Customer Reviews for

Over the Edge (Kincaid Brides Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 26, 2012

    I have not been a huge fan of this series, but I do think that e

    I have not been a huge fan of this series, but I do think that each book has been better than the last. I really enjoyed the romance aspect of this book. The concept of Seth not remembering his wife, but still being attracted to her anyway was interesting. I liked the "action" part of this book better than in the last two books as well. I think it is because this book was not as suspenseful. I do not do well with scary things, so I liked that this one was pretty tame when it came to that. Overall it was a sweet book that I enjoyed, but probably won't read again. 
    I received this book for free in return for an honest review.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Mary Connealy in her new book, ¿Over The Edge¿ Book Three in The

    Mary Connealy in her new book, “Over The Edge” Book Three in The Kincaid
    Brides series published by Bethany House Publishers concludes the series
    with the focus on Seth Kincaid. From the back cover: Seth Kincaid
    remembers almost everything… except getting married! Seth Kincaid
    survived a fire in a cave, but he hasn’t been the same since. Then he
    fought in the Civil War and returned to Colorado crazier than ever.
    Somewhere along the line, it appears Seth got married. Oh, he has a lot
    of excuses, but his wife isn’t too happy to find out Seth doesn’t
    remember her. Callie isn’t a long-suffering woman. When Seth
    disappeared, she searched, prayed, and worried. Now she’s come out west
    to wrangle her long-lost husband. Seth is willing to make amends.
    Callie is more interested in shooting him. Can they rekindle their love
    before one of them goes over the edge? This is the third book in the
    series. Unfortunately I have not read the previous two so I have missed
    the events that are coming to fruition here like the cave fire and a few
    other incidents. Ms. Connealy is a very talented writer and she tries
    to provide the necessary background information in this book but it
    seems to me that you need to read the previous two books to really
    understand what is going on here. Having said that as a stand alone
    book it is pretty good. It is filled with excitement and humor and Wild
    West action. As I said if you have not read the previous two books in
    this series you can get through this one and enjoy it. Win a Nook Color
    from @MaryConnealy during her “Over the Edge” Giveaway. RSVP for 8/29
    Facebook Party!Enter Today – 8/9-8/29! Celebrate with Mary by entering
    to win a Nook Color with GlowLight! One winner will receive: A
    Nook Color with GlowLight The entire set of Mary Connealy’s The
    Kincaid Brides series Enter today by clicking one of the icons below.
    But hurry, the giveaway ends on August 28th. Winner will be announced at
    the “Over The Edge” Author Chat Facebook Party on 8/29. Meet Mary, get
    a sneak peek of her next book, try your hand at a trivia contest, and
    more. There will also be gift certificates, books and a Book Club Prize
    Pack to be won (10 copies for your book club or small group.)! So grab
    your copy of Over the Edge and join Mary on the evening of the August
    29th for a chance to connect with her and make some new friends. (If you
    haven’t read the book – don’t let that stop you from coming!) Enter via
    E-mail Enter via Facebook Enter via Twitter Don’t miss a moment of the
    RSVP today. Tell your friends via Facebook or Twitter and increase your
    chances of winning. Hope to see you on the 29th! If you would like to
    listen to interviews with other authors and professionals please go to
    Kingdom Highlights where it is available On Demand. To listen to 24
    hours non-stop, commercial free Christian music please visit our
    internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves Disclosure of Material
    Connection: I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group. I
    was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have
    expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the
    Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use
    of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2013

    recpmmend

    enjoyed very much

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    Good Series

    This is Book 3 in the Kincaid series, and each of the Kincaid brothers is as different in temperment and personality as any three brothers can be. And despite having weak and uninvolved parents and being left to grow up on their own while running wild, the men they have become are bound by an intrinsic nature of honesty, kindness and faith. Each is tormented by past fears and failures to be overcome, not the least of whom is Seth who is tormented by vivid nightmares and amnesia. All three books in the series are a delight, and I recommend beginning with Book one. I am hoping for a 4th book in this series which will let us see a happy ending for young Heath.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I devoured it! What I liked: It was exciting, funny, and intrig

    I devoured it!

    What I liked: It was exciting, funny, and intriguing. I really liked Callie -- but I've yet to meet a heroine I didn't like in a Connealy book.

    What I didn't like: If you've not read the previous books in the series, I think it may be a bit confusing as people pop up without explanation but if you can just go with it then everything makes sense. The only other that bothered me was how everyone kept calling Seth crazy, I know it wasn't meant in a nasty way but I hurt for him.

    Grade: B+
    Ages: 14+
    Steam: Y/A
    Series: Kincaid Brides #3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Delightful Romantic Comedy

    Don't ask me why the Kincaid Brides is the first series I've gotten around to read from Mary Connealy. I know she's written about a million books by now, and that she's become an insanely popular author over the last few years. I can tell why that is so too. She is an excellent writer, story-teller, plot-producer, and theme-perfecter.

    I think what I liked most about Over The Edge was how it not only wrapped up every detail the reader collected along the way and put it right in it's spot at the end, but that Connealy was also able to wrap up the entire three book series in the same way. She has a knack for writing quirky characters, and let me tell you, by book three there were quite a few of them!

    I'm not certain if this might have something to do with the popularity of her novels, but all three of the books in the Kincaid Brides series had more kisses than I could keep track of. It was a little much at times, but I will say they were never overdone... just randomly and lightly sprinkled throughout the books.

    It was very interesting to see the relationship between the two main characters (who were married but separated by strange circumstances in which the husband didn't remember a thing about having a wife) get to know each other again. It was especially satisfying when Seth began really remembering Callie and their old times together, and not just liking her because he favored the idea of her being his wife.

    I was given a paperback copy of Over The Edge by Bethany House in order to read it and give my honest review for this LitFuse Publicity Blog Tour. I give the book 4 Stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2012

    Over The Edge, book 3 in Mary Connealy's trilogy, The Kincaid Br

    Over The Edge, book 3 in Mary Connealy's trilogy, The Kincaid Brides was exactly what I anticipated.

    After reading book 1, Out Of Control and book 2, In Too Deep, I have been eagerly awaiting the finale to Seth Kincaid's life story. His plot line was so intriguing through the first two books and Mary did a good job of finishing up with Seth, Callie and the surprise extras - Connor and Heath.

    As with the previous books, Mary's brand of humour and romance made for a light and fun read. I enjoyed the introduction of Callie, Seth's forgotten wife. She was entertaining and unpredictable. The beginning of the story was incredibly thought up - a great way to jump into the story.

    The new character in the story, Heath was also a fun addition. I won't spoil it for anyone who hasn't read it by explaining his role. Yet he provided a new set of eyes on the entire plot of the Kincaid brothers. I would have liked more description of Heath to round out his character. It will be interesting to see if he gets a book of his own some day.

    One element that I did not enjoy as much was the ending. It was predictable and felt repetitive. I think that the elements Connealy needed to get out from the ending were there and it brought the story to a nice, complete closure. However I would have liked to see something a tad more unique. This should not deter you from choosing her book.

    I would recommend this story to any fan of Christian historical fiction with a light, humorous side.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2012

    I received this book from Bethany House to review. The review is

    I received this book from Bethany House to review. The review is entirely my own thoughts on the book.

    Over The Edge is a fun, entertaining, funny, book. I enjoyed every part of it. I was a little hesitant to read it becuase it is book 3 in the Kincaid Brides series and I have not read the first 2 books yet. However, what little was mentioned about the previous stories did not ruin them for me. I still do not know what happened. The little snippets, plus reading Over The Edge, makes me want to read books 1 and 2. This is the second book of Mary Connealy's stories I have read and I will continue to read her books. I like that she makes me laugh. Over The Edge is a great read for anyone looking for a lighthearted, fun, love story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2012

    If readers are looking for a female character with spunk they ne

    If readers are looking for a female character with spunk they need not
    look any further. Callie is one tough cookie. She survives the Civil
    War and her husband's odd disappearance and will not be broken by her
    husband's, Seth's, inability to remember her. Does Seth have an excuse
    for this abandonment? Well, he has excuses in the form of injuries.
    Seth has some internal/mental problems that must be dealt with before
    Callie can take on her threat of shooting him for leaving her. Can the
    two come to some resolution? Callie's character was fun and easy to
    love. She shows bravery in a time where women were not known for being
    outspoken. Seth's character was slightly more complicated. He was a
    little harder to get to know, but the reader will likely come to
    appreciate him. The other characters fit perfectly into the novel's
    plot and often bring about surprises that will keep the reader avidly
    turning the pages. The plot itself was easy to follow and
    character-driven. The events are fast-paced for the most part and the
    author has a keen eye for detail, allowing the reader to picture the
    setting. Overall, this book is recommended to adult readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1