BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Overton Window

Average Rating 3.5
( 699 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(267)

4 Star

(172)

3 Star

(116)

2 Star

(61)

1 Star

(83)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

60 out of 76 people found this review helpful.

domestic terrorist thriller novel

"the overton window" is a remarkable thriller by glenn beck in this novel he takes a look at possible situation were a radical group threatens a serious situation in the united states and in this very fasinating book the writer gives us a very detailed look into the lif...
"the overton window" is a remarkable thriller by glenn beck in this novel he takes a look at possible situation were a radical group threatens a serious situation in the united states and in this very fasinating book the writer gives us a very detailed look into the lifes of the politics and lifes of all sides of the groups involved this truly gives an inside account of many views on many sides of the issues. with glenn becks research and background there will be many charaters that will come to life and most likly be very familer to real people in the political arena. great gift idea for a friend or family member.

posted by storms1 on June 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

20 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

Not at all biased

Wow ... I have to say ... I really dont have a dog in this fight. I have never watched Mr Beck or any of his colleagues, enemies, nemesis or any political pundit. They just dont matter unless you need someone to validate what you already think. Keith Olbermann is as bad...
Wow ... I have to say ... I really dont have a dog in this fight. I have never watched Mr Beck or any of his colleagues, enemies, nemesis or any political pundit. They just dont matter unless you need someone to validate what you already think. Keith Olbermann is as bad as Sean Hannity is as bad as Maddow is ... well you get the drift. So I came at this book from the point of view that it was a novel and I don't care who wrote it. And I have to say .... this really isn't very good. I'm sorry if Glenn is your political hero but a fiction wirter he isn't. The characters are pretty poorly developed and the story has more holes than an Iraqi Highway. There were things I liked .... the basic story is pretty good ... but the concept that someone has been manipulating events is far from original. Still the way in which it's done is pretty original. Mostly I jut don't buy the characters who always seem to react in the perfect way whether it suits their character or not. I give it a 2 ... if you see the paperback on the used bookstire shelf in 3 years it's worth a go ... or a library copy. But it is in no way worth spending $20 on unless you just need it to fill out your Glenn Beck Shrine.

posted by BookPundit on June 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 700 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 35
  • Posted August 11, 2010

    Meh...

    Bigger fan of Glenn Beck the TV / radio personality than this book. While a fairly compelling plot, at times it moves along fairly slowly. I think my biggest problem with it is that at some points it oozes cheesiness and camp. The plug for Beck's "Faith, Hope, Charity" campaign is an example of this, as well as the protagonist's romantic interest. It is well researched and strongly supported throughout. Beck has a fine team working for him, without a doubt.

    While I do espouse the beliefs of limiting government and keeping an eye open to its misbehavior and incompetence, and generally I agree with the author on numerous subjects of discourse, I think that novel-writing is not necessarily Beck's forte. He does better by letting facts speak for themselves... in cases such as these, truth does a better job than fiction at revealing how crazy we've let our country get.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2010

    Amazing!

    It was hard for me to book this book down! It is full of great NON-FICTION "easter eggs" buried in the text. The storyline is very familiar, and I felt the main characters represent two factions of our nation. Beck did a wonderful job putting this together!

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2010

    It is a Beck book, either you will love it or hate it!

    If you like Glen's other books you should like this one. People who get all up in arms about Beck havening crazy conspiracy ideas won't like this book. It is Beck, it reads like it is from Beck. Sometimes the facts (which are mostly true) seem to take away from the story (kind of seems like the Beck show interrupts the book from time to time.) I think Beck was a little too eager to put real facts in sometimes, instead of telling a story.
    The entire book is well thought out with a good plot. It will keep you wanting to know more after the first few chapters or so. I like Beck and I like the book. However, I would not recommend it to friends that are not in to politics (even though I think they need to read it most.)

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Good First Entry In The Genre

    I purchased this in unabridged audiobook since I am a truck driver. I enjoyed the atmosphere created by the speaker. It gave a feeling of being in the action. As for the story itself, it was well done for a first attempt in thriller writing. Regardless of your opinion of Glenn Beck, it's a good book to escape into. No, he's not Clive Cussler or James Patterson. But look back at their first offerings and you see the growth in those authors given time and trial-by-error. Strictly from the view of an avid reader of most anything, I enjoyed the book. It held my interest, made me curious, and got me thinking. All things a good story should do. There will be those who hate it because of who the author is and his political views but if they honestly read the book, it's not all bad.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2010

    Disappointing

    The first two chapters promised an exciting political thriller.
    The rest of the book negated that promise.
    Beck had an exciting idea but wasn't able to develop characters and keep the plot moving.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2010

    Great read

    Had a difficult time putting it down, and sleeping after putting it down.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2010

    Great Read

    Interesting, thought provoking, well written, timely. I loved reading it on my "Nook" and will buy a hard cover edition for our library.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2010

    Glenn Beck should stick to television...

    I was excited to read the plot summary and thought this would be an interesting read....'lo and behold, I am utterly disappointed. The writing is trite, predictable, and leaves me with as much enthusiasm as an 8th grade English teacher grading Creative Writing assignments.

    The characters were cliche embodiments and I actually skipped large sums of pages of pure rhetoric and historical quotes disguised as dialogue....no, literally, I kept forwarding the pages of my Nook because I was sick of reading inordinate streams of writings from past historical figures that Beck actually wanted us to believe were substantive monologues from main characters.

    I won't even get to the ending...this book sucked and was ridiculous. I want my money back.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2010

    Excellent reading

    It was hard to believe that I wasn't reliving the 1960s and 70s. For a fictional book, this book has areas that are fact based and definitely not ones to be repeated. The story is easily read and attention getting. It can easily be read in a weekend.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2010

    Very good read.

    Even though it is based in fiction, there are many points or scenarios that play out every day in our society. Like Beck said "Don't just trust me, do the research yourself". Probably not as good as a Tom Clancy thriller, but a good shot for an author who publishes mostly non-fiction material. The plot keeps you coming back for more, my only wish is that they would have continued the story a little bit further. This was probably on purpose to put out another book which I will gladly read.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2010

    Great Read

    Beck does a great job of spinning a good fictional tale using current and recent events and weaving them into a tapestry. I'm a big Glenn Beck fan and this is a great platform for him to support his point of view. Overall is a great read and a very welcome break from my regular serious and news related reading.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2010

    Very Disappointing! (Trust me, I usually love Glenn Beck!)

    Okay, first of all I want it to be clear, i'm not a liberal blogger who never even read the book who just wants to give Glenn Beck bad ratings because I don't like him.
    The truth is that I usually love Glenn Becks books, I watch his show every day and listen to his radio while at work. I very much like Glenn Beck.
    This is why I have to be very very honest, this book truly to the strongest use of the word sucks. I'm not kidding, it simply sucks. You sit there reading getting exited thinking "Okay, here comes the good part" then it just gets written off as nothing, then at the end of the book your sitting there confused like "what just happened??"
    Glenn Beck always says the truth will set you free, that's why I can't lie just because I like Glenn Beck. This book truly sucks.

    For a great political thriller, you should read Brad Thor.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2010

    Hahahahahaha

    For all of you reviewers out there who are mystified that Glenn Beck's book had "a promising idea", but "lacked character development or a plot", I say to you: You're surprised?? Have you watched his show?? It's a hyper paranoid, supercharged derangement of a talentless man (other than his demagoguery). This book was absolute garbage. I'm very conservative politically, but Glenn Beck is a lunatic who gives us all a bad name- Obama isn't evil, he's just wrong (just, as I might add, W. wasn't evil despite the claims of the left). You want to read REAL good fiction? Read Stiegg Larson- or John Grisham, or just anyone who ISN'T crazy or IS talented.

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2010

    The Overton Window is FABULOUS

    I myself am only 14 years old, but i am a HUGE fan of glenn beck, and i simply could not pull myself away from this book. It's defiantly a page turner, Epic, fascinating, and just amazing. one of my friends asked me to tell me about it, and, well, i couldn't, because it's all intertwined and connected. mysteries unravel and conflicts arise, and you will never stop reading this book until you finish it exactly from cover to cover.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2010

    Love Glenn Beck but....

    This book could be more detailed. It is not bad for a first run at fiction. The facts he references are great for those that want to followup on important facts. It is a good read, would recommend

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Love Glenn Beck and his book!

    How can you not love this guy. Riveting thriller all with the Beck style! Very entertaining! It was a great read. Highly recommend this book! We included this book in our summer reading list of books as we recently visited the book store, a summer tradition, to gather up all of our pics for our summer reading list. This includes books for myself, my husband, kids and nieces and nephews. We also buy some books as birthday presents for others so they can join in on our discussions, like the aunts and uncles and grandparents. We have a mini book club where we discuss our books as we all read along. We all read several books so as the reading goes along there are a lot of books to review. The kids have found a wonderful book called, Smitty's Cave Adventures. They all love thrilling action-adventure books and this one is full of mystery and intrigue! From a parental point of view, Smitty's Cave Adventures also has a good moral overtone. Even the girls wanted to read this book and they all concluded that this is their favorite book so far!

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2010

    Fantastic and Possible reality

    This book is easy to read in a few short hours. The plot line is thrilling and interesting. True reality under present pergressive leadership. Look for Obama to decare a national emergency before his term ends or sooner. He and his pergressives want to be dictators.

    This book should be an entertaining must read for all. It would be burned if and when present leadership gets total controll.

    Dr. Warn conseratives

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Crystal Ball?

    If you are a fan of current events, politics etc., you'll enjoy this thought provoking page turner. "Faction?" Only time will tell.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    An intelligent read.

    This book totally blew me away. And ive already begun to share it with family members * Its scary acurate, its disturbing actually.. i couldnt sleep for a night. What is our country coming too. This harshly reminds us as citizens that our freedom is slowly being taken away from us right in front our eyes. ! Its sad that this book has been getting bad reviews over its author and overall story plot..! Anyway the real meat of the book for me was at the very end.. where glenn provides numerous websites and articles of that was said in the book actually took place !! He has it there For your personal investigation ( Dont just take his word, find out for yourself.. ) This is one eye opening book, that i will not take for granted.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Pretty Good

    Not what I expected but it was pretty good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 700 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 35