Customer Reviews for

Over My Dead Body (Broken Heart Vampires Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A New Twist

    I'm not sure what I was expecting - but Over My Dead Body wasn't the typical vampire book that I read. First off this story takes place in Oklahoma, but in a purely paranormal community. On top of that Simone, our heroine, has only just become a vampire and has dark dark secrets. There is a glossary and index of creatures (you may want to read up on these before you start the book). This was a cross between Lord of The Rings and vampire romance novels. Simone is the towns mechanic and while trying to create a shield so that the rest of the world can't find their little town she falls in love, has a run in with her past, has to save her daughter and is forced to grow into the woman that she has always known was inside.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Greatness!!!

    I love this author and her fabulous stories! While book four in the Broken Heart series is still my favorite this one was still a great weekend read. The only thing I wish she had done was go into a little more detail about what happened with the couple after everything was said and done. Other than that, another great addition to the series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    a wonderful blend of humor, romance, and mystery

    Single mother Simone Sweet is doing her best to overcome a brutal and troubled past, all the while trying to raise her six year old daughter, Glory, who is suffering from experiences so traumatic that she has retreated into herself and refuses to speak to anyone. Escaping to Broken Heart to live with her deceased husband's grandmother, Simone is trying her best to live a life that will help heal both she and Glory's painful emotional wounds. But little did Simone expect to be turned into a vampire when she arrived in Oklahoma, although this did have the added benefit to help Simone to seemingly "disappear" in the real world. With an affinity for all things mechanical, Simone settles in as Broken Heart's resident mechanic and begins to help the Consortium create a special shield that will, in effect, make the paranormal community invisible to the outside world. While working on this special project, Simone comes into frequent contact with the sexy human, Brady.

    Tall, brooding, and sexy as hell, Braddock "Brady" Hayes is a PRIS (Paranormal Research and Investigative Services) Operative who has always seemed very quiet and standoffish, so Simone can't help but be surprised when he seems to take a sudden and unexpected personal interest in her. But Brady also has a dark secret -- one he isn't proud of. After Brady experiences tragedies of his own as a young man, he suddenly decided to join the military and ends up volunteering for a special assignment -- ETAC is a covert government operation whose sole purpose is to remove any domestic threats -- including any of the paranormal variety. Spending several years doing their bidding despite knowing it's wrong, Brady finally manages to escape the long arm of the government and ends up helping those he once hunted.

    As a growing sanctuary for all paranormals, Broken Heart is fast becoming the place for all paranormals to live without the worry of hiding themselves. But with a serial killer on the loose all eyes are turned to Simone and the secret she has worked so hard to keep hidden.

    With a wonderful blend of humor, romance, and mystery, readers will not be disappointed with best-selling author Michele Bardsley's fifth installment of her Broken Heart series. A fast-paced story filled with a touch of bedlam, Over My Dead Body was a page-turner that had no problem keeping me fully entertained from beginning to end. I particular enjoyed the chemistry between Simone and Brady -- two broken souls who are both hiding secrets of their own yet are trying to move on from their mysterious and troubled pasts.

    As an added bonus to Over My Dead Body, Bardsley provides a Glossary, A Brief History of the Consortium, and several other references pertaining to Broken Heart that will no doubt be appreciated by both newcomers and long-time fans of the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    Recommended

    A cute, well-written vampire story. Not too spooky. All Bardsley's vampires are pretty loveable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Michelle Bardley

    Fun Books. Escapism at it's most fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2009

    Another great read from Michele Bardsley

    I throughly enjoyed the latest book in this series. Being from Oklahoma is an added bonus.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Whats it like to live in a small town with vampires

    I girl that running the auto shop and does jobs around town is about to find her true love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A fun lighthearted tale

    In the center of paranormal activity, Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, tyro vampire Simone Sweet feels she has enough on her plate besides learning how to live as an undead especially after killing Braddock Hayes. By herself she is raising a child who refuses to speak since her daddy Jacob tried to kill her mommy, but died during the attempt.-----

    Before killing Braddock by drinking his essence, Simone and former PRIS operative human Braddock "Brady" Hayes are in demand by the townsfolk; both supernatural and normal. Attracted to one another they begin seeing each other though she knows she cannot absorb a relationship at this time. Still as they fall in love, a homicide shakes up the town and threatens their shaky relationship as someone wants all paranormals gone.---------

    Combining humor with romance and a serial killer mystery, the return to the center of vampire activity, Broken Arrow, Oklahoma is a fun lighthearted tale. The story line is fast-paced from the opening denouement until the final climax as chaos seems to reign throughout the story line. A glossary, the Consortium Guidelines, and a Brief History of the Consortium will help newcomers adjust while fans will enjoy the antics of the heroine. Although the series might be losing a fang due to the impact of the Malthusian Growth Model Theory applied to Broken Arrow, OVER MY DEAD BODY is an entertaining thriller.----------------

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3