Customer Reviews for

OverDrive Media Console: Library eBooks Audiobooks

Average Rating 4
( 1229 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(534)

4 Star

(271)

3 Star

(165)

2 Star

(104)

1 Star

(155)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

230 out of 271 people found this review helpful.

There is a help/tutorial for anyone having troubles.

I am so glad this app has FINALLY arrived. I really like getting e-books from my library but the process was time consuming due to having to 'side-load' materials. This app has streamlined the process amazingly well.
Need Help (New to Overdrive?)...click on the menu ico...
I am so glad this app has FINALLY arrived. I really like getting e-books from my library but the process was time consuming due to having to 'side-load' materials. This app has streamlined the process amazingly well.
Need Help (New to Overdrive?)...click on the menu icon on bottom menu bar, tap on the MORE button then tap on 'Help'.
This program uses Digital Media Editions from Adobe. You'll need an Adobe account to use it, which makes perfect sense. It's free, as well. No Adobe account yet? I recommend you get started there. You'll soon be on your way to getting free materials from the library again! ENJOY!

posted by Deetsy on September 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

75 out of 171 people found this review helpful.

No instructions no help

Have looked for over two hours for somekind of online help or instuctions. None found.

posted by MuseK on September 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 61 – 80 of 271 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 4 of 14
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Wow

    Took some tie to figure out as there were not many instructions readily available but as I played around with it a bit more the more I LOVE it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Great app for making library loans of books and mp3's more streamlined and direct

    We enjoy using our ebook library loan system and Overdrive Media Console has been great as a phone app, and now it's even better with an app for the Nook. It did take a few minutes for me to see the small area at the bottom of the page where you get the books from your own linked library. Overall it is a great app that has worked well for us, but it does need to be a little bit more clear for beginners on how to use it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    Junk

    This app essentially locked me out of my reader on my Nook Color. I could not open books. Do not install it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Invaluable for library book reading.

    I'd be lost without being able to use my Nook for library reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Love this app

    I love the app. The only thing i dislike is the fact that B&N doesnt have the latest upgrade and it is not compatable with wma audio books. Huge disappointment. Secondly, better support for the pdf and ebooks would be great also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    One of the first things you need to do is sign up for an Adobe D

    One of the first things you need to do is sign up for an Adobe Digital Editions ID. If you have problems with this, your local librarian should be able to help you. Our library also provides a cheat sheet with step by step instructions on how to load this app and the necessary steps to take to be able to borrow books. I'm sure other libraries have one available online. The library may also offer a class on how to do it as well. Availability of books for this app is dependent on the digital holdings your library or the consortium it's a member of has.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    overdrive

    great app! only 4 stars because sometimes when i wake nook up from sleep the pages dont align right

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Great App!

    This app made loaning books from the library simple. Quick and easy to use!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    OverDrive seems to work, but slim pickings from public libraries

    OverDrive seemed to work on my Nook Tablet as advertised. Unfortunately my local libraries do not have much of any new stuff available for electronic loan, so it's necessary to buy current stuff. But, if all you want is older/public domain stuff, OverDrive is useful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    A little hard to figure out at first, but works very well.

    A little hard to figure out at first, but works very well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    Must have app!

    ...if your library subscribes, many do so check it out. There is one glitch when it goes to sleep with it open, it messes up the layout. It's easy to fix but was a bit frustrating so I'm not rating it a 5.

    However, you can't beat free books to read. I'll buy non-fiction but fiction is generally something I borrow and this is the easy way to do that. Also see if your library has Freading too. This is another service like Overdrive but is a bit more troublesome as it requires sideloading the books from Adobe Digital Editions. That for me at least is a bit glitchy, possibly since I have a Mac. However, once on the Nook they are a dream to read as they go into the Nook Reader and once there they work flawlessly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Excellent

    I've never had any problems with OverDrive Media Console. I use it on both my Nook and on my cell phone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    li highly recomend

    This app works very well to read free books from other sources

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Recommend

    The app is good and will be a great money savings. However I do not like the page numbering, it shows the number of pages in a chapter or section. I prefer to have the total number of pages in the book. Also navigation to a specific page should be easier for example a "go to page #" option. I started a book twice due the purchase of a new nook, I had to page thru until I found the page I was on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 61 – 80 of 271 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 4 of 14