BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Over the Waters

Average Rating 5
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome re-release of a wonderful romance!

    Over the Waters is one of those rare books that is good enough to read twice. The emotion is deep,the romance is beatiful, and the selfless love of the characters is admirable. Neither main character started out giving of themselves with full abandon to God and His service, but as they grow in Him and listen to His voice they are pulled by His love in that direction. I adore love stories written by Deb Raney and this is no exception. In fact, it's one of my favorites. What thrills me most, however, about the re-release of this book, is that the epilogue includes some yummy kisses. Yahoo! What a fabulous way to end a beautiful romance story. If you haven't experienced the emotional and spiritual rush from reading the first release of Over the Waters, then you MUST check out this version (the mass market paperback) with the brand new epilogue!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Very good read!

    The death of his son, made Max wonder how he could be so happy as a missionary in Haiti and what God had to do with. Read this exciting story of how he was changed through his experience!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2006

    Deb Raney doesn't disappoint!

    Another keeper for my library! Deborah Raney's characters are real with strengths and flaws with which you can identify. She weaves a story that draws the reader in and doesn't you let go until you finish the last page. I'm wondering if there will be a sequel so we can find out if little Birdie got his miracle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2005

    A Wonderful Book

    A sought-after a plastic surgeon travels to Haiti to try to make sense of his son¿s death. A jilted woman¿s search for meaning to her empty existence takes her to a Haitian Christian orphanage. Their journeys coincide in a heart-touching tale of longing and fulfillment, and of God¿s love in action. Ms. Raney has once again taken me to a world I¿ve never visited and made it real. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2005

    A journey to the heart

    .Max Jordan accuses his son, Dr. Joshua Jordan, of wasting his education by choosing to practice medicine in Haiti instead of the more lucrative USA. But, Joshua does more than practice medicine in Haiti. He serves with the joy and love of the Lord Jesus Christ. He is at peace, encouraged, and in love with fellow missionary minded nurse, Samantha. Josh's sudden death is felt from Haiti to Chicago. Samantha is devastated at the loss of her friend and love, but she is able to take down his last thoughts and words. Josh's dad, Dr. Max is incredulous at the news of his son's death. When he can't get over the anger, he ventures over to where his son was last a live. When he's there he meets American volunteer Valerie Austin who has come to Haiti to work in the orphanage after her wedding and honeymoon are cancelled. Max's anger is replaced by awe for those who choose to work in such dangerous circumstances. But, it's the faith of his deceased son, and that of Valerie, that intrigues him. When it's time for Max to return to Chicago he carries a piece of Valerie in his heart. Will the two ever release a true love? But most important will Max realize where the true riches of life and after-life really are? I was a little disappointed at the beginning of the story because one of Ms. Raney's recent novels starts out with a sort of same incident. But, I quickly got over that disappointment, by the compelling story that drew me into the books story. And, the characters stayed with me well after I read the final page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2005

    Heart-stirring Fiction At Its Best

    Author Deborah Raney has done it again, giving us a tale of heart-stirring fiction at its best. 'Over the Waters' takes us on a journey to the island of Haiti where we are confronted with poverty and orphaned children. But the people who work at Hope House see beyond the poverty to the people. They offer hope to dozens of children and hold to a different view of life. Dr. Max Jordan encounters that view on a trip to visit the place his son called home. There he meets Valerie Austin who is looking for her own place to belong. But Valerie has something Max can only begin to grasp. The man who has it all, discovers he really has nothing ¿ in the things that truly matter. When he comes to the end of himself, will he find the answers he seeks? This is author, Deborah Raney¿s, tenth novel. Each one of Deb¿s books offers a compelling look at difficult issues, blanketed in a solution of hope. I have spotlighted Deb on my website, which is my name jilleileensmith. If it¿s not near the top of the page, look for ¿Spotlight on¿¿ dated November 18, 2005 in the headings. Want to read more about the woman behind the story? Then come take a look.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2005

    Wonderful Story

    Successful plastic surgeon, Max Jordon is shocked when he learns his son, Joshua¿s has decided to forgo working in his prestigious Chicago practice to work with the orphans of Haiti. Max, also known as, Dr. Botox to his wealthy clientele is at a loss to understand how his son can be so happy living in poverty. Max¿s confusion escalates when he is notified of Joshua¿s death. Determined to understand what ¿drove¿ his son, he takes a trip to Haiti. There he is taken by the unselfish acts of love he sees and with an American Christian volunteer, Valerie Austin. Max is forever changed by the events and people of Haiti. Deborah Raney portrays in Max Jordan the struggle of many, making money their God. Told with brilliantly drawn characters, Over the Waters will leave you wanting more of Max and Valerie and of the delightful orphans of Haiti.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1