Customer Reviews for

The Outsiders

Average Rating 4.5
( 2625 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2095)

4 Star

(347)

3 Star

(103)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(53)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

67 out of 76 people found this review helpful.

Most Likely the Most Unforgettable Book I Have Ever Read (So far...)

I know I am going to write a long review so I will give my first impression off the bat: THIS BOOK IS WONDERFUL! READ IT!
I first picked up this book last summer because I thought I had to read it for my school's summer reading list. In the car on the way home from the...
I know I am going to write a long review so I will give my first impression off the bat: THIS BOOK IS WONDERFUL! READ IT!
I first picked up this book last summer because I thought I had to read it for my school's summer reading list. In the car on the way home from the library, I did what I always do with new books: read the back cover. I honestly didn't think I'd like this book because I really had no idea what it was about, but after reading the back cover, I was immediatley interested in what I read and started reading it right there in the back seat. From there, I don't believe I went anywhere without the OUTSIDERS by my side. In and out of school, I raved to my friends about this book. Although a few of them didn't really listen (matt), one girl told me about S.E.Hintons other books. I was also extremelly excited to see the play a local high school did, see the movie, and do a book report on the OUTSIDERS.
I found characters very well developed and abosulutely wonderful for the imagination. Ponyboy is really one of the better characters I have read about; someone we could all look up to: the gentelman in a tough situation. And someone I can really relate to as a teenager and a lover of books and movies. The names of the characters were creative and I throughly enjoyed the descriptions of the characters and their various situations. The OUTSIDERS gives a new look on a subject that is often looked upon with much scorn and violence.
But what I might have enjoyed most about this book is the absolute innocence of it. If you are looking for a book a 10 year old (or younger) could read, this is definitly a mature book without all the througly annoying nonsense of the teen books. Being 14, I, unfortunately have tried many times to find a book without language or sex in the teen section and have failed sadly (although I have been very happily succesful in the Christian Fiction section!). The OUTSIDERS can be found in the teen section but contain none of the atrosities mentioned that effect the teen and adult books of today. This book does have a fair bit of violence but it is a book about gangs and we are not talking about a book where elves go on a picnic and get neither ants nor rain.
If anyone asked me to give my opinion on this book over lunch I could probably say a heck of a lot more and give away the story entirelly. But I won't. My final answer if you are deciding on reading this book or not, the answer is clearly YES without a doubt.

posted by Stella_Black on April 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

112 out of 126 people found this review helpful.

Amazing Story!

This book is amazing. I had to read it for school and to tell you the truth at first I thought the book sucked. A total bore! But then I got more into it and started to realize how interesting the story actually was. Its a great book, definetly worth reading!

posted by Aryanna on May 31, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 347 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 18
  • Posted November 29, 2012

    The Outsiders By: S.E. Hinton The Outsiders is a book about tw

    The Outsiders
    By: S.E. Hinton
    The Outsiders is a book about two social groups that go back and forth about who is better. The main characters are Ponyboy, Johnny, Dally, Sodapop, Two-bit, and Darry. Other characters are Cherry, Randy, Marcia, Steve, and Bob. The story takes place in Oklahoma. One group is the “greasers.” They are the poor east-side kids. The “Socs” are the west-side rich kids. The characters, Ponyboy and Johnny, get themselves caught up in running away, a murder, and a church fire. They find a little help on the way from Dally Winston. Ponyboy and his oldest brother, Darry, have problems of their own as well. I think that one of the themes for this book is family. The whole gang is like one big family. They stick together no matter what. When someone is in trouble, they are all there to help. I think that the other theme for the story is don’t judge a person unless you know their story. It’s important to understand a person before you form an opinion of them.
    I think that The Outsiders is a great book and I enjoyed reading it. I recommend it to everyone who loves a good, suspenseful book. I think Hinton developed her characters very well. Teenagers can really relate to all the social class drama. She definitely reached her target audience. The whole idea for the story, in my opinion, was executed very nicely. I think that everyone should read The Outsiders. I give the book two thumbs up!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2009

    The Outsiders

    The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton takes place in Tulsa,Oklahoma in the late 1950's. This book is about two rival gangs, the Greasers and the Socs (pronounced Sosh's). These gangs hate eachother. The Socs jump Greasers for fun and the Greasers are getting tired of it. The members of the Greasers are Ponyboy Curtis, Darrel (Darry) Curtis, Sodapop Curtis, Johnny Cade, Steve Randale, Two-Bit Mathews, and Dallas (Dally) Winston. The Greasers are a gang that stick together and have a brotherly love for eachother. The Socs on the other hand is a pack, if one goes down the rest of the gang runs. <BR/><BR/>This book relates to me because me and my friends are like the greasers. I have been in many tough situations, and my friends stuck up for me each time. This book also deals with social discrimination, something that all teenagers can relate to. <BR/><BR/>All and all this was an awesome book, definitely my favorite. You should find time to read this.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Outsiders

    The book is about Johnny who stapes another Socs. So his friend and he run away. They get told to go to Jay Mountain. On Jay Mountain they go to an abandon church. One day when they leave and come back it is on fire with children in it. They go in and rescue the children but Johnny gets injured and dies.

    Susan Eloise Hinton was born in Tulsa, Oklahoma. She has always enjoyed reading but wasn't with that written for young adults, which her to write novels like The Outsiders. This book was her first, published in 1967 by Viking.

    Some of the characters are Ponyboy, Darry, Johnny.

    He stapes someone so he ran away. Wrote great book for young adults.

    I think the book was great. I thought it was the best book I ever read. It is a great book for my age.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2009

    The Outsiders

    This book really open my eye to the world.I like this book in many ways but it was a little sad. The Outsiders really showed me that lots of people were miss treated.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Must Read

    This was such a good book. It is really easy to read and you fall so much in love with the characters. It'll make you laugh and cry. You'll shake your head at Ponyboy, feel sympathy for Sodapop, and pray Darry can calm his temper. My favorite book of all times.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    MUST READ!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Awsome book must read trust me its that cool its a freaking a+ its so cool it might be boring in the beging but it will get better during the story just read it read the best book in the world THE OUTSIDERS READ IT

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    S Outsiders

    Good book, S.E. Hinton should write a sequel!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    So good... yet sad

    This book made me cry, I admit it. It was so well-written that it was astonishing. It was great and kept me on the edge of my seat. Hinton clearly likes to play with your emotions, making you care about even the worst characters. Read it- it may seem like you regret it, but you won't.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    School

    I had to read this in class and at first I didn not like it but then it grew on me

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Great book

    It was a good book just sad in some parts.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Terrific read!

    I watched the movie and read the book for English class, and believe me it is one of the most meaningful books I have read in a while. It keeps you hooked with the non-stop events. Even though it was set in the past, it applies in several ways to events and social interactions today. It was a truly groundbreaking novel when it was published. A great teen novel full of ups and downs.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    Djjd

    A suprisingly amazing book/story written from this time period (1950s-1960s). It was an interesting read. I had to read for school and i gotta admit its one of the best books the school makes us read. But seriously! Ten bucks for this 180page book? Even the hardcover version of this book is cheaper! But because it is on the nook, it is great for highlighting/taking notes/searching words. So buy it if you r willing to soend ur money. AND STOP WRITING DUMB REVEIWS ABOUT THIS IF U HAVENT EVEN READ THE BOOK!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2012

    I read the book the book the outsiders by S.E. Hinton. It took p

    I read the book the book the outsiders by S.E. Hinton. It took place in Oklahoma during the 1960’s. The main characters are: Johnny, Ponyboy, Dally, Cherry valance, Sodapop, Darry and Bob and Randy. The book is told from a 13-year old Ponyboy’s point of view. He tells about what his life is like. He lived with his 2 older brothers Sodapop and Darry Curtis. Their parents were killed in a car accident. Darry is 20 and works as a roofer to support the family. Sodapop is 16 and works at a gas station with his best friend Steve. Johnny is 16 and looks like the puppy that has been kicked to many times. They all call themselves Greasers. All except bob, cherry and Randy, who are socs. Socs are the rich kids that have fancy cloths and cars. The greasers are people that live in the bad part of town and have little money and all have a record of some sort. When Bob and Randy catch Ponyboy and Johnny walking with their girlfriends after a movie they get very mad. They later find them in the park at night all alone. Bob tries to drown Ponyboy in the fountain and Johnny kills him. They flee to a church a couple hours away with a gun and 50 dollars. The church caches on fire but not with them in it. There are some little kids playing in there though. So they go in and save them. Do they live or do they die in the fire. If so do they go to jail, get the electric chair? Find out in The Outsiders.
    My opinion on the how S.E developed her character is that she had some very creative thoughts. She gave the characters outstanding voice and lifelike personalities. Her plot was a very good change from something told from a 14 year olds point of view. The theme was also good. This story had some parts that I think were a little over exaggerated than things a real 14 and 16 year old life. Other than that the story had things that were very interesting. Yes I think she reached her audience nicely. There was always a twist at every corner ant things would always change unexpectedly. I did like the book a lot and am sad that it is over. I would recommend it to my friends, family and YOU. So read the outsiders today.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    In this book, 14 year old Ponyboy Curtis is struggling in life.

    In this book, 14 year old Ponyboy Curtis is struggling in life. He's a Greaser, (poor kid), and it's all he can do not to get jumped by the Socs, the rich kids that are constantly battling the Greasers. He lives with his brothers, Sodapop and Darrel, (Darry). With their parents dead, Ponyboy and his brothers have to struggle just to get by. Then there's Johnny... he is terrified, hurt, and pitiful. He's been this way since the night he was brutally jumped, beat up to the point of tears, (and you never want to cry if you're a Greaser). One night, Ponyboy and Johnny decided to go to the park, at 2 o'clock in the morning. Everything was fine... until the Socs showed up. Ponyboy and Johnny must escape the town, and fast, before it's too late, leaving behind everything they love and care for. Why did they have to leave? What will happen? You'll just have to read the book to find out.
    This book is truly amazing, with the combination of exquisite writing, and vivid vocabulary, I was left in awe. I loved how she could describe the setting without giving a long, boring, paragraph about it. She kept it interesting, even while she was just writing about a landscape. I also loved how she so perfectly captured the characters personality by the way they speak, and how Ponyboy, (the main character), describes them perfectly. I especially enjoyed the plot in this story though. It thrilled me with a riveting mix of action, love, mystery, and the feeling of belonging. This book perfectly described how the feud between the Socs, and the Greasers would be and how we would see it. This factor made this story completely realistic and interesting at the same time. I don’t know about other people, but S.E. Hinton completely reached me with her book, and I can easily imagine that I’m not the only one that feels this way. In conclusion, I thoroughly enjoyed this book and would recommend it to others of all ages. The only thing that I was disappointed with though, would be that there is a little bit of inappropriate language in it that I would appreciate if it weren’t there.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2012

    The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton takes place in the 1960¿s in Tulsa

    The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton takes place in the 1960’s in Tulsa, Oklahoma. The main characters are Ponyboy, sweet little Johnny, Darry, Soda, rough Dally, and Two-bit. The main socs are Bob, Randy, Cherry, and Marsha. The book is about two rivals, the socs and the greasers. Socs do mean things to the greasers such as make fun of them, jump them and not treat them as human beings; very few socs are not mean like this. Ponyboy meets Cherry, a soc who is living a double life, one with her friends and one with the greasers. One night one of the socs jumped the wrong guys, Ponyboy and Johnny, and learnt his lesson. After what Johnny and Ponyboy have done they must flee town and go a long, long ways away. Will they return? What will happen to them? Will they get caught? All of these questions are answered in the exciting conclusion of The Outsiders.
    I give The Outsiders four stars because it was an excellent book! I think Hinton is an outstanding writer because she has a very good vocabulary, imagination, and characterization. S.E. Hinton uses many good writing tricks to make this book more exciting and interesting. I really like her characters, especially Johnny. Johnny is the smallest one and pet of the gang. The Outsiders is one of the best books I’ve read. It has lots of suspense and is hard to put down. I think you should read The Outsiders because you’ll like it a lot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    A great book that moved me. Everything was the way I wanted it t

    A great book that moved me. Everything was the way I wanted it to be. It was a perfect book that made a large amount of hits because it was both a boy/girl related book. I was extremely happy with it. My grade and I all had to read. Most people loved it. The author was amazing at writing things without telling us what it really meant. It was a book that you had to think about and understand to really like it. I only gave it four stars because I didn't love it as much as I wanted to , but thats because I have a different taste in books. I am really moved by some of the things that the characters do. It was a heart warming story to me. In some parts it even made me cry how hard it is in society. It made me really think about some ways that I have treated people and also how people have treated me. I now understand what other people think and I take it into consideration. I also think that it should've been a little more action packed between the Socs and Greasers. I think Hinton should have been a little more detailed. I love how Ponyboy and Cherry see some better things in the world then fighting. I love how Hinton made Ponyboy different from the others. Ponyboy was softer and has a bettter heart then most. Some moments were really heart-felt, thats why I really love this book. Its about how people are'nt really different except for personality.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2012

    Loved

    Read it for school. Cried a lot. Its boring at first, but then it really escalates.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2012

    Must Read!

    I haven't read such an interesting book in such a long time! I chose to read this book for English because of it's interesting summary, and it never disappointed. Once I finished the first page I was already hooked. This book had a really good story line with very interesting and dynamic characters.
    Throughout the book I didn't know what to expect, and it gave me a whole new view on, "gangsters." The characters were described as "hoodlums" or "gangsters," but as I read the book I realized that they faced similar struggles to all teenagers. It gave me a whole new perspective to who gangsters really are. This book was filled with descriptions that brought everything to life, from the characters, to the settings of the various places they went to. From these descriptions, it made me feel like I was a part of the story and could visualize how each of the characters were feeling at all times. The story line kept me on my toes too. Every page I read contained a sudden twist to the story that would catch me off guard. Whenever something would seem like it was going a well, a sudden tragedy would happen that would throw me off and make me feel the pain along with the characters in the story.
    This book is a must read if you like reading action packed stories, with loveable characters, and inspiring themes. If you need to read a book for english or just as your hobbie, look no further. Stop right here and buy this book, it won’t let you down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2009

    Outsiders

    This book was a good book because it helps us understand how some people are in tough situations and how they deal with the situations. The setting of the book was described in enough detail where i could basically see it in my head. The characters I really liked because all of them each had there separate personalities. I really liked this book and I hope you will read it sometime.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    QB REVIEW!!!

    I had to read this in 7th grade like three years ago and it was okay. Ponyboy was cute (still is) but its not like they were doing drugs or anything so i dont see the big deal. Anyway we watched the movie and i can barely remember what happened but i kinda liked it so i guess not to bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 347 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 18