Customer Reviews for

The Overton Window

Average Rating 3.5
( 698 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(266)

4 Star

(172)

3 Star

(116)

2 Star

(61)

1 Star

(83)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

60 out of 76 people found this review helpful.

domestic terrorist thriller novel

"the overton window" is a remarkable thriller by glenn beck in this novel he takes a look at possible situation were a radical group threatens a serious situation in the united states and in this very fasinating book the writer gives us a very detailed look into the lif...
"the overton window" is a remarkable thriller by glenn beck in this novel he takes a look at possible situation were a radical group threatens a serious situation in the united states and in this very fasinating book the writer gives us a very detailed look into the lifes of the politics and lifes of all sides of the groups involved this truly gives an inside account of many views on many sides of the issues. with glenn becks research and background there will be many charaters that will come to life and most likly be very familer to real people in the political arena. great gift idea for a friend or family member.

posted by storms1 on June 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

20 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

Not at all biased

Wow ... I have to say ... I really dont have a dog in this fight. I have never watched Mr Beck or any of his colleagues, enemies, nemesis or any political pundit. They just dont matter unless you need someone to validate what you already think. Keith Olbermann is as bad...
Wow ... I have to say ... I really dont have a dog in this fight. I have never watched Mr Beck or any of his colleagues, enemies, nemesis or any political pundit. They just dont matter unless you need someone to validate what you already think. Keith Olbermann is as bad as Sean Hannity is as bad as Maddow is ... well you get the drift. So I came at this book from the point of view that it was a novel and I don't care who wrote it. And I have to say .... this really isn't very good. I'm sorry if Glenn is your political hero but a fiction wirter he isn't. The characters are pretty poorly developed and the story has more holes than an Iraqi Highway. There were things I liked .... the basic story is pretty good ... but the concept that someone has been manipulating events is far from original. Still the way in which it's done is pretty original. Mostly I jut don't buy the characters who always seem to react in the perfect way whether it suits their character or not. I give it a 2 ... if you see the paperback on the used bookstire shelf in 3 years it's worth a go ... or a library copy. But it is in no way worth spending $20 on unless you just need it to fill out your Glenn Beck Shrine.

posted by BookPundit on June 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 116 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted June 22, 2010

    A Fun Guilty Pleasure

    Honestly, I enjoyed this book. Putting politics aside, I found it engaging enough that I read it in one sitting. Yes, there were plot holes, continuity issues, and the characters could not have been flatter (there is one attempt at a dynamic character, but it is predictable and not very skillfully done), but the action ensured that I didn't put the book down until it was finished. Within the first three chapters I was reminded of the "Left Behind" Series (which was also fraught with writing issues, but nonetheless held my interest). The right director could use this as the raw material for a great movie. Overall, a fun way to pass a summer afternoon.

    14 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2010

    Good novel. Not really anything new.

    I preferred "Patriots" by James Wesley Rawles. That is the real thing, written before it's time, but has the ability to predict what is happening now, and I think what is our future. Scary, but true.

    Also, "Alas, Babylon" and "Lucifer's Hammer".

    8 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    always good

    GB makes his usually great sense.

    7 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2010

    Meh...

    Bigger fan of Glenn Beck the TV / radio personality than this book. While a fairly compelling plot, at times it moves along fairly slowly. I think my biggest problem with it is that at some points it oozes cheesiness and camp. The plug for Beck's "Faith, Hope, Charity" campaign is an example of this, as well as the protagonist's romantic interest. It is well researched and strongly supported throughout. Beck has a fine team working for him, without a doubt.

    While I do espouse the beliefs of limiting government and keeping an eye open to its misbehavior and incompetence, and generally I agree with the author on numerous subjects of discourse, I think that novel-writing is not necessarily Beck's forte. He does better by letting facts speak for themselves... in cases such as these, truth does a better job than fiction at revealing how crazy we've let our country get.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Fast read

    Enjoyed Glenn Becks first fiction novel. I hope there is a sequel

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2010

    Not the best!

    Generally good, but the ending was a let down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An Obvious First Step Into Thriller Fiction

    I am big fan of Glenn Beck's non-fiction titles due to their excellent information and witty humor woven throughout. I was really looking forward to reading this book as I thought it would be a thrilling look into Glenn's paranoid (but too often correct) foresight into American society. After reading the book I was disappointed, perhaps because I had such high expectations, with the overall plot and the with the character development. That being said, THE OVERTON WINDOW reminded me (from a literary standpoint) of LIONS OF LUCERNE by Brad Thor - the idea was good but it was obviously his first plunge into the fictional thriller genre. Brad Thor's books dramatically improved after the first two and now Thor is one of my favorite fictional writers. I know that Glenn has a sequel planned for next year. I fully expect see the same improvements that I saw with Thor's books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2010

    Overton Window - Looking through Alice's looking glass - Is it real!

    A lot of Beck's story mirrors events that are occuring in today's America. Other than the nuclear mishap, the reader could easily feel they are living in present day America, where government officials are following their own private agendas and are no longer responsive to the wishes of the people. Excellent Plot!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2010

    RECOMMENDED

    This book scared me. Whare are we as a country heading?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Nice read. Predictable ... probably because I know his philosophy

    I did enjoy the book and it was predictable. Too short. It did not need to be a 'The Foutain Head' or 'Atlas Shrugged' style or length. But certainly, it could have been longer with more detail. Characters needed more character. Because it does matter.

    A detour here: Bought it as an ebook. Should have been 9.99. Ebooks can't be traded or resold. They may be loaned if you have a Nook. This has to change or prices need to come on down for ALL Ebooks. Surely, after a book has been on the market for a year or two the book could be sold or traded in for other books. I appologize to you readers out there for this rant.

    I figured the rant was more appropriate than those so called reviews by people who obviously did not read the book. And took this forum to write a critic of Glenn's philosophy. So sad that they do not have a philosophy of their own that does not end up with millions dead i.e. socialism, facisim, and communism.

    Thank you Glenn for a nice book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 116 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6