Customer Reviews for

The Overton Window

Average Rating 3.5
( 699 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(267)

4 Star

(172)

3 Star

(116)

2 Star

(61)

1 Star

(83)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

60 out of 76 people found this review helpful.

domestic terrorist thriller novel

"the overton window" is a remarkable thriller by glenn beck in this novel he takes a look at possible situation were a radical group threatens a serious situation in the united states and in this very fasinating book the writer gives us a very detailed look into the lif...
"the overton window" is a remarkable thriller by glenn beck in this novel he takes a look at possible situation were a radical group threatens a serious situation in the united states and in this very fasinating book the writer gives us a very detailed look into the lifes of the politics and lifes of all sides of the groups involved this truly gives an inside account of many views on many sides of the issues. with glenn becks research and background there will be many charaters that will come to life and most likly be very familer to real people in the political arena. great gift idea for a friend or family member.

posted by storms1 on June 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

20 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

Not at all biased

Wow ... I have to say ... I really dont have a dog in this fight. I have never watched Mr Beck or any of his colleagues, enemies, nemesis or any political pundit. They just dont matter unless you need someone to validate what you already think. Keith Olbermann is as bad...
Wow ... I have to say ... I really dont have a dog in this fight. I have never watched Mr Beck or any of his colleagues, enemies, nemesis or any political pundit. They just dont matter unless you need someone to validate what you already think. Keith Olbermann is as bad as Sean Hannity is as bad as Maddow is ... well you get the drift. So I came at this book from the point of view that it was a novel and I don't care who wrote it. And I have to say .... this really isn't very good. I'm sorry if Glenn is your political hero but a fiction wirter he isn't. The characters are pretty poorly developed and the story has more holes than an Iraqi Highway. There were things I liked .... the basic story is pretty good ... but the concept that someone has been manipulating events is far from original. Still the way in which it's done is pretty original. Mostly I jut don't buy the characters who always seem to react in the perfect way whether it suits their character or not. I give it a 2 ... if you see the paperback on the used bookstire shelf in 3 years it's worth a go ... or a library copy. But it is in no way worth spending $20 on unless you just need it to fill out your Glenn Beck Shrine.

posted by BookPundit on June 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 267 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 14
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    domestic terrorist thriller novel

    "the overton window" is a remarkable thriller by glenn beck in this novel he takes a look at possible situation were a radical group threatens a serious situation in the united states and in this very fasinating book the writer gives us a very detailed look into the lifes of the politics and lifes of all sides of the groups involved this truly gives an inside account of many views on many sides of the issues. with glenn becks research and background there will be many charaters that will come to life and most likly be very familer to real people in the political arena. great gift idea for a friend or family member.

    60 out of 76 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2010

    Glenn Beck does it again...

    This is a fictional read, but how could you go wrong with Beck?? As usual, he possesses the insight to see through today's political bull. Think he's crazy? Okay, you are entitled to your own opinion...don't buy his book. But either way please keep in mind that this is not meant to be some kind of exact prediction of America's future, just a warning, eloquently worded, to bring the danger to your attention. Keeping your head in the sand won't help our nation any. Try widening your horizons a bit, you might find that he wasn't so crazy after all.

    37 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2010

    The left will hate this book.

    This book will get negatively reviewed by the media. They won't read it, but they will hate it. If they took the time to actually read the book, they still might not like the book, but they could not slam the writing. This book is well worth the read.

    24 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2010

    Glad he's writing fiction too!

    This is a great book! I can only hope that it reaches some of those who won't listen unless they are "entertained." You know...the John Steward, View etc crowd. The ones who can't discuss a topic past the "bumper sticker" statement.

    16 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good

    This and Patriot are both really good books.. I was surprised how good this was. good "fiction-but based on some facts" book where the usa is on a path to economic destruction..

    11 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2010

    Glenn Beck has done it again!

    Another page turner! I purchased this for my E-reader on my i pod and LOVED it!!!!!! Glenn Beck is my hero!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    10 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2010

    Plot Thin but good Showcase for the ideas presented

    This book is worth a read. Glenn Beck attempts to answer the question - "What the Heck is going on with our Country?" He cites documents and references for people to investigate for themselves. Most intriguing is his use of Kipling's poem, "Gods of the CopyBook Headings" as a main pivot in his plot.

    The Synopsis is this - America, you need to wake up and pay attention to what is going on. Don't believe what people tell you, but check it out for yourself. As your rights are being eroded and the nation's mindset being changed, we could find ourselves enslaved because there is a group of people who believe the world will be a much better place if they were in charge and the little people were their subjects. They are determined to destroy the USA to bring that about and they don't care what they have to do to make it happen. What you see in the headlines can be far from the truth and each person must begin to question - Is this news report trying to manipulate me in to acting in a certain way?

    The only way to bring about change is if citizens inform themselves on the issues and make sure they get out and vote in elections.

    Definitely a read to make you think.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2010

    Great book. Very informative

    I found Glenn's latest book to be both thrilling and informative. His characters are strong. He could have spent more time on developing the plot, but it is intended to be an easy and quick read to appeal to the masses. Worth the read.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2010

    Amazing!

    It was hard for me to book this book down! It is full of great NON-FICTION "easter eggs" buried in the text. The storyline is very familiar, and I felt the main characters represent two factions of our nation. Beck did a wonderful job putting this together!

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2010

    Great read

    Had a difficult time putting it down, and sleeping after putting it down.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2010

    Great Read

    Interesting, thought provoking, well written, timely. I loved reading it on my "Nook" and will buy a hard cover edition for our library.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2010

    Excellent reading

    It was hard to believe that I wasn't reliving the 1960s and 70s. For a fictional book, this book has areas that are fact based and definitely not ones to be repeated. The story is easily read and attention getting. It can easily be read in a weekend.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2010

    The Overton Window is FABULOUS

    I myself am only 14 years old, but i am a HUGE fan of glenn beck, and i simply could not pull myself away from this book. It's defiantly a page turner, Epic, fascinating, and just amazing. one of my friends asked me to tell me about it, and, well, i couldn't, because it's all intertwined and connected. mysteries unravel and conflicts arise, and you will never stop reading this book until you finish it exactly from cover to cover.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Love Glenn Beck and his book!

    How can you not love this guy. Riveting thriller all with the Beck style! Very entertaining! It was a great read. Highly recommend this book! We included this book in our summer reading list of books as we recently visited the book store, a summer tradition, to gather up all of our pics for our summer reading list. This includes books for myself, my husband, kids and nieces and nephews. We also buy some books as birthday presents for others so they can join in on our discussions, like the aunts and uncles and grandparents. We have a mini book club where we discuss our books as we all read along. We all read several books so as the reading goes along there are a lot of books to review. The kids have found a wonderful book called, Smitty's Cave Adventures. They all love thrilling action-adventure books and this one is full of mystery and intrigue! From a parental point of view, Smitty's Cave Adventures also has a good moral overtone. Even the girls wanted to read this book and they all concluded that this is their favorite book so far!

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2010

    Fantastic and Possible reality

    This book is easy to read in a few short hours. The plot line is thrilling and interesting. True reality under present pergressive leadership. Look for Obama to decare a national emergency before his term ends or sooner. He and his pergressives want to be dictators.

    This book should be an entertaining must read for all. It would be burned if and when present leadership gets total controll.

    Dr. Warn conseratives

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    An intelligent read.

    This book totally blew me away. And ive already begun to share it with family members * Its scary acurate, its disturbing actually.. i couldnt sleep for a night. What is our country coming too. This harshly reminds us as citizens that our freedom is slowly being taken away from us right in front our eyes. ! Its sad that this book has been getting bad reviews over its author and overall story plot..! Anyway the real meat of the book for me was at the very end.. where glenn provides numerous websites and articles of that was said in the book actually took place !! He has it there For your personal investigation ( Dont just take his word, find out for yourself.. ) This is one eye opening book, that i will not take for granted.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great story that could be real!

    The plot was great and I liked the interplay of the characters. The story was compelling and I wanted to read more. This was a great book and I hope to see more from this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    A true must Read!

    It really gets you thinking. I could hardly wait to find out what happened next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2010

    Loved it!

    This book was awesome! I didn't want to put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    a must read

    excellent lead into the Eye of Moloch. very frightening considering the current "scandals', new regulations etc.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 267 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 14