Customer Reviews for

The Overlook (Harry Bosch Series #13)

Average Rating 4
( 183 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(87)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

u must check this book

a body has been found on the overlook near Mulholland drive the victim, identified as Dr. Stanley Kent, has two bullet holes in the back of his head from what it looks like. an execution- style shooting. LAPD detective harry Bosch is called out to Investigate.it is the ...
a body has been found on the overlook near Mulholland drive the victim, identified as Dr. Stanley Kent, has two bullet holes in the back of his head from what it looks like. an execution- style shooting. LAPD detective harry Bosch is called out to Investigate.it is the case he has been waiting for, his first since being Recruited to the City homicide special squad. As soon as Bosch begins retracing Dr.Kent steps, contradictions emerge.while Kent Dosen't seem to organized crime, he did have access to dangerous rodioactive substances from just about every hopital in los Angeles country. what begins as a routine homicide investigation opens up before bosch into something much larger and more dangerous and much more.

posted by aaron15 on January 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Only a 161 pages

Great Bosch read but not worth the money.

posted by 9021249 on October 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 183 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted November 29, 2011

    Not his best

    I have read all of the Harry Bosch books in order and I must say that I was a bit disappointed in this book. It just didn't hold my interest as much as the rest of Michael Connellly books I have read. I love the Harry Bosch series, but it is beginning to look like Harry is one of those types that likes to hold back information to make himself look better and I am a bit disappointed that my favorite character would be so selfish. However, even though this book was not one of my favorites, I am going to continue to read the Harry Bosch series until I have read them all. I think every writer puts out one or two books that just don't quite measure up to some of their previous books and this may have been one of those for Michael Connelly. Just my 2 cents worth...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    Only a 161 pages

    Great Bosch read but not worth the money.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2012

    u must check this book

    a body has been found on the overlook near Mulholland drive the victim, identified as Dr. Stanley Kent, has two bullet holes in the back of his head from what it looks like. an execution- style shooting. LAPD detective harry Bosch is called out to Investigate.it is the case he has been waiting for, his first since being Recruited to the City homicide special squad. As soon as Bosch begins retracing Dr.Kent steps, contradictions emerge.while Kent Dosen't seem to organized crime, he did have access to dangerous rodioactive substances from just about every hopital in los Angeles country. what begins as a routine homicide investigation opens up before bosch into something much larger and more dangerous and much more.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Too Simple

    CD unnabridged/Thriller: I thought this reading was abridged because it was only five CDs. However, it is just a really short book. This is my first Connelly book and it was a disappointment. It is really simple, too simple. There is no character development and it seem like Connelly phoned it in to his editor.
    The narrator should stay away from audiobooks. I am sure he is a good actor, but he has no upper register. Therefore he cannot do female voices. Everyone but Bosch, his partner and maybe a few others have a raspy voice. The victim's wife, 20-year old male, Rachel, and several others, all have sound like little old men trying to get words out.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2007

    A reviewer

    I am a real die-hard of the Harry Bosch character, but this book really disappointed me. I read it in the large print edition and it was just over 300 pages long. I know this was originally written for the New Yorker, and it felt like a 'quick and dirty' story, rather than the fleshed out Bosch books I've come to love. Won't stop me from reading the next one, but this was disappointing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    Great Series, Bad Book

    I was hooked on the Bosch Series from book #1. This one, though, is awful compared to the rest of the series. It reads as if the author is sick of Bosch. The ending is weak, and it feels as though the author was too bored to put any effort into a decent finish. The ending is not at all satisfying and not very interesting. If you truly like the Bosch books, do yourself a favor and skip this one. If you absolutely feel the need to read it, check it out at a library; save your money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    Love Harry Bosch series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    Fine story

    A fine story in the continuing saga.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    Not his best

    Was a little on the weak side not like Harry Bosch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Easy Read but not one of his best

    Somewhat predictable and not up to Michael's best

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    What's up with Harry Bosch?

    I have to agree with many other reviewers of this short Harry Bosch tale ... none of the characters, especially Harry Bosch, are particularly likable. I think this is the first book in this genre that I found the main character to be a complete jerk and found it nearly impossible to care about. I did think the ending was an unexpected twist. It was a short, quick read ... wouldn't say I enjoyed the book. I guessing other books in this series must be better or there wouldn't be so many of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    Highly Recommended you have to read it for yourself

    Of all the Harry Bosch books I have read, I started from book one and I am working through the series, this was the best. In true Connelly form you are left in wonderment when discovering who really did what. The twists and turns keep you reading to the end. I think this book was the hardest to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Not one of my favorites in the series

    a short book and not as good as his others in the Bosh Series. This was his first case since he left the LAPD's Open Unsolved Unit for the prestigious Homicide Special squad. Harry was called out to investigate a murder which involved national security. A doctor with access to a dangerous radioactive substance is found murdered in the trunk of his car. Retracing his steps, Harry learns that a large quantity of radioactive cesium was stolen shortly before the doctor's death. With the cesium in unknown hands, Harry fears the murder could be part of a terrorist plot to poison a major American city. Soon, Bosch is in a race against time, not only against the culprits, but also against the Department of Homeland Security and the FBI (in the form of Harry's one-time lover Rachel Walling), who are convinced that this case is too important for the likes of the LAPD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Disappointing

    Disappointing. Too short. Too simple. Same old same old. Ebook was padded with two long excerpts from other books. Annoying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    Y do u want to no wat people look like?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2012

    Highly recommended - hard to put down

    Michael Connelly pull's you into the story and has you pulling for Harry. He writes so well that you don't get lost in the technical part of it, you actually understand it, and find that you've been pulled into that world, just amazing. I love the Harry Bosch series and now that I have it on my nook it's easier to read in bed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2012

    Highly recommend

    Read anything you can get hold of by Michael Connelly, especially Harry Bosch series. Character development is excellent. Plots have excellent details and good pace. Good reads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2012

    Great short read

    This book was like all Michael Connelly stories (well writen). It held my attention and had several interesting twists. The only problem I have is the length of the story was so short it was disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2012

    awesome

    awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2012

    Fantastic

    Another great Bosch story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 183 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10