Customer Reviews for

The Outsiders (SparkNotes Literature Guide Series)

Average Rating 3
( 115 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(52)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

out siders review

The outsider is a great book. This book is about a group of teenagers that have no one to care about them. This book is a great novel to read. If you like long interesting books you will love this book. If you like books that have suspense building on you will love this...
The outsider is a great book. This book is about a group of teenagers that have no one to care about them. This book is a great novel to read. If you like long interesting books you will love this book. If you like books that have suspense building on you will love this book. I would give this book a five out of five rating. Because it makes you realize that this stuff happens in real life. If you don┬┐t like books that are relative to life this book is not for you. By: Jonathan Christy

posted by Anonymous on October 25, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

26 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

WHAT!!!!!!!!!!!

Were is the real Outsiders? With Ponybiy and Sodapop and all them! Don't get this, its a ripoff!

posted by 5205997 on August 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2007

    out siders review

    The outsider is a great book. This book is about a group of teenagers that have no one to care about them. This book is a great novel to read. If you like long interesting books you will love this book. If you like books that have suspense building on you will love this book. I would give this book a five out of five rating. Because it makes you realize that this stuff happens in real life. If you don¿t like books that are relative to life this book is not for you. By: Jonathan Christy

    7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Really guys? I guess I should be impressed that you do not know

    Really guys? I guess I should be impressed that you do not know about Spark Notes. But no one thinks this is the real novel. Spark Notes are a guide to help you as you read the novel. They help interpret what you are reading and draw attention to literary things that might be more complex. This is to be used in connection with the novel and NOT as a replacement for the novel. If you think of it as a replacement you will be sorely disappointed (and probably in trouble as teachers know how to test around Spark Notes). Use it as a tool and you will be set.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    I LOVE THE OUTSIDERS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I LOVE the outsiders and these are some of my favorite quotes from the book and movie!

    Two-bit: Well pity the backseat

    Johnny: Ponyboy aint you about to freeze to death?
    Ponyboy: You aint a woofin

    Ponyboy: Johnny killed a soc
    Dally: What? Alright good for you lets go.

    Ponyboy:
    Natures first green is gold
    Her hardest hue to hold
    Her early leaves a flower
    But only so an hour
    Then leaf subsides to leaf
    So eden sank to grief
    So dawn goes down today
    Nothing gold can stay
    ( poem by robert frost)

    Ponyboy: Is that guy comim?
    Johnny: no
    Ponyboy: why not too scared?
    Johnny: naw man too fat

    Jerry (teacher): or are you just professional heros?
    Ponyboy: no we're greasers Johnnys wanted for murder and dallas has a record with the fuzz a mile long.

    Darry: I thought we lost you like we did mom and dad
    ( me: :'( tear)

    Steve: sorry to tell you buddy, but you have to wear pants to work theres a law or something
    Sodapop: Oh yeah

    Dally: we gotta get even with those socs! Lets do it for Johnny man, we'll do it for Johnny

    Johnny: Stay gold, Ponyboy, stay gold.
    ( again, tear)
    I give the actual book 5 stars cause i love it soo much!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    The movie was great!!!

    I thought tje movie was awsome. Highly recommened. So much like the actual book!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2011

    Get the real thing

    Don't waste your time on sparknotes. The real book is even better than these. If you want the real good famous awesome book save your money for your next vacation. The store better get the rest of the S.E. Hinton books i need to read them!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    Great Book!

    I read this book before and it was very good! Im not sure how good this version is... get the original book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2011

    awsome

    i read this book in school and now i would like to get it on my nook. so does anybody know were to find the actual book?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2011

    i want the book

    the book is awsome i do not want the little. guide, i want the actual book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2011

    great book

    i read it in school but i still want to get it on my nook

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2010

    great

    this book was awsome i just finished it and love it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2010

    the outsiders

    Book Review Outline
    Book title and author: the outsiders
    Title of review: excellent violence
    Number of stars (1 to 5)5

    Introduction
    This is an excellent book about gang violence and cross town rivalries.
    Description and summary of main points
    The suspense is really good you will want to keep reading the book more and more.
    Evaluation
    One of the best quotes is where Johnny tells pony boy to stay gold.
    Conclusion
    This book is a suspense thriving awesome book.
    Your final review
    This book helped me out alot

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    Kkk

    This book is great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Eh..

    This is not the book guys. It's not a ripoff either. It says "literature guide" in the title so obviously you guys didnt look very carefully. ^_^

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    This book is great!!!!!!!

    Im half way through the book ....We had to read it in class so while everybody had their paperback book .I had my nook so I got to use it and it was great .........I recommand this book to all the teenagers if you want to learn about the sixties then go search or buy this book.........

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2012

    YES, this is not "the real book" as so many left a 1 s

    YES, this is not "the real book" as so many left a 1 star rating for. * This is a GREAT Book meant to help people with their reports, or in our situation... I am being this book to help my daughter who has ADHD and Dyslexia and therefore struggles in her Language Arts class when she needs to 'get thru' a good but lengthy book such as "The Outsiders." I'm elated that Spark Notes or Cliff Notes came along - they helped me with my ADD get thru some tough high school and college English assignments.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    Calm down please!

    Ok so you may have realized that thos isn't the real book but it does say that. The real book isn't avalible throuh the Nook but check your local Barns and Nobel or just a local library. Thr Outsiders is worth that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    Just wait

    I could not find the real outsiders book on my nook but I found it at a local barnes and noble and it is amazing I suggest to not get this if your looking for the real outsiders and you should go look at a barnes and noble since they have yet to release it on nook. (I'm giving 5 stars to the real book good luck finding!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Wow great book

    Wow good book i am mad about jonny dieing trying to save kids

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Sodas lover

    I love the outsiders mostly soda and dally and pony and johnny and two-bit and steave and darry forget every one eles but soda is my fav

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2012

    What's the GRIPE??

    READ THE DESCRIPTION PEOPLE, it clearly says GUIDE! Sparknotes and CliffNotes are ment to expand the experience of reading the actual book itself, Yjese guides give you in depth character descriptions, chapter synopsis, author interpretation, theme explinations, pionts of writing a good paper on that particular book, etc. They are also used by millions of students to try to take the place of actually reading the book. Teachers are wise to this and always ask questions not covered in SparkNotes/CliffNotes. aside from character descriptions, I cant see whay anyone would need SparkNotes for The Outsiders. I read it in 7th grade.. Save the SparkNotes/CliffNotes for Hamlet and The Odyssey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2