Customer Reviews for

Over the Edge (Kincaid Brides Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Nobody does crazy like Mary Connealy. Seriously. After meeting

    Nobody does crazy like Mary Connealy. Seriously.

    After meeting Seth Kincaid in the previous two “Kincaid Brides” books I wondered if I could buy into him as a hero. Usually I cheer for the steady, responsible, gainfully-employed types. I can’t think of any off-his-rocker hero that has won my heart in the past. Especially one who abandoned his wife and child. Redeeming such a character would take uncommon skill.

    Mary Connealy… you got skills.

    From the first page in Seth’s POV I was sold. Seth hears threats blazing from an over-turned stagecoach. His thoughts:

    “A woman.
    A woman who knew his name.
    A woman who knew his name and wanted to kill him.
    He’d never had much luck with women.”

    No question, the strength of this story is being able to sympathize with Seth. I felt like I understood him, even when he didn’t understand himself. I also understood why Callie married him, nightmares and all.

    This book is funny, exciting and romantic. If you like tough heroines and reckless but kind-hearted heroes, you need to find yourself a copy of Over the Edge.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    How can you completely forget that you're married? Or that you h

    How can you completely forget that you're married? Or that you have a son? Well that's exactly what is happening to Seth Kincaid, the youngest of the Kincaid brothers who suddenly finds himself at the scene of a stagecoach robbery. Only Seth is the one being shot at. When more men arrive from Colorado City with the sheriff, the learn that the only occupant remaining in the stagecoach is a woman, named Callie who was defending the coach against the robbers who already shot both the driver and his partner.

    When Seth finds out the woman in the coach is his long-forgotten wife Callie, he immediately picks up right where he left off, carrying for her injuries and learning he has a son, Connor that was rescued by the parson when he left to go find help during the robbery. Now Callie is hailed as a hero by the town for saving the lives of the men from the stage coach but she only wants answers to why Seth left her and never came back. But Seth has been having many lapses in memory and that is why he is living on the land provided to him by the remaining Kincaid brothers, Rafe and Ethan in his own cabin. This way they can watch over him but still allow him to live an independent life.
    Only what will they say when they learn that Seth has a family that has come calling for him?

    In the Kincaid Bride Series by Mary Connealy, Over The Edge is the third novel that digs deeper into the lives of each of the Kincaid brothers with this one detailing Seth's life a little more. The brothers lives and those of their families still remain at stake when a man is still looking for them, Henry Jasper Duff who he believes has his money that was stolen by Wendell Gilliland. Now Jasper has had to live on the run hiding with his wife Bea, from those that he owes a great deal of money to from his opium trades. No matter how much Bea tries to convince him to forget the money, Jasper is just bidding his time until he can corner the brothers and get back what he believes belongs to him.

    I received Over The Edge compliments of Bethany House Publishers and Christian Fiction Blog Alliance for my honest review. Having read the previous two in this series, Out of Control and In Too Deep, I couldn't wait to read this one to get to know Seth Kincaid more. Having experiences PTSD from the Civil War, Seth at times has the mind of a much younger man who sees things in a much simpler format, being more spontaneous in his actions and a bit impulsive at times without thinking things through. He also suffers from horrible nightmares which Callie still remembers that border more on night terrors. I couldn't wait to see where the money has been hidden or if there is a stash of money since it has been the conflict that runs through the other two novels in the series and keeps the family's constantly looking over their shoulders for the next threat on their lives. I can easily rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars and if you truly love a great Christian Western Romance with a touch of suspense added, then you will LOVE this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    Great series

    Highly recommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    Very good book.

    This book, the last in the Kincaid Brides Series, is just as good as the first two. Along with humor, the plot contains adventure, mystery, family relationships, overcoming past experiences and love. I highly recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    LOVED THIS BOOK AND SERIES!

    LOVED THIS BOOK AND SERIES!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    must read

    good clean stories, heart felt and makes believing easy again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    Good easy reading and enjoyed it.

    I like Linda's Books. Her books are so easy and easy to get into and I love to read stories that are not blood and murderes. Keep up the good work Linda Miller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    highly recommend

    easy reading could not put the book down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    Great!

    Book 3 in a series. This is my favorite in the series, Seth is a great character! Who doesn't love a crazy guy who can't remember you and wants to howl at the moon!? Seriously, who? This book is great fun, romantic and exciting. And being a Christian book, you see how God grabs ahold of Seth's heart, and he becomes only *slightly less crazy! Loved it , really!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Loved it

    This is the 3rd book in the series & I am sad its the last one. The three books are wonderful! You cant help but love the people thru out the series!!!
    HappyReading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommended. another great book by Mary Connealy Since r

    Highly recommended. another great book by Mary Connealy

    Since receiving the letter from Callie, his wife that he didn't remember having, Seth Kincaid or one of his brothers had been riding to meet every stagecoach coming to town because she hadn't put in the letter when she would arrive.




    Little did he know that the 'man' fighting off robbers in an overturned stagecoach was his wife. When Callie saw Seth she wanted to kill him as much as she wanted to kill the robbers. After all he took off and left her without a word. Luckily some help came and they managed to fight off the thieves then Seth took Callie to the doctor as she had many wounds from fragments of the stagecoach. She was a fighter this one!




    Once back in town Seth meets up with some of the other passengers and discovers Cassie has a baby boy, his baby boy, another thing he didn't remember. After Callie was treated by the doctor and rested overnight, Seth gets another surprise for himself, he discovers that he has a half-brother, and he is none to pleased about that. Cassie steps in and insists Heath go 'home' with them. Needless to say this is not a pleasant ride, a winter storm is about to hit, an injured wife who seems to despise him and an unwanted brother.




    Things don't go any smoother once they reach the Kincaid property, they soon find that they are being watched and followed you might say by the thief that is looking for the diamonds that Julia's father, Audra's first husband, had stolen from him.




    Why did Cassie look him up if she hated him so and why did Heath look the Kincaid brothers up if he wanted nothing to do with them? Was it just to cause turmoil for the Kincaids? What will happen when Jasper actually catches up with them?




    Mary continues to keep the reader interested enough that it's almost impossible to put the book down. This was a very intriguing series and when she talks about the caves you almost feel like you are right down in there with the characters. If you are claustrophobic I would think you'd be having a hard time breathing, sometimes I was just about there.




    A great series that I would highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Awesome

    Totally loved this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2012

    Over the Edge by Mary Connealy is book three in the Kincaid Brid

    Over the Edge by Mary Connealy is book three in the Kincaid Brides series. It was my first one to read of this series, and I found it to be typical of Mary Connealy - lots of fun, laughter, action, and excitement. The book begins with a shootout and attempted robbery of a stagecoach. Young mother, Callie Kincaid scrambles to save her infant son and the people on board.

    Seth Kincaid struggles with emotions and hurts from his past, and the aftermath from fighting in the war between the States. Some say he isn't quite right in the head. His memory is patchy at times, but it seems he has forgotten one important detail - that he is married. He isn't prepared when the feisty woman shows up with an infant in tow.

    This book is a great read and one I highly recommend. I look forward to going back and reading the first two in the series.

    This book was provided free for review by Bethany House Publishers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2012

    Mary has done it again. Seth is a very easy character to love. H

    Mary has done it again. Seth is a very easy character to love. He's been though a lot in his short like, but with the love of a good women,
    we see God heal Seth of his past hurts and nightmares. This is a must read in the Kincaid bride series. Your the best Mary, keep the
    wonderful books coming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    I love Mary Connealy's books. Her heroine's are always strong w

    I love Mary Connealy's books. Her heroine's are always strong women of the west. Her heroes lovable. Over the Edge was no different. I loved Callie from the start and it was interesting to see how Ms. Connealy could redeem Seth, the last brother in the series. She did a great job. Bethany House sent me the book for review, but even if they hadn't I would have purchased this book. Ms. Connealy always provides fun, laughs, adventures and great historical content in her writing. I can't wait for the next book by this authorl

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Over The Edge by Mary Connealy The Kincaid Brides Series Book 3

    Over The Edge by Mary Connealy
    The Kincaid Brides Series Book 3
    Seth Kincaid is as loony as they come. He was always reckless and after an accident in the cavern he played in as a child with brothers Rafe and Ethan….he lost himself in nightmares. Heading into the Civil War didn't do him any favors either. Back in Colorado with his brothers he receives a letter….it says he has a wife. He don’t remember her.

    Callie Kincaid has had a tough year. Marrying a lunatic, him running off with her not knowing if he's dead or alive, her father is dead and she lost her only home. All she can hope now is that she will be welcomed by the Kincaid brothers that Seth spoke of. And she even has to battle her way there….good thing she's a tough Texas gal. Oh and if she finds out Seth is alive….she has a bullet for him.

    Every book that I have read by Mary has pulled me in and not let go. I enjoy her humor in the stories and the way she brings her characters to life. She has gone over and above with Seth. Seeing his mind when he’s both sane and on the edge of his insanity is so well done that you almost feel you have gone there with him. A series worth reading, book 1 is Out of Control and book 2 is In Too Deep.
    **Book received through Bethany House for review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2012

    Another gorgeous story by Mrs. Connealy. A lovely romance, laced

    Another gorgeous story by Mrs. Connealy. A lovely romance, laced with suspense and humor, "Over the Edge" is a story that you MUST read.

    I admit, I haven't read the first two books, but when I had the chance to review this book, I jumped at it.

    The story starts full of suspense, and then eases its way towards good humor and fun. It's like a see-saw, going back and forth between giggles and nail-biting.

    I admired and adored Callie and Seth,with their constant banter and overall craziness. Callie's lines were witty and reminded me a bit of Sarah from "A Lady Like Sarah". Seth's thoughts and dialogue made me laugh, the way he portrayed insanity and fun without even having to say something crazy.

    The background characters had me laughing too. I fell in love with each one of them.

    The villains were perfect, in a villain sort of way. I felt for them, and wanted them to come out without too much loss in the end, but, at the same time, I didn't exactly love them. I could feel the main villain's . . . what would you call it? . . . pain? The way he felt torn between good and evil, the way he wanted two things that were at strife with each other. In other words, the villain is the perfect example to all writers of how a villain should be.

    The only thing I found annoying was the errors. As if the editor had forgotten to check it over. There was a missing quotation mark at the end of a dialogue, at one point the spacing needed to show the start of a new scene was missing, and once Callie's name was accidentally spelled C-a-s-s-i-e. There was not a single "Cassie" in the book.

    Overall, a beautiful story wonderfully crafted by an amazing author! I highly recommend this book to all Christian Romance lovers!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Humorous, Adventurous and Romantic! What else can you ask for in a book.

    When Seth Kincaid was a child his favorite place to play was in the caverns. He almost lost his life and thought he lost his soul due to a fire in the cave. He has been haunted by this near death experience ever since then. Now as an adult he has many scars especially after the Civil War.
    The most noticeable is his mental scars that cause night terrors not just about the war but from that terrible day in his childhood when he caught fire in the cavern.

    Callie Kincaid is in route to the Kincaid Ranch to seek what is due her sixteen month old son, Connonr's birthright. As son of Seth Kincaid, a father he has yet too meet, his Uncles can provide Connor a safe home and just maybe tell his mother where her absentee, no good skunk of a husband has got off to so she can fill him with holes. It has not been an easy haul going from Texas to Colorado with a baby in tow.

    When Callie finally gets connected with her husband she let's him know real quick at the end of her rifle that she wants him to pay for abandoning her and their son when they needed him the most.

    Seth is determined to prove to Callie he can be trusted to be there for her and his precious son. He had a very good excuse for not being there in the past. The problem is he can't really remember her but he recognized the feeling of love and concern he has for this woman that is his wife.

    The older two brother's definitely had there issues mentally concerning the accident in the cave. Each of the boys felt like the accident was their fault and not that of the other brothers. Then to be abandoned by the death of the frequent absences of their father and the death of their mother left them with no one to lean on other than their brothers. They definitely needed to unburden unto God their guilt and grief over that day for He is their true Father.

    I hope there will be another book to this series maybe about Heath. He seems to be the most level headed of all the brothers. But he will have to get a little older before any woman decides to rope him into marriage.

    I have decided Mary Conneally is currently my favorite author. She managed to put her all into what it takes to write a humorous, romantic and adventurous fun novel that kept me up laughing and crying until I finished reading the whole book. I have all daughters and love them to pieces but I fail in love with this motherless son, Seth Kincaid. My heart broke for him and all of his scars physically and mentally.

    I highly recommend this book.

    Disclosure
    I received a free copy of this book from Litfuse/Bethany House for review. I was in no way compensated for this review. It is my own opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    An Amazing Conclusion!

    Mary Connealy's conclusion to the Kincaid Brides is a fantastic one! Once again, she brings her readers to the heart of the story instantly, hooking them and holding them until the very last page, where you definitely don't want to be because it's a bittersweet moment, knowing it's the end of a wonderful trilogy! Her characters are, once again, brought to life for the reader, taking them on an adventure filled with laughs, twists, and romance. This story brings us to Callie Kincaid, wife and mama to an adorable 8 month old baby boy named Connor. She's seeking out her husband whom she hasn't seen in a year. She knows he's gone and abandoned her, so she knows when she sees him, she's gonna wanna kill him. But, nearly to the town he lives in, her stage is taken over by would be robbers. As the only one there who can shoot worth a lick, she tries to kill them off. Then she sets eyes on a would be rescuer....and nearly turns her gone on him! Why? It's her good-for-nothing abandoning husband, that's why! Seth Kincaid sets out to rescue the beautiful lady from the stage, unsure of why she's wanting to kill him though. Trouble is, he feels some sort of connection to her, but with his mind the way it is sometimes, he can't remember. Until he sees her son Connor. Then he knows that Callie must be some sort of special, because the little boy looks just like him. When he realizes that, and then finds that people are still after money his sister-in-law's deceased first husband stole, he'll do anything to protect his family. Even if it means facing the past, and proving to Callie that he didn't abandoned her....he just doesn't remember her. With appearances from the other Kincaids, Mary Connealy did a wonderful job at another humor-filled romantic mystery! I didn't want to say goodbye, but sadly, I did have to. But, knowing that I have this book on the shelves right next to Rafe and Ethan's stories, I can go back and visit these adorably lovable brothers and their wives and kids. I definitely recommend this 5 Book worthy novel to everyone looking for that relaxing get-a-way read. You'll laugh, cry and everything in between. Ms. Connealy's characters are filled with faith and love, and capture your heart forever. While this is the third book in a serious, it could be read as a stand alone. But, do I recommend it as a stand alone? Not if you want the full effect of the mystery and why Seth's just a little bit different than the other brothers! :-) Well done, once again, Ms. Connealy, on creating a fantastic and forever lovable novel! Can't wait to see what you bring us next! *This review is based on a complimentary copy received in exchange for honest opinion*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2012

    Mary is a master of writing historical comedic romance. Over the

    Mary is a master of writing historical comedic romance. Over the Edge had me laughing throughout the pages...often catching me unaware by a blast of sarcasm or twist of a word and phrase. I wasn't sure how she could make Seth an appealing hero -- since he's been kind of hapless in prior books -- but I loved him! And Callie, the heroine, is so likeable I rooted for her from her first chapter. This is the third book in a series that tells the story of brothers in Colorado in 1866 -- about the time I wondered how Mary could keep it interesting and fresh, yet she threw in twists that kept the pages absolutely turning. This book has a forgotten wife, an unknown son, an out-of-the-blue brother, and a hint of suspense. Those who have read the first two books will love seeing everything wrap up...but I have to admit, I'd love just a few more pages with these characters. They feel like family!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2