Customer Reviews for

OverDrive Media Console: Library eBooks Audiobooks

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

254 out of 295 people found this review helpful.

There is a help/tutorial for anyone having troubles.

I am so glad this app has FINALLY arrived. I really like getting e-books from my library but the process was time consuming due to having to 'side-load' materials. This app has streamlined the process amazingly well.
Need Help (New to Overdrive?)...click on the menu ico...
I am so glad this app has FINALLY arrived. I really like getting e-books from my library but the process was time consuming due to having to 'side-load' materials. This app has streamlined the process amazingly well.
Need Help (New to Overdrive?)...click on the menu icon on bottom menu bar, tap on the MORE button then tap on 'Help'.
This program uses Digital Media Editions from Adobe. You'll need an Adobe account to use it, which makes perfect sense. It's free, as well. No Adobe account yet? I recommend you get started there. You'll soon be on your way to getting free materials from the library again! ENJOY!

posted by Deetsy on September 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

81 out of 183 people found this review helpful.

No instructions no help

Have looked for over two hours for somekind of online help or instuctions. None found.

posted by MuseK on September 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 173 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    FINALLY, BUT.....

    Finally have the capability on Nook Color and Tablet, but what about the Simple Touch? I happen to have a Color and Simple Touch and use both. Not everyone, however, needs or wants to spend more money for an e-reader so you still aren't providing the ease of use of the Kindle since they all can borrow books directly from their public library without side-loading! Please fix this deficiency.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2012

    Finally on my nook color but......

    When i load ebooks, it takes forever to load a few pages, then,after i read these pages, it takes forever to load a few more. If that isnt bad enough, it then goes to the begining of the book agn and agn when im trying to load more pages. Its being a pain. I cant wait till the kinks are worked out.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    I would give Gary an excellent rating. However I was dissatisfied with the young employees at the Nook desk .

    Gary was excellent at teaching a group of us on Wednesday evening at the Staten Island

    store. I learned how to finally use my Nook which I have had for over a year.

    I had gone for help during afternoons several times and the young employees said that

    there was noone in the store who could explain how to access library books onto my

    Nook.

    A middle aged woman told me that Gary could explain this process and informed me

    that he gave lessons.

    I think the younger employees should be better informed, so that they can give accurate information.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2014

    Not supported...

    When I tried to open on Nook Color, was informed that app was not supported on my device. I had and earlier version installed before that worked fine.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    It is nice to be able to check out a book without requring hooki

    It is nice to be able to check out a book without requring hooking up to a PC. Unfortuantely the overdrive app does not display the book contants as nicely or allow changes on the fly as easily as the default nook reder. It would be nice if one could opne the ebook with the default reader just as you can with Digital Edtions. Perhaps come up with a digital editions app?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    Works great on Nook Color (5 stars), but not on Nook HD+ (0 stars) -hence only 3 stars

    I actually returned my Nook HD+ because OverDrive does not work and I need to be able to get library books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    Time will tell.

    Have not had a chance to really use it yet. Have not found any e-books of the authors I like to read, or have all ready read the books. I will not count it out yet.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    I would recommend.

    I wish more books were available for kids through our library. However, the app works well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    sometimes acts flaky

    trying to find books through overdrive at my local library can be clumsy but I'm able to do it. when I get interrupted and my nook sleeps, the page format is sometimes out of whack, missing the last line of each page. I have to exit overdrive and reload it to get my pages back to normal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    Neat

    I like it. Its easy and many choices. Not for someone who wants to read new books. Not many on there

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    OK

    I like checking books out easily, but have had problems with books disappearing occasionally.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2013

    If you are computer savvy, this program would work well for you!

    The Barnes and Noble staff was really helpful, as was the library staff. However, I am still unable to use OverDrive Media Console to hear audiobooks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    Does not work on my nook color

    Not sure what the problem is but I cannot install it on my nook color. I can use it on my nook hd though. Also before I can even check out a book I have to go to my browser, find my library web site, sign into my library account then go to overdrive in the browser from the library site and then I can get books. I cannot checkout books directly from the app, which is a huge flaw. I'm about to switch to a different tablet brand because everytime bn comes out with a newer model reader all, the apps and most of my books i accually paid for become no longer compatable with my older version nook. I havenot been able to hand my older models down to my kids because I can't get overdrive on it or any of the games I have on my new nook onto the older one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    Good game

    The reason it didn't get 5 stars is because I like to see weekly totals of how I did against my friends and this app doesn't have it! Its weird why it wouldn't when the free app has it and a friend paid for an app for her phone and it has it. Why doesn't the NOOK version?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    its okay...

    it is a nice app and all... I don't really like the book selection though. mainly horrible violent books... my friend has it, and half the books she likes are not on there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Very helpful

    Makes checking out e-books from the library easy and convenient.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Good

    Good app - though I had to have a Barnes & Noble salesman help me with some things.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    ?????

    I have not been able to log into my library for some reason. Its saying my info is not valid when i know everything is right! Please fix this. Other than, that i love the app!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2013

    Recommended

    Have now borrowed my second book from the library with this app. Very easy to use and books load fast.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2013

    Nice, but bookmarks are not shared

    I was very happy the overdrive app was released for the NOOK. I immerdiately loaded it on to my smart phone too. Unfortunately, I quickly discovered that bookmarks are not shared between devices. Also, navigation is lousy. My recomendation is if you are looking for a book, do so on yout PC. Otherwise, you will have to click back through every page you viewed during your search.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 173 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9