Customer Reviews for

Override (Glitch Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Thrilling Sequel What I liked: I really enjoy the way Heather A

    Thrilling Sequel

    What I liked: I really enjoy the way Heather Anastasiu writes, even if the world she's crafted is a little more complex and Sci-Fi than my brain can handle. (Code for: This book may be smarter than me and I am totally okay with that.) Override's fast paced, non-stop action keeps the story from falling into the "sophomore slump" and the budding romance will leave you a little breathless. This sequel is not without it's the twists and they are equal parts, "I did NOT see that coming!" and "Thanks so much for ripping my heart out!" *whimpers*

    What left me wanting: There were times when Zoe's flip-flopping between being angry with Adrien one minute and feeling guilty/sorry for him the next drove me crazy. I have mixed feelings about the ending as well - part of me understands it was completely necessary to the storyline as a whole but the other part of me (aka my heart)? Not so much.

    Final verdict: Thrilling sequel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2014

    Not really sure how to put into words my feeling toward this bo

    Not really sure how to put into words my feeling toward this book. The ending left me with this profound sense of sadness and I’m still not sure what to do about it. I enjoyed the first book in the series, and I think I enjoyed this book as well, but I felt a little let down in this book. Zoe seemed to think “I have feelings that I’m mad at you, but nevermind, lets make out. But now you’re mad at me that I was mad at you?” It seemed like her thought process didn’t quite follow that of a normal person.

    From the start of this book I felt like things were a little strange, like making her stay in a very small room with an air filtration system, one that had a bed that wasn’t long enough for her to lay down on or sit up entirely in bed, but she had a treadmill that pulled out of the wall that she could run on. A few contractions there. To me it felt strange that that was the set up for her, and while I understood she had allergies, that seemed a little extreme. On the topic of allergies, I bought that whole excuse the first book when it was introduced during a super intense moment, but this time I didn’t really buy it. As an allergy sufferer, it just doesn’t seem plausible that this would happen.

    I liked that some of the other characters made reappearances like Adrian (but that was expected), but I also really liked the new characters that were introduced. While there were distinct differences between them, they all felt like the same cookie cutter character. I did like Ginni and how she seemed to actually have a past and history, but she also felt incredibly two dimensional. The same goes for Xoel who while she has a deeply emotional scene, it didn’t seem all that genuine and real. I did feel that out of the new characters introduced, Cole had that most character development, and that made him my favorite.

    The plot of the second book seemed to be all over the place with different missions and directives, and while it did all serve the overall purpose of getting Zoe closer to the rebellion, it seemed to go nowhere at the same time. I think the biggest problem I had was that it started with Zoe having lost all control over her power and then all the sudden in the middle of the book, it was like she got there again. There was a side explanation of her training with Adrian’s mom for two weeks, but that doesn’t seem like an awful lot of time. For her to go from unable to fend off a pebble to lifting marbles and people in the air seems like an awful short amount of time.

    I’m still looking forward to book three though because now I just need to know what is going to happen with Zoe and Adrian and how she is going to manage to protect everyone without spilling blood. I was also annoyed at that. While it was valiant for her to want to not kill anyone and blah blah blah, she seemed to be unable to grasp the concept of this being a war and that people will die, and for every person you refuse to kill the bad guy will kill 5 of your men. Zoe has a lot of growing up to do before the final showdown.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2013

    I don't see the direct comparison to The Hunger Games as some ot

    I don't see the direct comparison to The Hunger Games as some other reviewers stated. Yes, the genre is the same, but the concepts are immensely different. In The Hunger Games, the characters are subject to a digitally manipulated environment, but in the Glitch series, the digital manipulation happens in their own bodies. I loved this book! I hadn't had the privilege of reading the first in the series, unfortunately, but there wasn't any need. Most of the background and characters were fleshed out very well so that reading the first book was not necessary.




    I was a little disappointed that Adrien and Zoe didn't keep their heated relationship at the same pace as in some places of the book as Adrien was either physically not present or thinking about other things, but I understand the need for it. I like the concept of chips being implanted in the human subject and giving them extraordinary powers as it makes you think about the current technology out there today and its ramifications should it continue on the same path. I'd almost wished that Taylor had made it to the end of the book because she wasn't as bad as you thought she was; which made her disappearance all the more sad.




    Overall, the story is fairly fast-paced (with a few slower parts that were necessary) with an entertaining, dystopian plot that isn't overly technical or bogged down with the sci-fi elements. It is about survival and doing anything it takes to ensure that everyone can go on living normal lives. It's about saving those that have literally had their voices stolen by those they trusted. It's a bit of Enders Game mixed with Hunger Games, though the story certainly shines on its own with original concepts and compelling characters.




    I received this book from a Goodreads giveaway in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed above are my own and I was not monetarily compensated for penning this review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    4.5 Stars What an amazing follow up to Glitch! I fell in lo



    4.5 Stars

    What an amazing follow up to Glitch! I fell in love with the Glitch series after reading the first book! I thought it was an amazingly fresh twist to the Dystiopian world that was portrayed excellent! The Glitch series is very different then your normal Dystiopa books. The citizens are controlled by V-Chips that are inserted in their brain that controls their every move! Kinda freaky, Right? No, its AMAZING!!!!! I always thought I would enjoy reading this series, but I had NO idea how much I would truly LOVE IT!!


    THE PLOT:


    This book picks up a couple months after the first book left off, with Zoe and Adrien escaping the Chancellor and making it to the surface without being captured!! They made it! They finally did it!!! YAY!! But all is short lived when their plans start failing one after the another! The Chancellor is building her army of Glitchers, getting stronger by the day, and everything they do, the Chancellor seems to be one step ahead of them! Their running out of time, and if they don't come up with a plan soon they might lose the war they've been fighting so hard to win!!

    But Zoe's a fighter, she's not giving up until her last breath in her body is gone! She's determined to save the ones she loves, and the ones that she left behind in the community! She's foreseen as being the Resistance leader and if that's the truth then she has a lot to learn, and quick.

    Her love and savior Adrien seems to be drifting further and further away from her. He's having horrific visions of what's to come in the impending war. But he says he can't tell her the future for it may alter the things that need to happen. But the heavy-weight that Adrien is baring is tearing him apart! Zoe feels helpless and destroyed by the pain that Adrien is enduring, but what can she do? Well shes about to find out exactly what Adrien is seeing, and that it could very well destroyed the Resistance and everything thing they have been fighting for!!

    Someone is lurking in the shadows, watching and waiting for the perfect time to strike. And if they don't pull it together and strike soon they might not make it out alive!!!

    I love Override! It was Wonderfully plotted and full of action and surprises around every corner that had me glued to my seat, flipping the pages faster then I could read them. I can't wait to start the third and final book in this trilogy and see how it all ends! I know whatever happens is going to blow me away, and go out with a BANG!!! Its all built up to this moment of the final showdown between Zoe and the Chancellor, and I can't wait to see it all play out!!!

    Overall this book was very fast-paced with amazing surprises I didn't see coming and twist that I just couldn't get enough of! I thought this book was better then Glitch and I have a feeling Shutdown the next and last book in this series is going to be even better the Override!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Good second book

    I thought this was as good as the first book. This one mainly takes place the Rez hide out in called the Foundation. It’s a secret hideout where they come up with a plan to overtake the Chancellor and for the glitchers to better control their powers. Everyone is improving but it seemed like Zoe was having a setback with hers.

    Zoe was a tad bit annoying in this book, but not that bad where it annoyed me. Adrien was acting weird. Which I thought sucked until we get to this one moment in the book where I was like “Oh, oh. That’s why!" I really didn't see that coming. A great unexpected twist. Eager to start the next book and find out what happens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Star wars parallel in chpter 1

    Did anyone else notice how in the first chapter, adrien and milton got zoe out of her little room, ran through a plain corridor, were shot at with laser guns, and ultimately jumped into a garbage chute?
    Doesnt it seem like star wars, episode 4 a new hope, where han solo and luke skywalker rescuee princess leia, are shot at with laser guns, and ultimately jump into a trash compacter?

    Just saying.... like if u noticed it too :)

    Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    When I first began reading Glitch, I was immediately sucked into

    When I first began reading Glitch, I was immediately sucked into the dystopian world Heather has created, and I loved it. Which is why when I got a copy of Override I picked it up immediately. Before I begin my review, it is my duty to point out how horribly edited the cover is. Ignoring the fact that it looks like a pixelated and unclear picture, from looking at the girl's arm, it looks like she cut herself. However, the third book's cover has regained my faith in the cover editors but I really hoped they would have changed it into a more refined photo before Override came out, but that didn't happen. 
    End of ramble, back to review. 
    I have read Override a couple of weeks ago and I can say that Override came so close to being as good as Glitch and I believe the ending was just fantastic. Override's plot had, I believe, equal weight in content as Glitch, which is something that is usually lacking in middle books. We get to find out so much more about the powers of Zoe and the rest of the glitchers, as well as her learning to control it. Also thrown in the mix is someone without powers, as well as four regulators who escaped the community but are still treated with hate. It really broke my heart. Anastasiu didn't stop there, but there are plot twists filled in this book and I quite enjoyed their cleverness. 
    Character wise, Zoe, the main protagonist, isn't as naive as she used to be when she was back in the community controlled by them (the bad, evil government in every dystopian novel). I liked her confidence, courage, and need to help in any way. Even with that, we still got to see her insecure and softer side, especially when talks of her being the key to freedom is always brought up. Adrian, the love interest, also plays a role here but I believe that Zoe shined this time. 
    Heather Anastasiu didn't lose momentum in this second installment of this dystopian trilogy. You will be sucked into the world of glitchers from the first page. Readers who didn't enjoy the romance and its pace as well as Zoe's naivety would definitely believe that Override is a solid and great sequel to Glitch. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Awesome

    This book has me jumping for the next. The end is crazy.... i cant wat for Shutdown!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1