Customer Reviews for

OverDrive Media Console: Library eBooks Audiobooks

Average Rating 4
( 1287 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(557)

4 Star

(284)

3 Star

(169)

2 Star

(115)

1 Star

(162)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

249 out of 290 people found this review helpful.

There is a help/tutorial for anyone having troubles.

I am so glad this app has FINALLY arrived. I really like getting e-books from my library but the process was time consuming due to having to 'side-load' materials. This app has streamlined the process amazingly well.
Need Help (New to Overdrive?)...click on the menu ico...
I am so glad this app has FINALLY arrived. I really like getting e-books from my library but the process was time consuming due to having to 'side-load' materials. This app has streamlined the process amazingly well.
Need Help (New to Overdrive?)...click on the menu icon on bottom menu bar, tap on the MORE button then tap on 'Help'.
This program uses Digital Media Editions from Adobe. You'll need an Adobe account to use it, which makes perfect sense. It's free, as well. No Adobe account yet? I recommend you get started there. You'll soon be on your way to getting free materials from the library again! ENJOY!

posted by Deetsy on September 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

79 out of 179 people found this review helpful.

No instructions no help

Have looked for over two hours for somekind of online help or instuctions. None found.

posted by MuseK on September 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 558 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 28
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    There is a help/tutorial for anyone having troubles.

    I am so glad this app has FINALLY arrived. I really like getting e-books from my library but the process was time consuming due to having to 'side-load' materials. This app has streamlined the process amazingly well.
    Need Help (New to Overdrive?)...click on the menu icon on bottom menu bar, tap on the MORE button then tap on 'Help'.
    This program uses Digital Media Editions from Adobe. You'll need an Adobe account to use it, which makes perfect sense. It's free, as well. No Adobe account yet? I recommend you get started there. You'll soon be on your way to getting free materials from the library again! ENJOY!

    249 out of 290 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    At Last!

    Thrilled to see this app come to the Nook shop. I had been using it on an office-issue iPad to borrow library books and missed it terribly when I got my very own Nook tablet. It makes borrowing from the library fast and easy; I no longer need to hook my Nook to my computer. This version of the app is working perfectly for me so far. Offers several customization options for fonts, sizes, margins, color schemes, etc., as well as bookmarks, an online dictionary, and progress tracking. Very comfortable and enjoyable reading experience. While I do purchase a lot of eBooks, I will always support my local library and I love still being connected to it. Thanks to B&N and the folks at Overdrive!

    90 out of 103 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2012

    So Happy to Have this App!

    Waited a long time to have this app and it works great. The only thing is that there is lack of instructions to walk you through the set up. If that were added that the rating would be six plus stars!

    62 out of 74 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    Finally.

    Once I figured out that I can only check out epubs, not PDFs, this app works well.

    I recommend authorizing your NOOK through Adode Digital Editions first, then add your public library and look for books-less back and forth this way. It's easy to do through the OMC settings.

    Some people have complained that you can only read the book through the OMC app, but that is the point of the app. If you still want to read through your NOOK library, you need to stick with sideloading.

    51 out of 61 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    Finally

    I can check out digital books right from the Guntersville Public Library right on my nook. (While sitting on my couch!)

    22 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    Library books with ease

    Finally, a super-simple way to grab library books and audio books from your Nook!

    18 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Must have

    If you enjoy reading in your pajamas, you'll love this app. Never step foot into a library when you want to check out a book.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    Freedom!

    This is so great - and it's FREE! Now I can borrow my ebooks and audio books without having to link my Nook Tablet to my computer. It works well although it did take me a little exploring to figure it out so be patient. Everything you need is there somewhere so keep looking. I have tried it out for both formats and it worked smoothly. Kudos to OverDrive and Barnes & Noble for giving us an early Christmas present!

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    LOVE IT - FINALLY!!!!!

    I have been waiting on this for quite some time. I found it last night and I can not contain my joy! THANK YOU!!!!!

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2012

    TRY IT YOU WILL LIKE IT

    Overdrive is easy to use and the e books came in immediately and I didn't have to wait for days or weeks. LOVE IT.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    Love this!

    It took me a little bit to understand how this works, but it was
    worth the time. Some things can not run on the nook color but they can run on your desktop. And others will not run on your desktop but on your nook. Once I learned how to manage the app I fell in love.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    This will answer any quiestons 4 checking out e- books ( I promise )

    O.K !!! So you also have 2 have over drive media on your computer . Also you must have adobe flash player , but only on your computer . U must have an account with adobe flash . If u don't have an account they r easy 2 make . Now go 2 your library's site for futher detail . When u want 2 check out e-books you must connect your nook 2 the computer with the charger . If u do not have a computer get 3m cloud library ( also free ) with 3m cloud library u do not have 2 connect it to a computer . U can still check out e - books . The only reason I do not do that is because my library is not on it . If this helped click " YES "

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Love it!

    I can now check out books straight onto my nook without having to use my computer! This makes it so much easier!(: 5 stars!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    Cool app!!!

    Have this app on my cell an my nook! Works great! Love it!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Highly recommend

    Highly recommend getting OverDrive Media, where you can borrow books from the library, instead of buying them.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    The best for using the library!!

    I love OverDrive! It makes it so simple for me to check out my library books!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    Highly recommended

    So easy to check out books now. I love it!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    This is really great.

    I am so glad I have my Nook and so glad I have OverDrive Media. You really need to try this and you to will love this

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    This app makes borrowing from the library quick & easy. A must have for any NookColor user!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    Fabulous

    I was using OverDrive on my computer -- thrilled to get it on my nook! The finishing touch for your nook, too. Now I can get both ebooks and audio books from my library 24/7...and read/listen anywhere. You got to have it!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 558 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 28