Customer Reviews for

The Overton Window

Average Rating 3.5
( 699 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(267)

4 Star

(172)

3 Star

(116)

2 Star

(61)

1 Star

(83)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

60 out of 76 people found this review helpful.

domestic terrorist thriller novel

"the overton window" is a remarkable thriller by glenn beck in this novel he takes a look at possible situation were a radical group threatens a serious situation in the united states and in this very fasinating book the writer gives us a very detailed look into the lif...
"the overton window" is a remarkable thriller by glenn beck in this novel he takes a look at possible situation were a radical group threatens a serious situation in the united states and in this very fasinating book the writer gives us a very detailed look into the lifes of the politics and lifes of all sides of the groups involved this truly gives an inside account of many views on many sides of the issues. with glenn becks research and background there will be many charaters that will come to life and most likly be very familer to real people in the political arena. great gift idea for a friend or family member.

posted by storms1 on June 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

20 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

Not at all biased

Wow ... I have to say ... I really dont have a dog in this fight. I have never watched Mr Beck or any of his colleagues, enemies, nemesis or any political pundit. They just dont matter unless you need someone to validate what you already think. Keith Olbermann is as bad...
Wow ... I have to say ... I really dont have a dog in this fight. I have never watched Mr Beck or any of his colleagues, enemies, nemesis or any political pundit. They just dont matter unless you need someone to validate what you already think. Keith Olbermann is as bad as Sean Hannity is as bad as Maddow is ... well you get the drift. So I came at this book from the point of view that it was a novel and I don't care who wrote it. And I have to say .... this really isn't very good. I'm sorry if Glenn is your political hero but a fiction wirter he isn't. The characters are pretty poorly developed and the story has more holes than an Iraqi Highway. There were things I liked .... the basic story is pretty good ... but the concept that someone has been manipulating events is far from original. Still the way in which it's done is pretty original. Mostly I jut don't buy the characters who always seem to react in the perfect way whether it suits their character or not. I give it a 2 ... if you see the paperback on the used bookstire shelf in 3 years it's worth a go ... or a library copy. But it is in no way worth spending $20 on unless you just need it to fill out your Glenn Beck Shrine.

posted by BookPundit on June 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted June 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Not at all biased

    Wow ... I have to say ... I really dont have a dog in this fight. I have never watched Mr Beck or any of his colleagues, enemies, nemesis or any political pundit. They just dont matter unless you need someone to validate what you already think. Keith Olbermann is as bad as Sean Hannity is as bad as Maddow is ... well you get the drift. So I came at this book from the point of view that it was a novel and I don't care who wrote it. And I have to say .... this really isn't very good. I'm sorry if Glenn is your political hero but a fiction wirter he isn't. The characters are pretty poorly developed and the story has more holes than an Iraqi Highway. There were things I liked .... the basic story is pretty good ... but the concept that someone has been manipulating events is far from original. Still the way in which it's done is pretty original. Mostly I jut don't buy the characters who always seem to react in the perfect way whether it suits their character or not. I give it a 2 ... if you see the paperback on the used bookstire shelf in 3 years it's worth a go ... or a library copy. But it is in no way worth spending $20 on unless you just need it to fill out your Glenn Beck Shrine.

    20 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Skip the Book. Watch the TV Show.

    Let me make this review of Glenn Beck's The Overton Window short and sweet. Skip the book. Watch the TV show.
    All politics aside, The Overton Window is an amateurish attempt at a political thriller. Reading it had the feel of the Glenn Beck Show without the chalkboard.
    The nugget of the story is good. I would have loved it if Brad Thor, Vince Flynn, or David Baldacci had taken this story on. They would have developed the characters better and given us more action.
    For example, I'm glad to know that the giant hillbilly makes his own ammo and ghost writes revolutionary books at the safe house. I kept waiting for him to pop up and fire the first shot of the new revolution or something. Maybe he can ghost write the sequel. It can't be any worse than this.
    I like political thrillers. Most of the main authors in the genre know how to get the message across without it getting in the way of the story. Some do but choose not to. Like Richard North Patterson, whose books I stopped reading when he began using them to head-butt me with his politics.
    The Overton Window is like that. Beck's message is as subtle as a Chicago ward boss on election day.
    Do yourself a favor. If you want to get the message, watch Glenn Beck. If you want a good political thriller, Brad Thor has a new book out.

    19 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2010

    Disappointing

    The first two chapters promised an exciting political thriller.
    The rest of the book negated that promise.
    Beck had an exciting idea but wasn't able to develop characters and keep the plot moving.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2010

    BORING

    This has to be the most boring book I have ever read. I would not recommend this book to anyone. Unless you have a difficult time falling asleep.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2010

    This Book Isn't Very Good

    Beck fans may eat this book up like turkey on Thanksgiving day; but, as a person who doesn't watch Beck on a daily basis, I was very disappointed in this novel. The plot was interesting enough, albeit extremely unrealistic. It is, by far, the characters who kill this book. The characters behave in a manner that suggest their IQs change from 175 to 75 at a moment's notice; and their EQs are virtually non-existence. One example: the femme fetale's very close mother is murdered, and the femme fetale doesn't spend one second mourning. And, the main character is forced to roll out of a moving car because the aftermentioned femme fatale doesn't stop the vehicle; however, the main character somehow falls in love with the cold hearted shrew?!! Also, the dialect between the characters is often cringe-worthy. At one point, the main character asks the femme fatale to "hit him with some Thomas Payne". It seems Beck's love of Payne overtook his love of writing a novel with believable dialect there.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    Not well written; Not a great story

    I enjoy Glenn Beck, but I thought this story was stupid. I would not recommend it. The character development is weak, at best. The story is basically another of his conspiracy theories. I will not waste my time with the sequel, when it arrives. He should stick to non-fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2010

    Disappointed Beck fan. Mediocre thriller that steals from better books & films.

    Normally I love Beck's company's books. This book was horrible. The characters were cardboard cutouts randomly regurgitating Beck's monologues over the last year. The plot was trite, and several instances, Beck flat out took sections of other books and films and pasted them into his novel (i.e. a whole paragraph reads like a passage from Starwars... almost verbatim).

    The book tries so hard to be a mainstream book, but it's attempt to dumb-down complex social theories and political maneuvers really kill the flow.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4