Customer Reviews for

Outwitting the Devil: The Secret to Freedom and Success

Average Rating 4.5
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted June 11, 2011

    Shock Wave: If widely read this book could trigger a seismic shift in positive outcomes in the lives of people all over the world

    I've been pondering, reading and researching the very topic in Outwitting the Devil for decades and in this pursuit have read a thousand books on the formula for success. I must say that many, many books are excellent but over time they tend to repeat the same message in different fashion. Therefore, I've not seen anything for 20 years that separates itself from all the others, including Hill's "Think and Grow Rick" This secret manuscript, however, is a cataclysmic event in it's publication. I'm fascinated how Napoleon Hill was able to disseminate the secrets of how our Universe REALLY works by depicting a full confession from the Devil himself, who is the destroyer of all human potential when he succeeds. In my opinion this is the most powerful book ever written on this topic and one I've been studying nearly every day for months. Once I read 2 pages in the middle I was desperate to read it in it's entirety. I then was privileged to read the manuscript before publication thanks to Sharon Lechter and a highly esteemed friend. This book, in my opinion, is the game changer that America is begging for given the times we are in today. It's time that we learn to rely on our own potential as our government institutions have failed us miserably and continue to do so. I want to thank the Napoleon Hill Foundation for first having the courage to finally publish this provocative, controversial, and truthful depiction of how the Universe REALLY works nearly 75 years after Hill's death. I would also like to thank them for having the great sense to sanction someone as credible as financial literacy expert Sharon Lechter of Rich Dad Poor Dad Company fame to be the foot soldier to annotate Hill's most important work and bring it to the world. I promise you this with all sincerity. If you've been living a life of quiet desperation because you are not becoming who you know you could become, achieving all that you know you could achieve, or living a life you've always dreamed about in terms of personal happiness, you life will NEVER, EVER be the same after discovering Outwitting the Devil: In fact, I don't promise you this. I guarantee it!! Always remember that the future is not yet set, fate is what you make it. And Outwitting the Devil will provide you a precise road map to making your CHOSEN fate become a reality.

    19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2011

    Don't let this one get away!

    Let me start with a one word review: WOW! Napoleon Hill's Think & Grow Rich was a ground breaking literary lighthouse. It showed the way for millions of people - as well as providing a platform for a whole generation of authors to follow the model created by Hill. However, nobody's going to be able to duplicate what he's captured & delivered in Outwitting the Devil. This is a one of a kind literary masterpiece. This one stands alone! You've heard the old saying: "When in doubt, read the instructions." Well - here it is: The Owner's Manual on how to live a meaningful and successful life. Think and Grow Rich revealed Napoleon Hill's brilliance. Outwitting the Devil reveals his genius. How did he know the things he put between the covers of this book 70 years ago? And, why was it kept under lock & key for so long? We must keep in mind that Think and Grow Rich sold 80 million copies and positively impacted the lives of so many of that generation. However, many - too many - of this generation don't even know who Hill is let alone have an understanding of the powerful principles he gifted to the world. So -the release of Outwitting the Devil seems to very timely because we - the countless number us who are surrounded by the smothering troubled state of today's world need to be thrown some kind of a life-line. I suggest we grab the line thrown to us by Hill & Sharon Lechter - and start to pull ourselves upward! I'll conclude by expanding somewhat on that thought: Have you ever had the feeling that you're engaged in battle with an enemy whose job it is to keep you off track in your quest to live a happy, rewarding and successful life? If you've ever had those feelings - as so many of us have - how would you like to know your enemy's game plan - his weaknesses - the secrets of how to win this battle?? And, to top it off, how would like it if all those things came right out of the mouth of your enemy? If you're serious about winning that battle - then your Slam Dunk Game Plan is outlined for you in this book. I'm going to recommend Outwitting the Devil to everyone I care about! I suggest you do the same - and start with yourself.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    Life Changing!

    I have read many of Napoleon's books but this one really hit me on an emotional/spiritual level. Napoleon's books have truly changed my life and this book really put the icing on the cake. If you are lost in this world you have to read this book along with all of his other masterpieces. An instant classic!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2011

    An Amazing Read!

    I just finished reading "Outwitting the Devil" and it is truly inspirational.

    This is a must-read for any Napoleon Hill followers out there. The book is the unpublished manuscript writted by Hill as a sequel to his famous "Think and Grow Rich" and it expands on many of the principles in that book. We all know the basics of how to be successful, but this book examines how to implement them and why so many of us have this knowledge but aren't able to execute it.

    Sharon Lechter's insight into Hill's original writings is inspirational as well. She draws parallels between what what written in the 1930s to what is happening in our world today. Lechter, who has written a number of bestsellers over the years, writes that this book was actually meant to be read today, not in the 30s when it was written.

    I highly recommend this book for anyone wanting to take their careers to the next level or anyone who is on a personal mission to better themselves. It's a book that's different from any other and you won't be disappointed!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    Propaganda!!! Why is this book littered with the scare tactics w

    Propaganda!!! Why is this book littered with the scare tactics we're warned against? The propaganda we're told to look out for? C'mon!

    Okay, if you haven't already figured out that fear is the cause of so many of our problems, and the hows and whys of this, you might get something out of this book. If you're a Christian, depending on what brand of Christian you are, you might find this book anywhere from annoying to offensive. Also annoying would be the vast majority of the footnotes, especially in the Nook Book version. A bad move, in my opinion. The "these economic times" tagline has been done to death. Let it die already!

    I should state that this is the first book I've read by Hill. As for the theories or perspective presented in the book, it's rather sloppy. However, this might be an amazing read if you haven't already come to the realizations made here. It's the sort of book I would recommend to lots of people, if it didn't come off as being completely crazy. I was honestly captured in the beginning as one who could somewhat relate to author's accounts of his "other self", but not in a padded room sort of way. As it got to the conversation with the "Devil", I found this book to be a difficult read. I didn't appreciate the repetition, for one.

    It became so bad that I started reading Letcher's footnotes. While this is an interesting read, it also classifies as WEIRD so be prepared. Don't read this as a self-help book, whatever you do. Don't read it expecting *it* to change your life. SAM333 should have left an email address so people could cash in on his guarantee! Read it with an open and objective mind, and a critical eye. Many might find this book very helpful if read in the right way. I give it 4 stars because I think it was a good reminder of somethings I already knew. As well, it made me stop to think about a few things. Apart from being annoyed by the repetition, it's a book that you want to keep reading. It leaves you curious about what point will be presented next. It's one of those books that you should read more than once to get the most out of it. While it's interesting to me, I only know 2 people who might also find it interesting.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2011

    5 STARS!! An incredible work -This book is a must!

    I have been on a quest to get to the real truth about how life and the universe works for the past 8 years after a significant crisis started me on my journey. I have read many books over this time. I have learned many things that have amazed me and have proven themselves out with real evidence to be true. I am going to state it simply: This book tells the real truth. And --as one reviewer so aptly put it: tells you how to apply the principles learned effectively (which is the hard part). This book is a wow - it will provoke your thinking. Given the advanced content vs. the time in which it was written, there is no doubt in my mind that Hill was receiving what I have come to call transmission of information from a power beyond this world. Because he sought it will such clear intent as his life's work and asked for the truth, he received it. Many people will be helped by this book. Thank you to the late Napoleon Hill and Sharon Lechter for your courage and generosity in sharing it.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2011

    Life Changer! - Best Book of the Decade!

    This book was written for you if you want to be successful, if you are tired of negativity in your life, and want to know how to break through the self-limiting beliefs that may be holding you back. I guarantee that it will change your life. Michael Bernard Beckwith said it will cause a renaissance in consciousness. It can help anyone conquer their fear and create the success they truly deserve!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2011

    A Book for Your Library

    Do you need a road map for life? Well - you're not alone. Life for people today is characterized by a steady emotional and intellectual diet of the temporary-constant and never ending change and confusion. It has become increasingly difficult to choose a lane in life, fast or slow, for all lanes seem too fast and immediate. And to further complicate that challenge - it doesn't feel like a gradual, see-it-coming-a mile-away change..but more a rolling, tumbling, freight-train-storming-down-the-track with obstacles tossed in our way to living the kind of life we want - and deserve to live.....Napoleon Hill - coupled with the caring and guiding narrative of Sharon Lechter - provides a road map for life in this marvelously written book: Outwitting the Devil.The fact that it was written over 70 years ago leads me to think that perhaps there were "higher sources" at work to assist in its writing. Of course, that's only a guess on my part. I'll let you draw your own conclusion after you've read it. Whatever you do - put this book in your reference library!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2011

    A must read for everyone

    I've bought several copies to give to my clients. As a Psychologist I talk discuss the positive and negative thoughts we have daily and how we sabotage ourselves. This book can help you "outwit your devil".

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Outstanding Work!!!

    Definitely a life transforming book if your a person that open to Hills approach on life's success. Not recommended for beginners in his works although a open mind will learn how to improve themselves if used, almost overnight!! In my opion its a must have!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Recommended Highly - a must read.

    It's hard to believe that this book was written in 1938. It's as if Mr. Hill's book was written yesterday. The comparison to our current state of affairs - education, religion, social/economic, political are so close to what was happening when the book was written. It will definitely stop and make you think. And, after reading this book - it's something we all need to do.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    AMAZING!!!!

    This book is a game changer! If you are a person of Faith or maybe not there are insights here that will open you up. I have read this work at least ten times. There are nuggets here that will absolutely propel you to your next level, dimension, or realm depending on if you work the information given here. SO relevant in our current times...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Must read!

    This book is a definite must read! My eyes were opened. Napoleon Hill had insight before his time.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2012

    A Must Read

    Great insight to how to win at life... my new goal in life is not to become a drifter!! Get out of any rut with this awesome book!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2013

    A must read book! very informative on life and everyday problems

    A must read book! very informative on life and everyday problems and what you can do to counteract these problems. Brain=Power, use it or lose it! Think!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2013

    Thought provoking

    I was totally absorbed by this insightful look at the human mind from the viewpoint of the devil. I feel much better armed against the tyranny of my habitual unexamined thoughts. It is a wonder that anything positive can get accomplished with all the negative chatter that goes on in my head. Mr. Hill was way ahead of his time in understanding the workings of human consciousness, which is perhaps why this book was unpublished for so long. We owe him a debt of gratitude for giving us concrete and easy to follow instructions for creating a peaceful and loving life for ourselves and the planet.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    Excelente

    .A very potent book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    A must read!!!

    Read this book and take your life into your own hands! Don't be the devil's drifter aney more! Add to the 2% of sucessful people by LIVING this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2013

    Just what I needed to read! Amazing how relevant his writings ar

    Just what I needed to read! Amazing how relevant his writings are for today's time. Same obstacles different day and time, but still the say day and time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    Outstanding and a MUST read to all those who still do not unders

    Outstanding and a MUST read to all those who still do not understand the role of darkness in the Universe! If you are READY to leave the "poor me" victim mode you live in, then grab this book and read it! If this manuscript is real or not it does NOT matter! The message is VERY clear to those who are READY to empower themselves!!! <3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4