs and we are not talking about a book where elves go on a picnic and get neither ants nor rain.
If anyone asked me to give my opinion on this book over lunch I could probably say a heck of a lot more and give away the story entirelly. But I won't. My final answer if you are deciding on reading this book or not, the answer is clearly YES without a doubt.

posted by Stella_Black on April 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

132 out of 146 people found this review helpful.

Amazing Story!

This book is amazing. I had to read it for school and to tell you the truth at first I thought the book sucked. A total bore! But then I got more into it and started to realize how interesting the story actually was. Its a great book, definetly worth reading!

posted by Aryanna on May 31, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 108 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted May 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing Story!

    This book is amazing. I had to read it for school and to tell you the truth at first I thought the book sucked. A total bore! But then I got more into it and started to realize how interesting the story actually was. Its a great book, definetly worth reading!

    132 out of 146 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    This book is a novel based on the 1960's about 2 groups in Oklah

    This book is a novel based on the 1960's about 2 groups in Oklahoma. There were the greasers, hoods who lived on the bad side of town, and then there were the Socs. Rich kids who greasers thought had it made. The narrator, Ponyboy, a 14 year old kid who is part of a greaser gang, lives with his 2 older brothers because his parents died in a car crash. One night, when Ponyboy and his friend, Johnny, get jumped by some Socs, everything goes wrong. The 2 boys have to run away before they get caught. So they ask their tough friend, Dallas Winston, to help them get out of town. Dally gives them some money, a gun, and a plan to help them escape. Then Ponyboy and Johnny hop on a train to the country. There the find an abandoned church. They think everything will be fine then. Well of course they are wrong. When Dally arrives to see how the boys are doing, they go to Dairy Queen. When they return to the church they’re staying in, it’s on fire. To make matters worse, some kids were trapped inside of it because a school was having a picnic around the lot. Ponyboy goes running off into the church to save the kids. Johnny follows after him. After they get most of the kids out, Ponyboy starts to come out. But before Johnny can, the church collapses on him. Both boys are rushed to the hospital right away. What happens next? It’s not my job to tell you!
    I really enjoyed this book because it made you fall in love with the characters. With each chapter you got to know something more about them and more complex. S. E. Hinton did a wonderful job slowly unraveling the plot. I know this is a story a bunch of people can relate to, whether they’ve been judged, have a bad home, or have had trouble with not knowing what to do. This story shows us that we all are in common and no one is better than another person.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2014

    Book Review Title: The Outsiders Author: S. E. Hinton Ponyboy



    Book Review
    Title: The Outsiders
    Author: S. E. Hinton

    Ponyboy relies on his brothers and his friend Johnny. Even the trouble with the Socs, a gang of wealthy teenagers who beat up Greasers like Ponyboy. Until one night, the Socs cross the line. Ponyboy and Johnny were at the “lot”. That was when the Socs showed up and began to beat them up. Johnny, out of self-defense, stabbed and killed one of the Socs. Ponyboy and Johnny got a hideout in order to avoid the police. One day, Johnny and Ponyboy returned to their hideout. It was on fire. That wasn’t the problem though; the problem was that there were children in the burning hideout! Ponyboy and Johnny had to do something. They manage to save the kids, but Johnny was in the building when it finally collapsed. He was badly injured. Will Johnny survive this horrible incident? Read “The Outsiders” to find out!
    The book “The Outsiders” is a very well-worded book. In fact, if you read the book, you’d feel like you were there with Ponyboy the whole time! In addition, the author uses a very suspenseful tone. Which best reflects the book. However, the book does have some foul language in it, so only mature people should read it.
    In my opinion, “The Outsiders” is a fantastic book. It really is a great book to read! Youth would probably have the best time reading it because the book is about youth. On the contrary, for young children, this wouldn’t be a proper book to read. In the book, there are a few curse words. In my opinion, a book with foul language is not appropriate for children. Other than that, the book reveals a very suspenseful tone! For example, the book says, “…you’d have had to know him to see the panic in his eyes.” This quote from the boom demonstrates suspense. If you’re the kind of person that likes suspenseful books, this is the book for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Excellent read.

    I read this as a naive seventh grader.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    It was ok ...........

    We had to read this in english class (coporate landing middle) i thought it was ok, nothing special, but some parts were very interesting

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    The Outsiders The outsiders is a book set in Oklahoma in the 1

    The Outsiders

    The outsiders is a book set in Oklahoma in the 1960's. It is written by S.E. Hinton. It talks about the life of a group of poor boys on the poor side of town. In the 1960's conflicts were raging between two social groups; the Greasers and the Socs. One of the gangs has the boys who the adventure happens to. There are three brothers Ponyboy, Sodapop, and Darry. others in that gang were Two-Bit, Dally, Steve, and Johnny. Each one of them is different from each other. Darry, Ponyboy's older brother hits him after Ponyboy falls asleep with Johnny in the open lot. He and Johnny run away to let Ponyboy cool off. The go to the park and get jumped by Socs. The Socs start drowning Ponyboy, and to save him Johnny kills the leader. Once Johnny and Ponyboy realize what they have done they run to their friend Dally. He gives them a gun, money, and advice to hide in an old abandoned church on top of jay mountain. Ponyboy and Johnny go there on the morning train. Once they get there they buy food and cut their hair. Ponyboy bleaches his. But can they live this way forever? Or do they have to give themselves in?

    The Outsiders is a very good book. The writers words really captured the images in my brain. The messages in her book were hidden but if you thought about it you got them. Also her plot was realistic. Although I like fantasy books still I really liked this one. I recommend you this book to others if they like books with a lot of deep meaning in them. The book's theme is very good and very powerful if you learn something from the book its the theme. Don't judge people. The book was very good and I recommend others to read it if they like adventure books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2001

    A Book Read in School

    A book chosen is always better than a book you're forced to read in school, no matter the storyline. Anyway... I think it's cool how New Found Glory used a quote from it at the beginning of their album, 'Nothing Gold Can Stay'. Although it drove me nuts trying to figure out where I heard that. Anyway, this book is alright. I guess I just didn't like it because I had to read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2014

    Looks good

    It looks good and im going to start reading this in a few days it looks good tho.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2015

    Meg

    Meh.
    It was too meh.
    Read other stuff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    @ Im a Highschool Sophmore...

    Wrong book buddy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    Should i waatch themovie respond to love

    Should i wharch the movie
    I thought the book was okay but dont know if the movie is worth it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2013

    It was ok

    It wasnt great and it wasnt terrible. Had a good plot but didnt have a well based line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Good

    This one was really good. Yes read for school. The characters were interesting. Movie was even sadder but still good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Eh

    The book was okay. I read it for school and found it interesting, but I didn't love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    Req a Read in class

    I read this in class super neat

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    This book was great and action packed. I loved it.

    This book was great and action packed. I loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    good book you should read it

    good book you should read it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Not my fav

    I did enjoy the book but not at i like i enjoy other books.ijust didnt get in the story. I would recomend it if youlike stuff from tje eightys but i would not recomend it to most of my friends

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Ok

    Reading it in school
    Ok book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Ok :/

    Ok:/

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 108 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6