Customer Reviews for

OverDrive Media Console: Library eBooks Audiobooks

Average Rating 3.5
( 1311 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(568)

4 Star

(287)

3 Star

(173)

2 Star

(118)

1 Star

(165)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

252 out of 293 people found this review helpful.

There is a help/tutorial for anyone having troubles.

I am so glad this app has FINALLY arrived. I really like getting e-books from my library but the process was time consuming due to having to 'side-load' materials. This app has streamlined the process amazingly well.
Need Help (New to Overdrive?)...click on the menu ico...
I am so glad this app has FINALLY arrived. I really like getting e-books from my library but the process was time consuming due to having to 'side-load' materials. This app has streamlined the process amazingly well.
Need Help (New to Overdrive?)...click on the menu icon on bottom menu bar, tap on the MORE button then tap on 'Help'.
This program uses Digital Media Editions from Adobe. You'll need an Adobe account to use it, which makes perfect sense. It's free, as well. No Adobe account yet? I recommend you get started there. You'll soon be on your way to getting free materials from the library again! ENJOY!

posted by Deetsy on September 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

81 out of 182 people found this review helpful.

No instructions no help

Have looked for over two hours for somekind of online help or instuctions. None found.

posted by MuseK on September 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 173 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Is okay kinda slow...

    This app needs work, my library barely has any books I am looking for. I do hope they fix this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2013

    Very good

    This is great to get books from the local library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    Highly recommended for people without computers.

    It's fine if you don't have a computer. I have a Nook Color and use Adobe Digital Editions. My 2 main complaints about OverDrive MC: it's too slow. More important, the black is too dark. The Digital Editions app night view is charcoal gray and is much easier to use when reading in the dark. It's great, though, if you want to get a book and you don't have a computer handy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2013

    Ok

    This is dependent on if you have a library that participates in this program. If you dont have a library card or its expired you cannot check out anything. Max checkout time is 14 days even for older books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Recommend.

    I MOVED FROM MY NOOK COLOR TO NOOK hd+ for this app.but find it difficult to use for a while. I bought 2 books on nook hd and found them useless for overdrive. In store staff are wonderful for the real problems.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    Overdrive media

    For this app you need a stupid library card to get a book on this app?:(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    So far, so good

    I have only loaded one book so far for my kids while on vacation. It worked out fine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    Good

    This app does its job fairly well. I find it's very easy to use. However, it is not like other ebooks in the sense that you cannot do many things with the text, such as search the text. Also, in between chapters you do have to wait until they load, which is veryyyy annoying. Once features that allow you to interact with the text are added & the bug of loading between chapters is fixed, this could be an exceptional app.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    This is great. Free books from the library. What could be better?

    Love this app. Since retirement I have plenty of time to read so I can get the books read before the 2 weeks is up and they get deleted. Don't have to get in the car and drive to the library.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    An

    It would not install when i needed to reinstall it because it disappeared when mt nook died

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    Not Bad...

    It's a library app, so there's not much to be said. I love the fact I can borrow e-books, however this is slightly difficult to use on the Nook Color. Not sure if it's the devise or the app, but it does get a little frustrating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    Is an okay app

    I have this app on both an iPad and the nook. On the iPad it works great. On the nook it does not function as quickly as on the IPad and I get a message Activity OverDrive Media Console is not responding. Also you cannot list the books by author. It is only by title or last opened. Also there is no searching capability in the app.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Recommend if you are a library patron.

    I haven't had trouble with the app. I'm a little disappointed in the number and genres of books available on my library system. And I don't have cards at other systems.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 173 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 9