Customer Reviews for

The Outsiders (SparkNotes Literature Guide)

Average Rating 3
( 139 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(60)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(53)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

out siders review

The outsider is a great book. This book is about a group of teenagers that have no one to care about them. This book is a great novel to read. If you like long interesting books you will love this book. If you like books that have suspense building on you will love this...
The outsider is a great book. This book is about a group of teenagers that have no one to care about them. This book is a great novel to read. If you like long interesting books you will love this book. If you like books that have suspense building on you will love this book. I would give this book a five out of five rating. Because it makes you realize that this stuff happens in real life. If you don┬┐t like books that are relative to life this book is not for you. By: Jonathan Christy

posted by Anonymous on October 25, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

26 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

WHAT!!!!!!!!!!!

Were is the real Outsiders? With Ponybiy and Sodapop and all them! Don't get this, its a ripoff!

posted by 5205997 on August 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 139 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    WHAT!!!!!!!!!!!

    Were is the real Outsiders? With Ponybiy and Sodapop and all them! Don't get this, its a ripoff!

    26 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    Z

    We want he real book not this!!!!!!!!!!

    17 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    What in the world

    Come on people wheres the real book, you can tell the world is going crazy when you dont even have the real outsiders book.

    17 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    The outsiders

    Where is the real book!!!! Nobody wants stupid footnotes get real wheres ponyboy and Dali and Johnny!!! DONT BUY THIS!! TAKE IT DOWN

    16 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2011

    REALLY?????

    Where is the real deal this is some non sence thus one of my fav books and i need it asap

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    Book.

    Where is the real book........?......??

    14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    SAMMY SWEETS

    HORRIBLE! WHAT IS THIS?

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    Smh.

    I just wasted my money. I want the real book.

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2011

    What the......

    Come on people where's the real book?I need this for class!

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    :(

    What kind of world is this where they dont even have the real book. do not buy this book!!! :(

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2007

    out siders review

    The outsider is a great book. This book is about a group of teenagers that have no one to care about them. This book is a great novel to read. If you like long interesting books you will love this book. If you like books that have suspense building on you will love this book. I would give this book a five out of five rating. Because it makes you realize that this stuff happens in real life. If you don¿t like books that are relative to life this book is not for you. By: Jonathan Christy

    7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Really guys? I guess I should be impressed that you do not know

    Really guys? I guess I should be impressed that you do not know about Spark Notes. But no one thinks this is the real novel. Spark Notes are a guide to help you as you read the novel. They help interpret what you are reading and draw attention to literary things that might be more complex. This is to be used in connection with the novel and NOT as a replacement for the novel. If you think of it as a replacement you will be sorely disappointed (and probably in trouble as teachers know how to test around Spark Notes). Use it as a tool and you will be set.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    What?!

    My LA teacher said the outsiders was a classic, so where is it??

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Anonymous

    This is NOT the real thing!! Don't get it. It is just a few chapters of the real books!!! Dont get it is a ripoff

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Real book

    We want the real book i need it by tomarrow!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2008

    A tragedy

    I thought it was good to read. It had a good story line. I had the ability to connect with the characters.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    What the REAL book cover looks like.

    The real book has a grayish black cover showing the chin, neck, and chest of some guy wearing a tank top/muscle shirt and a leather jacket. S.E. HINTON on it with red letters, all capitals at the very top. the outsiders is in all lower case letters, in white. Good Luck. (original cover, not movie cover.) From what I've heard this is not the real thing. So look for this,(what I described) and hope you find it. Stay gold. ;)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Im so confused

    What is this and were is the real book

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Wheres the real thing

    I know the outsiders is an older book but it is still in print! I wanted the real thing not some caca study guide!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    Where is the book?!!!

    Not finding some basic books folks! Not impressed with nook so far!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 139 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7