Customer Reviews for

The Overnight Socialite: A Novel

Average Rating 3.5
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    A good book with an icky end

    I am still not sure why authors like to write a good story and end it on a semi sweet note. I liked the book, but did not like the last five pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The ending needed work

    It was good. It was your typical poor girl-meets-rich-guy-he-transforms-her-and-they-fall-in-love. I only wish that it hadn't ended so abruptly. It needed a few more chapters in order to explain what happened to everyone. The ending felt like the author didn't know how it should end. Way to quick of an ending. Otherwise I liked it a lot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    Cute but

    I am not in the know of course nitreally are all those people or charctitures? IF thats a realistic view of the upper crust thankfully I am not...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2011

    Predictably amusing

    I bought this ebook after I read 'Because She Can' by Bridie Clark and loved it. Her second book 'The Overnight Socialite' of couse seems predictable, but still maintains its own story that hooked my interest. Very enjoyable, amusing, and entertaining.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2011

    Great Book for the NOOK!!!

    I try to save my NookBooks for the tread mill, but this was SO good, i had to finish it OFF the treadmill. Fab fun reading!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2011

    GREAT!

    a wonderful take on My Fair Lady... i want a follow up

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    Easy read, fun for fashionistas, but could've been a lot better

    Overall, I was a little disappointed, since I expected more out of Ms. Clark given her credentials, but also makes me think she herself had social contacts that helped get the book published. Anyway, this was a nice fun easy read, but I was a little disappointed that the ending didn't have more and the descriptive prose could have been so much better. Clark could've really used a thesaurus since she used many of the same adjectives in describing the fashions, which was a let down. It's a great concept, but the execution was definitely lacking. If you don't know anything about haute couture and designers it would be a little difficult to visualize.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2010

    Loved it!

    Really fun, great characters, and more exciting than I would have thought possible, since we know the basic outline of the Pygmalion story. The 'social world' details were amazing too--good grief! Finally, it's one of the first times my Nook version was actually a savings, which I appreciated.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2010

    So ENJOYED IT!

    Lovely and very interesting! Kept me reading until I finished it! ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This is an interesting retelling of Pygmalion

    Thirtyish billionaire Manhattanite Wyatt Hayes IV has everything going for him, but is bored with those he considers his social, economic and educational equals. He breaks off with his latest girlfriend Cornelia Rockman and wonders what next.

    Leaving Dayville, Minnesota Lucy Jo Ellis hopes to take Manhattan by storm with her designs. She attends a gala in which she thought she was a guest, but ends up serving food. Later that night, a soaked to the bones Lucy heads home disappointed. Wyatt and his posse see her and he bets them he can turn her into the in person as he believes he can change chicken sh*t into a gourmet meal. He explains to Lucy the wager and she reluctantly agrees to his make over of her. As she proves she can, outraged Cornelia blames her replacement and undertakes a vendetta while Wyatt becomes jealous of those male socialites sniffing at his creation.

    This is an interesting retelling of Pygmalion with a hyperbolized cast stereotyping various roles especially of the ultra rich and the deer in the headlight innocent coming to take the city by storm. The story is fun to follows as Lucy Jo of Middle American becomes cosmopolitan Lucy of Manhattan. Although the ending can be seen on a clear day all the way to Newark, readers will enjoy the modernization of My Fair Lady into The Overnight Socialite.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    Quick Read

    Very fast read!!!! You don't want to put it down. It is like like a modern day My Fair Lady. I loved it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    The Overnight Socialite

    I truly enjoyed reading this book! I have trouble reading books from other author's than my favorite, however, this book was an easy read for me because it engaged my interest from the beginning of the plot. I didn't want to put it down. We all hope for fairy tale endings but this one was brought to current times which I enjoyed. I have given this book to my friend's daughter to read and pass along because I really felt that woman should read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3