Customer Reviews for

The Overton Window

Average Rating 3.5
( 699 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(267)

4 Star

(172)

3 Star

(116)

2 Star

(61)

1 Star

(83)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

60 out of 76 people found this review helpful.

domestic terrorist thriller novel

"the overton window" is a remarkable thriller by glenn beck in this novel he takes a look at possible situation were a radical group threatens a serious situation in the united states and in this very fasinating book the writer gives us a very detailed look into the lif...
"the overton window" is a remarkable thriller by glenn beck in this novel he takes a look at possible situation were a radical group threatens a serious situation in the united states and in this very fasinating book the writer gives us a very detailed look into the lifes of the politics and lifes of all sides of the groups involved this truly gives an inside account of many views on many sides of the issues. with glenn becks research and background there will be many charaters that will come to life and most likly be very familer to real people in the political arena. great gift idea for a friend or family member.

posted by storms1 on June 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

20 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

Not at all biased

Wow ... I have to say ... I really dont have a dog in this fight. I have never watched Mr Beck or any of his colleagues, enemies, nemesis or any political pundit. They just dont matter unless you need someone to validate what you already think. Keith Olbermann is as bad...
Wow ... I have to say ... I really dont have a dog in this fight. I have never watched Mr Beck or any of his colleagues, enemies, nemesis or any political pundit. They just dont matter unless you need someone to validate what you already think. Keith Olbermann is as bad as Sean Hannity is as bad as Maddow is ... well you get the drift. So I came at this book from the point of view that it was a novel and I don't care who wrote it. And I have to say .... this really isn't very good. I'm sorry if Glenn is your political hero but a fiction wirter he isn't. The characters are pretty poorly developed and the story has more holes than an Iraqi Highway. There were things I liked .... the basic story is pretty good ... but the concept that someone has been manipulating events is far from original. Still the way in which it's done is pretty original. Mostly I jut don't buy the characters who always seem to react in the perfect way whether it suits their character or not. I give it a 2 ... if you see the paperback on the used bookstire shelf in 3 years it's worth a go ... or a library copy. But it is in no way worth spending $20 on unless you just need it to fill out your Glenn Beck Shrine.

posted by BookPundit on June 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2010

    Big Let Down

    What began as a novel should have ended as a novel

    9 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Of all the great writers waiting to find a home out of the slush piles in editors offices...

    This trite is a #5 bestseller? Really? Really? Most writers can't even get a look, but this tv talking head can get a fiction novel on the bestseller? Makes me want to turn my computer into a fish tank and give up. Did he buy this slot? How much did it cost? I'll take out a loan! This 'novel' is to his tv show as a buffy the vampire novel is to the buffy the vampire tv show...wake up!

    7 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2010

    eye closing

    This is not the battle cry manifesto I was looking for but a real "lets all get along" sleeper!
    Save your paycheck if you still get one.

    7 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Warning: No panthers were harmed in the "writing" of this review.

    If it weren't for the plot holes, shallow characters, and idiotic dialog this book would still be worthless. I'm surprised there weren't any Nazi's in the book! C'mon Glenn, just because you're paranoid doesn't mean that people aren't out to get you.

    This would be a perfect gag gift for a friend, but only if you buy it from the $1 book bins. You wouldn't want your friends thinking you paid full price for this turkey.

    6 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2010

    Glenn Beck should stick to television...

    I was excited to read the plot summary and thought this would be an interesting read....'lo and behold, I am utterly disappointed. The writing is trite, predictable, and leaves me with as much enthusiasm as an 8th grade English teacher grading Creative Writing assignments.

    The characters were cliche embodiments and I actually skipped large sums of pages of pure rhetoric and historical quotes disguised as dialogue....no, literally, I kept forwarding the pages of my Nook because I was sick of reading inordinate streams of writings from past historical figures that Beck actually wanted us to believe were substantive monologues from main characters.

    I won't even get to the ending...this book sucked and was ridiculous. I want my money back.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2010

    Very Disappointing! (Trust me, I usually love Glenn Beck!)

    Okay, first of all I want it to be clear, i'm not a liberal blogger who never even read the book who just wants to give Glenn Beck bad ratings because I don't like him.
    The truth is that I usually love Glenn Becks books, I watch his show every day and listen to his radio while at work. I very much like Glenn Beck.
    This is why I have to be very very honest, this book truly to the strongest use of the word sucks. I'm not kidding, it simply sucks. You sit there reading getting exited thinking "Okay, here comes the good part" then it just gets written off as nothing, then at the end of the book your sitting there confused like "what just happened??"
    Glenn Beck always says the truth will set you free, that's why I can't lie just because I like Glenn Beck. This book truly sucks.

    For a great political thriller, you should read Brad Thor.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2010

    Hahahahahaha

    For all of you reviewers out there who are mystified that Glenn Beck's book had "a promising idea", but "lacked character development or a plot", I say to you: You're surprised?? Have you watched his show?? It's a hyper paranoid, supercharged derangement of a talentless man (other than his demagoguery). This book was absolute garbage. I'm very conservative politically, but Glenn Beck is a lunatic who gives us all a bad name- Obama isn't evil, he's just wrong (just, as I might add, W. wasn't evil despite the claims of the left). You want to read REAL good fiction? Read Stiegg Larson- or John Grisham, or just anyone who ISN'T crazy or IS talented.

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2010

    A Thriller it's not

    I really thought this sounded like a good thriller,it was high up on the best seller list( for a while, I guess till non reviewers began reviewing it) the hype was good,, it is to bad the book is not. I really did want to like it too, I love thrillers, Da Vinci Code etc. I usually can picture who should play the characters in a movie, like Tom Hanks is so wrong for the Da Vinci code, but with this book I could not picture anyone one because the characters are so underdeveloped they come across as one dimensional. The plot in the right hands would make a good thriller but unfortunately this book left out the thrills. It sadly reminds me of those bad movies The Day After Tomorrow and 2012, were the world is coming to an end by the end you go whew glad the movie is over, and so went it with this book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2010

    Lowered Expectations

    I had high expectations for this book. Save yourself some time and pass. It started out good, but fizzled from there. The characters were just so so. It reminded me of eating cardboard pizza. The plot was worse. Fiction can be a great way to show some truths in life, but this book felt like it was just a vehicle to present facts... the story was second. This book felt like non-fiction, stuffed into a cheap suit. When the fly buzzing around your room gets more of your attention then the book you are reading, it's a good indication it's time to put it down and read something else.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    Delusional fabrications

    If only we could believe that these were thoughtful diatrabes. One of many fails.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2010

    Four people helped Beck write this...and it still stinks!

    Your money would be better spent doing laundry.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2010

    Terrible...and I'm a Beck fan

    I really wanted to like this book. As a fan of Glenn's radio and TV shows, I expected The Overton Window to be just as well done. The premise of the book was promising, but it's weak character development, wandering plot, and overall amateurish writing made it a complete disappointment. To call this a thriller is false advertising - no suspense and dull characters who "preach" way too lengthy monologues to try to get the political points across. Also I have to say as a big fan of writers Vince Flynn, Brad Thor, and Nelson DeMille, I was shocked at their positive comments on the book jacket. In no way does this story measure up to such high praise. Perhaps it's payback for Glenn promoting their books, but if you want a true thriller, read theirs and skip this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5