Customer Reviews for

The Overton Window

Average Rating 3.5
( 698 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(266)

4 Star

(172)

3 Star

(116)

2 Star

(61)

1 Star

(83)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

60 out of 76 people found this review helpful.

domestic terrorist thriller novel

"the overton window" is a remarkable thriller by glenn beck in this novel he takes a look at possible situation were a radical group threatens a serious situation in the united states and in this very fasinating book the writer gives us a very detailed look into the lif...
"the overton window" is a remarkable thriller by glenn beck in this novel he takes a look at possible situation were a radical group threatens a serious situation in the united states and in this very fasinating book the writer gives us a very detailed look into the lifes of the politics and lifes of all sides of the groups involved this truly gives an inside account of many views on many sides of the issues. with glenn becks research and background there will be many charaters that will come to life and most likly be very familer to real people in the political arena. great gift idea for a friend or family member.

posted by storms1 on June 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

20 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

Not at all biased

Wow ... I have to say ... I really dont have a dog in this fight. I have never watched Mr Beck or any of his colleagues, enemies, nemesis or any political pundit. They just dont matter unless you need someone to validate what you already think. Keith Olbermann is as bad...
Wow ... I have to say ... I really dont have a dog in this fight. I have never watched Mr Beck or any of his colleagues, enemies, nemesis or any political pundit. They just dont matter unless you need someone to validate what you already think. Keith Olbermann is as bad as Sean Hannity is as bad as Maddow is ... well you get the drift. So I came at this book from the point of view that it was a novel and I don't care who wrote it. And I have to say .... this really isn't very good. I'm sorry if Glenn is your political hero but a fiction wirter he isn't. The characters are pretty poorly developed and the story has more holes than an Iraqi Highway. There were things I liked .... the basic story is pretty good ... but the concept that someone has been manipulating events is far from original. Still the way in which it's done is pretty original. Mostly I jut don't buy the characters who always seem to react in the perfect way whether it suits their character or not. I give it a 2 ... if you see the paperback on the used bookstire shelf in 3 years it's worth a go ... or a library copy. But it is in no way worth spending $20 on unless you just need it to fill out your Glenn Beck Shrine.

posted by BookPundit on June 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 699 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 35
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    domestic terrorist thriller novel

    "the overton window" is a remarkable thriller by glenn beck in this novel he takes a look at possible situation were a radical group threatens a serious situation in the united states and in this very fasinating book the writer gives us a very detailed look into the lifes of the politics and lifes of all sides of the groups involved this truly gives an inside account of many views on many sides of the issues. with glenn becks research and background there will be many charaters that will come to life and most likly be very familer to real people in the political arena. great gift idea for a friend or family member.

    60 out of 76 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2010

    Glenn Beck does it again...

    This is a fictional read, but how could you go wrong with Beck?? As usual, he possesses the insight to see through today's political bull. Think he's crazy? Okay, you are entitled to your own opinion...don't buy his book. But either way please keep in mind that this is not meant to be some kind of exact prediction of America's future, just a warning, eloquently worded, to bring the danger to your attention. Keeping your head in the sand won't help our nation any. Try widening your horizons a bit, you might find that he wasn't so crazy after all.

    37 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    First shot at a genre...and not too bad.

    First, let me say this review is about the BOOK, not the person who wrote it. Whatever your or my feelings about him simply don't matter to this review. So I continue, I really loved this book. It was not the most exquisitely written piece but it is very easy to read and keeps your mind on the plot at all times. Several of the characters came across as a bit one-dimensional, but all of the main characters were very well developed and interesting individuals. The plot combines enough fiction to keep the reader glued to the page, and contains enough fact to give this book a huge scare factor. Though this may be the author's first attempt at writing a thriller, I was impressed with it and will no doubt reread it again soon.

    29 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Good First Fiction Effort

    I don't know how Glenn Beck finds time to write anything, considering his radio and TV shows. This is a good first thriller. I've written more than a dozen thrillers myself, and I wish I had his marketing folks working for me. Beck is the man!

    29 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2010

    The left will hate this book.

    This book will get negatively reviewed by the media. They won't read it, but they will hate it. If they took the time to actually read the book, they still might not like the book, but they could not slam the writing. This book is well worth the read.

    24 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Not at all biased

    Wow ... I have to say ... I really dont have a dog in this fight. I have never watched Mr Beck or any of his colleagues, enemies, nemesis or any political pundit. They just dont matter unless you need someone to validate what you already think. Keith Olbermann is as bad as Sean Hannity is as bad as Maddow is ... well you get the drift. So I came at this book from the point of view that it was a novel and I don't care who wrote it. And I have to say .... this really isn't very good. I'm sorry if Glenn is your political hero but a fiction wirter he isn't. The characters are pretty poorly developed and the story has more holes than an Iraqi Highway. There were things I liked .... the basic story is pretty good ... but the concept that someone has been manipulating events is far from original. Still the way in which it's done is pretty original. Mostly I jut don't buy the characters who always seem to react in the perfect way whether it suits their character or not. I give it a 2 ... if you see the paperback on the used bookstire shelf in 3 years it's worth a go ... or a library copy. But it is in no way worth spending $20 on unless you just need it to fill out your Glenn Beck Shrine.

    20 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Skip the Book. Watch the TV Show.

    Let me make this review of Glenn Beck's The Overton Window short and sweet. Skip the book. Watch the TV show.
    All politics aside, The Overton Window is an amateurish attempt at a political thriller. Reading it had the feel of the Glenn Beck Show without the chalkboard.
    The nugget of the story is good. I would have loved it if Brad Thor, Vince Flynn, or David Baldacci had taken this story on. They would have developed the characters better and given us more action.
    For example, I'm glad to know that the giant hillbilly makes his own ammo and ghost writes revolutionary books at the safe house. I kept waiting for him to pop up and fire the first shot of the new revolution or something. Maybe he can ghost write the sequel. It can't be any worse than this.
    I like political thrillers. Most of the main authors in the genre know how to get the message across without it getting in the way of the story. Some do but choose not to. Like Richard North Patterson, whose books I stopped reading when he began using them to head-butt me with his politics.
    The Overton Window is like that. Beck's message is as subtle as a Chicago ward boss on election day.
    Do yourself a favor. If you want to get the message, watch Glenn Beck. If you want a good political thriller, Brad Thor has a new book out.

    19 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2010

    Glad he's writing fiction too!

    This is a great book! I can only hope that it reaches some of those who won't listen unless they are "entertained." You know...the John Steward, View etc crowd. The ones who can't discuss a topic past the "bumper sticker" statement.

    16 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2010

    A Fun Guilty Pleasure

    Honestly, I enjoyed this book. Putting politics aside, I found it engaging enough that I read it in one sitting. Yes, there were plot holes, continuity issues, and the characters could not have been flatter (there is one attempt at a dynamic character, but it is predictable and not very skillfully done), but the action ensured that I didn't put the book down until it was finished. Within the first three chapters I was reminded of the "Left Behind" Series (which was also fraught with writing issues, but nonetheless held my interest). The right director could use this as the raw material for a great movie. Overall, a fun way to pass a summer afternoon.

    14 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good

    This and Patriot are both really good books.. I was surprised how good this was. good "fiction-but based on some facts" book where the usa is on a path to economic destruction..

    11 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2010

    Glenn Beck has done it again!

    Another page turner! I purchased this for my E-reader on my i pod and LOVED it!!!!!! Glenn Beck is my hero!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    10 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2010

    Big Let Down

    What began as a novel should have ended as a novel

    9 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2010

    Plot Thin but good Showcase for the ideas presented

    This book is worth a read. Glenn Beck attempts to answer the question - "What the Heck is going on with our Country?" He cites documents and references for people to investigate for themselves. Most intriguing is his use of Kipling's poem, "Gods of the CopyBook Headings" as a main pivot in his plot.

    The Synopsis is this - America, you need to wake up and pay attention to what is going on. Don't believe what people tell you, but check it out for yourself. As your rights are being eroded and the nation's mindset being changed, we could find ourselves enslaved because there is a group of people who believe the world will be a much better place if they were in charge and the little people were their subjects. They are determined to destroy the USA to bring that about and they don't care what they have to do to make it happen. What you see in the headlines can be far from the truth and each person must begin to question - Is this news report trying to manipulate me in to acting in a certain way?

    The only way to bring about change is if citizens inform themselves on the issues and make sure they get out and vote in elections.

    Definitely a read to make you think.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2010

    Good novel. Not really anything new.

    I preferred "Patriots" by James Wesley Rawles. That is the real thing, written before it's time, but has the ability to predict what is happening now, and I think what is our future. Scary, but true.

    Also, "Alas, Babylon" and "Lucifer's Hammer".

    8 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The devil is in the details, The Overton Window

    I found The Overton Window to have a very good plot and interesting characters. While I did in fact enjoy the book, I believe there could have been much more information to make the book that much more enjoyable. This being the first fictional book written by Glen Beck in this venue, shows promise for someone just getting into this style of fiction. It was easy reading and I enjoyed the lack of foul language and sex that many authors believe they need to write a story. It was interesting to see a story woven with today's politics. There could have been so much more added to this book and it's a shame to let so much detail go to waist, but if you're not into a heavy read and just want a good story, then this is a great book to be sure. I would like to see a sequel and with much more information added, 321 pages is just a bit short for this kind of book in my opinion. Very well written though with great potential!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Of all the great writers waiting to find a home out of the slush piles in editors offices...

    This trite is a #5 bestseller? Really? Really? Most writers can't even get a look, but this tv talking head can get a fiction novel on the bestseller? Makes me want to turn my computer into a fish tank and give up. Did he buy this slot? How much did it cost? I'll take out a loan! This 'novel' is to his tv show as a buffy the vampire novel is to the buffy the vampire tv show...wake up!

    7 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    always good

    GB makes his usually great sense.

    7 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2010

    eye closing

    This is not the battle cry manifesto I was looking for but a real "lets all get along" sleeper!
    Save your paycheck if you still get one.

    7 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2010

    Great book. Very informative

    I found Glenn's latest book to be both thrilling and informative. His characters are strong. He could have spent more time on developing the plot, but it is intended to be an easy and quick read to appeal to the masses. Worth the read.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Warning: No panthers were harmed in the "writing" of this review.

    If it weren't for the plot holes, shallow characters, and idiotic dialog this book would still be worthless. I'm surprised there weren't any Nazi's in the book! C'mon Glenn, just because you're paranoid doesn't mean that people aren't out to get you.

    This would be a perfect gag gift for a friend, but only if you buy it from the $1 book bins. You wouldn't want your friends thinking you paid full price for this turkey.

    6 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 699 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 35