Customer Reviews for

OverDrive: Library eBooks & Audiobooks

Average Rating 3.5
( 1432 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(613)

4 Star

(312)

3 Star

(197)

2 Star

(125)

1 Star

(185)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

276 out of 319 people found this review helpful.

There is a help/tutorial for anyone having troubles.

I am so glad this app has FINALLY arrived. I really like getting e-books from my library but the process was time consuming due to having to 'side-load' materials. This app has streamlined the process amazingly well.
Need Help (New to Overdrive?)...click on the menu ico...
I am so glad this app has FINALLY arrived. I really like getting e-books from my library but the process was time consuming due to having to 'side-load' materials. This app has streamlined the process amazingly well.
Need Help (New to Overdrive?)...click on the menu icon on bottom menu bar, tap on the MORE button then tap on 'Help'.
This program uses Digital Media Editions from Adobe. You'll need an Adobe account to use it, which makes perfect sense. It's free, as well. No Adobe account yet? I recommend you get started there. You'll soon be on your way to getting free materials from the library again! ENJOY!

posted by Deetsy on September 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

86 out of 190 people found this review helpful.

No instructions no help

Have looked for over two hours for somekind of online help or instuctions. None found.

posted by MuseK on September 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 613 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 31
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Not hard to use....

    I'm not sure what people are complaining about? It's a free app that connects you to your library for free content. If your library doesn't have many books, that has nothing to do with the app. If you can't figure the app out, ask someone that knows electronics to show you...maybe try a tech person at a Barnes and Noble store.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Great for getting free books

    I recomend this because you can get books without paying for them but i had a hard time getting it set up in the beginning but ohce i got it running it was great

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2012

    Giddy with Joy

    Very new to e-reading. My first wish was to have a device that would allow me to travel and still have access to libraries from any location. To my surprise what I found was the NOOK Color HD. Great piece of hardware. Provides me with what I need with very little hassel. Thank you!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    Great App

    I have this App on an Apple device for audiobooks. I'm so glad B&N finally has it for Nooks. Makes loading library books so easy! No side loading, just load with WiFi.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    A great way to add library books to the Nook!

    So much easier than the previous way of adding library books on the Nook.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    Very convenient!

    This app makes it very convenient to borrow both e-books and audio books from my local library!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    I Just love the overdrive I can get books anytime I want now thanks

    It is just great everyone should have this

    Thanks for get this out to us reader.

    Jane

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    Finally. A wonderful app!

    It took long enough but this is a great app. Rent library books from bed, sofa, cafe or any wifi hot spot. No more connecting to the computer!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    Great n useful apps ever!!

    Open the app and press little tiny square on the buttom starts browse, play on it for minutes, once you figured out how to use this app, you can search books from almost every library, and you can borrow them with your library card!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2014

    Good App

    This app works well with our public library and I can check out e-books directly through the app, read them and return them when finished (as opposed to having to have them remain on the nook until the due date.) It has a simple dictionary to get a definition of a word found in the text. The only thing that I found that was missing -- it might really be there, but I haven't found it yet -- was a way to search the text for a word. For example: to search for a character that was previously mentioned so you can find out what he was doing at that time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2014

    Absolutely love it!

    I'm like a kid in a candy shop with this app and the offerings of books to borrow through my local library. The only thing I wish could be developed and added is some way to see how many copies are available from my library and how many people are ahead of me on wait list before I place a hold. This app is wonderful!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    App

    We need temple run!!!!! But this app is pretty cool to. Press yes if you agree that we should get temple run!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    Amazing

    This is the best app for any reader... you can check out books for free anywhere. Its great because so many people will read more. I don't see any issues with the app, and I really reccomend it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2013

    Great app - very easy to use!!

    I have never used the OverDrive Media Console app until now. It user friendly and I love it!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    What a blast - I definitely recommend you grab this app!

    I went to my local library and they introduced me to this free app - yes, FREEEEEEE - and with this app, I can borrow books, audio books, and more from libraries all over my state! Just another reason to love my library AND my Nook!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Awsome

    This is the best app there is. I use it every day. I LOVE it !!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    If you're a reader (like me) you GOTTA do it!

    Took me a few tries to get this going (no, I am not a compu-whiz). When I finally did, it's one of the greatest/fun-est sites of all. BTW - the folks at the Seminole County Library and B&N were so helpful in getting me started. Just sorry I didn't do it sooner. I love reading all the great new books out without schlepping around the heavy books. Since I am a fast reader, the 14 days I have to read a book usually means that both my husband and I can do it for the same 14 days, and still have time left over. The only problem I had (which I corrected) was remembering to chose a Nook book, and not a kindle or audio book. Once I got this one down, it now takes me literally seconds to locate and get a book. Its a great site. Do it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    Great idea

    I really enjoy how I can borrow books form the library right from my home using just my wifi and my Nook HD+. It is easy, convenient and quick. Now I can read more book for free.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    very pleased

    I'm very pleased with my overdrive media:) I love being able to get books on loan from my library instead of having to buy them. Very satisfied with the whole experience!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    A must have

    This app works great. It's necessary if you plan to borrow books from the library for your Nook. Alittle confusing to use at the beginning.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 613 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 31