Customer Reviews for

OverDrive Media Console: Library eBooks Audiobooks (for NOOK Color & Tablet)

Average Rating 3
( 348 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(105)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(73)

2 Star

(57)

1 Star

(61)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

For anyone who had trouble installing like I did. I was told by

For anyone who had trouble installing like I did. I was told by B&N to archive some apps I don't use to make room for it. Try that!

posted by SushiPG on October 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

55 out of 78 people found this review helpful.

Very frustrating

This app will not install on my Nook Color

posted by Anonymous on September 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 349 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 18
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    Awful

    Cannot get this app to work. Very frustrating and not very intuitive.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    It works- don't give up!

    The reviews are right - it's confusing. When you open Overdrive on your Nook, touch the little circle with the 3 lines in the middle of it at the bottom of the screen. From there you can "get books" but you first have to add your local library. It saves the info, so in the future your library will be there and you can just touch it to go to your digital library and bookshelf. On my device I also need to log in with my Adobe ID (you can get one for free). As far as I can tell, audiobooks do not work, which is unfortunate.
    Bottom line - too many steps, too complicated, but once you've got it set up it's really great to get free books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2014

    Will not download

    I hate ihate i hate it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    Highly Recommended!!!

    I really love this app. It would be great for anyone who is homebound and loves to read. You have to have wi-fi to check out the books but then you can read them offline. They also have audio books you can check out. (You check out the books through your local library with your library card)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    Opens a whole new world of reading...

    Never have to drive to the library again to get a book to read. I can put my name on a waiting list so that as soon as the book I'd like to read becomes available I receive an email to let me know. By linking this to our local library has definitely made it possible to read a wider range of books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2014

    Good idea, bad on nook.

    I bought this app thinking, really? This is to good to be true! I can actualy check-out books on my nook! No way, and know i am thinking, wow. Just wow. They say 'great find!' And actualy mean 'waste time on this app so that we can just have no intrest in you!' As my teacher Mrs.Parker said "Consider your audience" the people at B&N didnt think that there could be 10 year olds trying to figure this out! Not worth it. Dont waste your time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2013

    Have never been able to use it

    Even with the help of Customer Support, after "purchasing" this app, it has never appeared in my library and I've never been able to use it ever. The Customer Support rep finally said he couldn't figure out why it wasn't in my NOOK library and that I'm not going to be able to use it. So I don't think it's very effective.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    Wonderful!

    This app was used by my public library, so that I can use the "Lend Me" feature, and read books for free through my local public library. It is awesome! I love having access to so many books! And the library even set it up for me! - couldn't get better than that!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2013

    caused huge issues

    After using this for library books, my other books will no longer open up. Caused some bugs in system.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2013

    Excellent app

    All of the public libraries use this app for book rentals - if you go to the local library they will give you instructions on how to install and use it on your Nook or other devices. I love being able to get books from the library at NO cost to me and keep them for up to 14 days.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2013

    awesome

    Love this app. makes it so much easier to get books from the library

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    Won't work

    Thanks so much that the app is free

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    great

    I love being able to get books from my public library, I only wish more titles were available.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2013

    very difficult to use

    For me?? Difficult to navigate and use at all. Deleted it. Confused everything when I was merely trying to renew a free library book from my local library. Could not use it. Did not like it. I am now helpless to fine my unfinished book. Need to go to the library to find help.
    Tried to buy it on B&N but could not get beyond the sample. On my computer it said I already have the book but I am not able to see anything but the sample. This NOOK has given me multiple problems like this. Not very user friendly for free library book access.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2013

    Very highly recommended -This thing really works!

    This makes it so fun and easy to get the books quick and easy. You can stay in your house and not have to make the trip in town to your local library.
    Thanks for having OverDrive Media.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2013

    Love this app!

    Love to be able to listen to books as well as reading. Love that this is through my library. Still love my nook.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2013

    Love it!

    A bit of a learning curve. But allows me to check out library books and read on my nook. Wouldn't be without this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The Mobile Library

    Love, love, love this app, it's like going to the library w/o having to get dressed, and fight through traffic!! I also like that I can check out a book, before I purchase it. Great app.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    Over all not bad.

    This is not a bad reader. I like the fact the reversing text we get a truly black background.
    The page turning is slow (why?) and this app really eats up the battery.
    If you want to read OverDrive books this is a must, but as a reader, not really worth the cost.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    Pleased with the end result , not the process getting there.

    Once you finally figure out how to get the Overdrive (which, by the way, a lady at B&N TOLD ME IT WAS NO LONGER USED OR AVAILABLE)......then you have to get something else from ADOBE called ACE (abbreviation)... So it takes a long time to set up and connect with your local library. I actually looked up from other people how to get all the things I needed. One man had all 12 ( yes, I did say TWELVE), which was very helpful. I still had to call B&N and spoke to a delightful and helpful gentleman, who walked me through the whole thing and VOILA!!!! There it all was. I have since "borrowed" 2 books and enjoying the experience very much. It took a total of 1 week to set up after all I went through as stated above. But very pleased with the end result.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 349 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 18