Customer Reviews for

Overcoming Dyslexia: A New and Complete Science-Based Program for Reading Problems at Any Level

Average Rating 4.5
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2005

    Anyone with a child struggling to read should get this book ASAP

    I am a reading tutor and can tell you that this book hits the mark dead center. The author covers it all--the history of dyslexia, the amazing nuclear imaging today that is showing what happens in the brains of dyslexics, and then what to do about it and much, much more. This book is not just for dyslexics, however; it contains a wealth of information for anyone with a child struggling to read or an adult who can't read. Her methods work, because I have used many of them. Finally, if you as a person have always longed to read better (or just read!)or you are a parent who is beaten down, discouraged, having lost hope for your child (because that's exactly the way your child feels as he/she constantly fails to read), this book will give you incredible hope! There is a bright future for the one who struggles with reading...it is definitely fixable! To start fixing it, go invest 10-15 bucks on this book and get started!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2008

    BEST INFORMATIONAL DYSLEXIA BOOK

    We had no clue what dyslexia truly was when our son got diagnosed. This book was recommended by his evaluator and it the the best book ever!! Will carry you through college with your dyslexic child or young adult.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2005

    I like the list

    This is a good book, going into not just what dyslexia is, but how our understanding of the mechanics of reading has changed in the last twenty years, especially with advanced brain imaging. But my favorite part was the list of what children should be able to do by different ages. It's a calm way of paying attention without freaking out. Good interview with Shaywitz at www.firstvoicebooks.com/shaywitz.html I also like that one of the best ways to help kids is to read to them when their young, something that too often is shunned as old fashioned, but it's great bonding, stimulating those young brains.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2005

    Parents & Educators of Young Children Should Read this Book!

    An excellent summary of dyslexia and what we know about it, and how to spot early signs that a child in your life might be dyslexic, particularly in the preschool and primary grades. Discusses specific remediation and intervention strategies. Very readible, the author does not lose the reader using professional jargon. If the chapters on history and physical nature of dyslexia bores you, skip them and go back to them later; the best part of the book is the last 2/3rds.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2004

    Wow!

    This was a comprehensive, informational, educational, and scientific look at the world of learning disabilities. It gives practical information throughout...and really keeps the reader interested! I wish this book came out 10 years ago...I could have been a much more successful teacher if it had. I reccomend it to all parents who think their child may have a reading difficulty, ALL teachers, and anyone who may have had reading problems (get the CD to expedite the reading)! GREAT BOOK!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2003

    A very readable book about reading

    An unexpected treat; I initially bought this book because I have a niece with reading problems, and was hoping to find some way to help her. I didn't anticipate finding something as comprehensive and personal as this book turned out to be. It took me all the way through, from the science of reading through very practical and detailed advice about what to actually do about reading problems. There is also something very unusual about the tone of this book -- it comes across as very warm, compassionate, and almost initimate. I also liked the discussions with several famous dyslexics including Charles Schwab and John Irving. All in all, a very helpful, very readable book about reading.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2012

    The Bible for Dyslexia

    I have a daughter with Dyslexia. This book was recommended to me by her tutor. I must say it explained what Dyslexia is and is not! This is the best book with scienitic research. I recommend it to anyone who wants to learn more about Dyslexia!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Very informative and even entertaining. Highly Recommended

    I am severely dyslexic and am trained to work with Dyslexic children using Mutlisensory Orton Gillingham based training. This book is a fantastic resource. I was very pleased to know the Alphabetic Phonics training I have spent the last year doing has been exactly what I needed to be able to help other dyslexic children.

    Even with my own experiences living with dyslexia and raising three boys who are also dyslexic I learned a tremendous amount from this book. If you work with kids who are dyslexic, are dyslexic yourself, or have a family member who is dyslexic you need to read this book.

    I was amazed and relieved to hear the breakthroughs they have made determining the cause of dyslexia. I listened to it as an audio book and plan to listen to it again. There was so much great info!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    Look No Further

    I am a special education teacher and all I can say is that this book is the final authority on dyslexia. Most of my classes for my Master's degree referenced this book, so I had to read it! Not only is it incredibly informative, Dr. Shaywitz does a brilliant job of taking that information and making it understandable for parents and lay people.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2010

    Eye opening

    I've always had problems reading throughout my life and just assumed it was something lacking in me. It's so odd to read about this subject and have the condition described fit you so well. It comforts me that I'm not alone.

    I love to read and find that the ebook readers are a God sent.
    The Nook from Barnes and Noble is a great tool for the dyslexic
    reader. I can read in private (no one knows what I'm reading and how fast I am going through the material). It has an excellent paper like background and sharp text which I can adjust the style and size.
    As the book will explain, the paper font style, size and contrast have a huge effect on readability for the dyslexia reader.
    I can also look up the meaning of words while I read.

    Get the book and the Nook and enjoy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2005

    DYSLEXICS UNTIE!

    Thx for you contribution to this greatly misunderstood condition.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2004

    excellent resource on reading difficulties/instruction

    I am a reading specialist and found this book to be very informative. Though I borrowed the book, I plan to purchase a copy for myself. It explains dyslexia so thoroughly and gives helpful ways to help people who are living with dyslexia. It also gives many web addresses for further information and resources.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2003

    Change kids lives!

    This book straightforwardly explains the history, dilemnas, and diagnosis of dyslexia. It offers hope with scientifically based evidence that proves that early intervention makes a difference. This is exciting news for educators who want to help struggling students read. This book should be a 'must read' for all students of education and those currently in the field. I am forming a book study on this book with interested educators in my district this summer. I can't wait!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2003

    Could not put this book down!

    Reading this book was pure joy! Only wish it had come out earlier. This was one of the best books I have ever read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2012

    Must read for those interesting in learning

    This book is an excellent resource for educators and parents to understand that students don't all learn in one way, but all can learn. It is grounded in brain science and very well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    New clan!

    Are you tired of being made fun of? Sick of being called 'strange'? Well, that won't happen in Oddclan! Join at oddball result two and ask for Twistedstar.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    J

    Gay

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Importint

    Adop a golden retriver puppy at pet stor result 1.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    COME AND?????

    JOIN POOLCLAN AT POOL FLAMR

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2011

    Qqqqqqqq The dyslexia bible

    This should be required reading for all teachers no matter what age group. Too few teachers recognize the warning signs of dyslexia, which leads to underdiagnosis or misdiagnosis of dyslexia, thus condeming students to years of failure in reading, writing, and spelling. Why is this still an issue after years of scientific research as demonstrated by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3