Customer Reviews for

OverDrive: Library eBooks & Audiobooks

Average Rating 3.5
( 1422 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(607)

4 Star

(311)

3 Star

(194)

2 Star

(125)

1 Star

(185)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

274 out of 316 people found this review helpful.

There is a help/tutorial for anyone having troubles.

I am so glad this app has FINALLY arrived. I really like getting e-books from my library but the process was time consuming due to having to 'side-load' materials. This app has streamlined the process amazingly well.
Need Help (New to Overdrive?)...click on the menu ico...
I am so glad this app has FINALLY arrived. I really like getting e-books from my library but the process was time consuming due to having to 'side-load' materials. This app has streamlined the process amazingly well.
Need Help (New to Overdrive?)...click on the menu icon on bottom menu bar, tap on the MORE button then tap on 'Help'.
This program uses Digital Media Editions from Adobe. You'll need an Adobe account to use it, which makes perfect sense. It's free, as well. No Adobe account yet? I recommend you get started there. You'll soon be on your way to getting free materials from the library again! ENJOY!

posted by Deetsy on September 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

85 out of 189 people found this review helpful.

No instructions no help

Have looked for over two hours for somekind of online help or instuctions. None found.

posted by MuseK on September 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 185 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 3 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Can't get it to work

    Every time I try putting files in OverDrive on my nook they don't go in and just end up in nook files

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    won 't install on my nook either!

    I can't actually give it even one star when I can't install it, now, can I?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    Will not install on my nook color

    Very annoying.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    Privacy Violation

    This app was working okay, until I was adjusting the settings, and for some reason now it wants me to give Microsoft my e-mail address AND my password. No, I will not. And the page won't let me leave. Every time I turn it on, it's there, wanting private information. I think you should know. Perhaps there is a better way to connect with your local library. Because this happened, I would not recommend this service to anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Used to be good

    Overdrive's recent site redesign has ruined this app. It worked fine before they started to push their Read system.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    This needs to be made available for the Nook hd+.

    This needs to be made available for the Nook hd+.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Wow, is this ever the worst app in the world.  The usability is

    Wow, is this ever the worst app in the world.  The usability is horrible, it is NON-intuitive.  Makes me want to smash something in anger.  

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    .

    It wont let me open it...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    Terrible!!!!!!!

    I tried several times to authorize this app to my adobe id for my nook tablet and i kept receiving error messages. This app doesnt even deserve 1 star because it cant even be used.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    Not recommended.

    I still have not found a way to make Overdrive to work on my Nook.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    The app installed fine but there are no printed instructions. T

    The app installed fine but there are no printed instructions. There was an audio version, but I don't find those kinds of instructions helpful. The app seems to work, but it is slow and kind of quirky.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2013

    nookHD is the bee's knees!

    I coveted a nook ever since they appeared, and bothered the salespeople at B&N nook desk several times for demonstrations. Finally my lovely brother provided me with the means to purchase one this December. By now there are at least six models- good grief, wringing of hands, picking of brains! Eventually I decided on the 7" nook HD plus a pretty purple protective case. Besides being an awesome bit of technology, I cannot praise the salesperson enough for his patience, knowledge,and willingness to go the extra mile- setting up, registering- so that I would be able to start using it as soon as I got home. Bravo Barnes & Noble, you've got a winner!

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Will not install on my nook

    I am so sad I got so excited about this.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Wont install

    My daughter got this nook for christmas. We went to the library to get her a card and start borrowing books. I found this app but it gives me an error saying it cant install for this device! Disappointing :(

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    This application works great on a real Android tablet but terrib

    This application works great on a real Android tablet but terribly on my Nook tablet. I can sideload ePub library books via Adobe Digital Editions on my PC to my Nook Tablet and read them just fine via the built-in ePub reader but I can never successfully complete a load to my Nook using the same microSD memory card. I get a error writing to memory card (error code 1062 ) every time. I've tried loading the Overdrive application on my PC but that's even worse... There are no instructions or obvious route to setting up libraries or using it.

    I'll just stick to using it on my Samsung Galaxy Tab 10.1 tablet

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    Help

    It wont close

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Not recommended

    I could not get it to work. Could not find it anywhere on the Nook!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2012

    Unknown

    Haven't used it yet

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    dont know how it works, sorriest piece of software i have ever m

    dont know how it works, sorriest piece of software i have ever messed as far as trying to get it setup and running.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2012

    Won't install.

    Unfortunate.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 185 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 3 of 10