Customer Reviews for

The Overachievers: The Secret Lives of Driven Kids

Average Rating 4.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2010

    insightful and intriuging

    this was a very thouhtful and thorough book. i related very much, being that i was applying to colleges in the midst of reading it. i really enjoyed this book and highly recommend it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Insightful- A Must Read!

    This book has is very enjoyable. It contains many characters, each one with their own story to tell. Alexandra Robbins gives an interesting peek into the lives of the most driven, talented, and overworked students around the nation. I like how she puts in interesting facts on the subject of our educational system. I think it could have a wide audience because it's not only for students but also the parents, educators, and the people who support them.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2006

    High School Junior

    This book was fantastic and too true. I think any student could relate to this book. It had the perfect blend of facts and the personal lives of the students Robbins interviwed. In places the facts are dry, but the kids lives are interesting and makes one forget they are reading a non-fiction piece. I read this for my AP English class and would highly reccomend it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Highly Recommended...This Reads Like a Novel

    "The Overachievers" is a great book. It reads like a novel and is never boring. Alexandra Robbins makes it interesting by having first hand accounts of Overachievism. She observes a total of five students and tells it like it is. She does not sugar coat the good, the bad, and the ugly. She explains why one observee loses her hair due to stress, and how one Overachiever's mom loses custody of one of her children because she never lets them have a life. It tells of the pathetic battle to maintain perfectionism and the competition to get into top ranked preschools even before the aforementioned child is born. This is a captivating tale of what one goes through to be perfect.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2007

    A reviewer

    As a diligent, hard-working high school student myself, I found The Overachievers: The Secret Lives of Driven Kids completely engaging. Straight-A students with numerous extracurriculars and high test scores are commonly stereotyped as untouchable, unrealistic, and plain nerdy. However, Alexandra Robbins¿ novel brings to life the routines, stresses and lifestyles of driven students. It showcases the goal-oriented society in which students across the country are sacrificing their teenage years just to get into a ¿good¿ school. Parents especially are overlooking the benefits many non-Ivy league schools have to offer. Despite statistics proving otherwise, people are still fixated on the fact that attending a recognized undergraduate school will guarantee lifetime success. Robbins approaches her novel very appropriately by telling the stories of several high school students of differing interests and ages. Personally, I identified most with Julie, a senior perceived as ¿the superstar.¿ Her life was completely swamped with cross-country and track practices as she tried to balance a rigorous AP schedule as well as volunteer work and honor societies. The thing that struck me so much about Julie, as well as the rest of the characters, was how astonishing her introduction was. I almost didn¿t want to continue reading, let alone apply to some of the schools she was considering, because there seemed to be no way to compare to such an applicant. But as I read further, I realized every last one of these students had flaws. They felt so much pressure to compete against their classmates that they were joining new clubs just to add to their college resume, whether or not they enjoyed the activity. The novel opened my eyes to many of the practices, including cheating, which many committed students feel pressured to execute. It is not that any of these overachievers are lazy they simply don¿t have enough time in the day to complete all of their work. The number of applications to the most selective colleges has skyrocketed over the last few years, and with the rising number of applicants comes rising expectations. Everyone thinks they need to take a million AP courses (well, only 16 in the case of ¿AP Frank¿), while still being the number-one varsity athlete, editor-in-chief of the school newspaper, and class valedictorian. However, by interviewing a few readers of college applicants, Robbins put to rest some of the rumors regarding how over-blown resumes are attractive to colleges. The only blemish in her statistics was how some responses only consisting of 25% of opinions were portrayed as an overwhelming majority. Though all of us applicants strive to look perfect on paper, the reality is that not everyone can be accepted into top-tier schools. However, happiness attained by every student by the end of the novel is proof that hard-working students can make any college their ¿perfect¿ fit. Very well-written with morals pertinent to any college applicant, I would highly recommend this novel to any stressed-out senior.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2007

    A reviewer

    I am disappointed..... while it explains my life, it does not assist me in moving to the next step....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2007

    Hands down, a must-read

    This is the best book of the admissions genre, and perhaps even of the high school genre. A quick read, engaging, pulls you in, leaves you feeling like you really care about these kids. A gem of a read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2006

    Read this BOOK!!!

    Wonderful, to put it simply!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2007

    Every Parent Should Read This!

    I'm a 21 year old college senior and I could NOT put this book down, it seemed like she was describing my life for the past 10 years exactly! I immediately sent a copy to my parents and after reading it they said they finally started to understand what I mean when I discuss the new pressures facing teens today. Well written and very engaging!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2006

    The Overachievers

    I am currently reading this book and it is very well written. It describes teenage situations with reality and I'd recommend this book to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2006

    Too True

    As a junior at Walt Whitman high school, this book truly relates to my life. The stressors presented in this book are true and really happen in life as a Whitman student. Even if you are not an overachiever, you can still relate to this book. The stories are great but the facts are boring to read about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2006

    Required reading for high school juniors, seniors, teachers, and parents

    Robbins gives us an inside look at the high-pressure, high-stress high school culture that is producing a generation of sleep-deprived overachievers. She combines the true stories of driven students with essays on everything from the SATs to Japanese cram schools, making for a powerful and fascinating read. A must for college-bound teens and their parents.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2006

    Scary, but True

    This book rings true on every level. I am a college student now, but it describes my high school experience perfectly. I don't think people realize how cutthroat high school has become, and this book uncovers that and reads like a fiction novel. One of the best books I have read in a long time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2006

    A New Form Of Identity Theft

    Identity theft while still in the womb. Go figure. It happens everyday. And Alexandra Robbins, a gifted Journalist, is calling it like it is. During our teenage years, we're supposed to be searching for our identity. It's the age of discovery, seeking passions, trying on new faces a time to figure out who we want to be when we grow up and think about what we hope to contribute to the world. As the author details in this book, those days are a distant memory. This milestone book tells the stories of several teen's personal experiences about the competition that often happens during the pre-college, and college acceptance process, over the course of a little more than a year. We follow the lives of a varied group of juniors, seniors and a freshman at Harvard, all hailing from Bethesda, Maryland's upscale Walt Whitman High School the same alma matter as the author. Interspersed between the stories of these students in real time, Ms. Robbins provides us with anxiety producing accounts, facts and figures of the competitiveness that often begins at the pre-natal stage to get a child into the 'right' pre-kindergarten. Whatever, 'right' may mean. Some companies even prey on parents prior to conception or during pregnancy, by marketing educational products. They claim that these products, when played close to the belly during the justation period, provide the unborn infant with a leg up on educational prowess. To be fair however, status obsessed parents often put their unborn or unconceived child on a wait list fours years in advance, for a prestigious pre-k program. Sadly, the baby boomers of the 1960's and 1970's have done a 180 from their touting of 'non-conformity' to myopically branding their offspring into a clone they hope will be accepted and thrive at an ivy-league school, top graduate school and high-prestige, high-figure money making profession. As Ms. Robbins points out numerous times and through numerous examples, this is often done at the expense of the child. It hinders the important discovery process of the child's search for it's identity. These children not only don't have the opportunity to build a personal toolbox to figure out what is, and what will be rewarding to them, but their mental and physical health suffers as well. Ms. Robbins conclusions are significant in many areas. The author suggests ways of 'right adjusting' this competition frenzy for parents, high schools, colleges and students. Hopefully, her suggestions will be considered and implemented appropriately.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2006

    interesting direction

    The Overachievers follows students, labelled by their peers as Meathead, Flirt, Slacker and the like, over the course of one year. I was taken in by these characters and their stories made me understand what the author was trying to say about the educational system. I guess I never had thought about the plight of students who could actually hack it. We read so much about the students who aren't cutting it that it's an interesting thing to think about the students who are smart and graduating, and yet so sad and overwhelmed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2006

    it's all true

    As a junior at Walt Whitman High School, I can relate to this all too well and for those of you who don't think this is realistic, you're wrong. Summer isn't even over yet, and my parents are already pushing me to look at, and fall in love with, the college of my choice. I may not be the typical Whitman student (straight As, lots of extracuriculars, as many APs as possible...) but I do like how this book shows how stressful life at Whitman can be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2006

    Strong characters, good story, excellent social points

    This is a very good effort. An excellent window into the life of today's high school from the view of top students and some at times heartbreaking and at times hilarious looks at their lives, families, and friends. A good read all around and, in my opinion, worthy of praise.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2006

    THE REAL DEAL

    THIS BOOK IS BASED ON WALT WHITMAN HIGH SCHOOL IN BETHESDA MARYLAND. SOME MAY THINK THAT THINGS ARE SLIGHTLY RIDICULOUS AND COULD NEVER HAPPEN IN HIGH SCHOOL, BUT IT DOES. READ THIS BOOK TO GET INTO CHILDRENS MINDS FROM WALT WHITMAN HIGH SCHOOL. THIS IS WHAT REALLY HAPPENS.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2006

    Read it!

    As a recent high school graduate, I completely related to the stories of the students whom Alexandra Robbins follows in this book. Thanks to the author, I now realize that I am not the only teen who struggles with the incredibly high demands of today¿s society, and I feel more at ease with myself because of that. I strongly recommend this book to everyone, especially parents and students. (I am making my mom read this book now that I am done!) It¿s a fun, easy read that just might change you-and your child's life-forever. Fantastic job, Alexandra Robbins!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2006

    thank you miss robbins!

    this book was so good. after i read it i gave it to my parents so they could see that high school isn't like it was when they were kids. it's really different now, and my friends and i get so stressed over everything related to it. i loved the way the characters told their stories. i wish i could meet them in real life!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2