Customer Reviews for

Owl Babies

Average Rating 4.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 5, 2014

    Wonderful Missing Mommy Story

    I bought this for my 2 year old granddaughter. She loved the baby owl and chimed in when the littlest owl said I want my mommy!. She too understands that Mommy will be back when she goes to work or on vacation. This book is a good reinforcement of that fact.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Great help for soon to go to preschool

    My 2.5 year old loves it, and it has prompted role playing of me taking her to pretend school and then swooping in to get her, a recommended activity from a friend.

    Very recommended, and conversation started to help prepare for preschool

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    Highly recommended

    Wonderful story and images! Parents and children alike love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2011

    Sweet story...

    This is a very sweet story with some good repetition. My 12 month old son enjoys it and likes looking at the pictures of the owls.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2011

    Excellent Read-aloud

    This is a favorite with children. It is an excellent read-aloud for shared reading. Children love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Adorable

    Three little owls do the best they can together until mom sows up again. Makes for an anxious time before the happy ending. A really adorable story and realistic character emotions. Your kids will enjoy this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    My son loves it and I like it also

    My son loves the story and gets very excited when owl mother returns. The illustrations are beautiful. A very nice piece of work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    I love this book.

    Sarah,Percy and Bill are adorable. This book is best when you give each baby its own voice. This book is perfect for the under five crowd who can relate to Bill "I want my Mommy!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2009

    Waiting for Mommy

    It is normal for children to feel scared when a parent/adult is not around. This is true when a child starts preschool. They are always wondering if mommy/daddy wil return. This book helps a child learn how 3 baby owls feell when their mommy leaves the nest in search for food. A wonderful book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2008

    Great Book

    I love this book. I gave this book to my nephew a few years ago and it quickly became a favorite of his. I now buy this book for any new moms as a shower gift.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2008

    Owl Babies is super awesome!

    Mr. Waddell is a great thinker and writer. 'OWL BABIES' taught us about writing. We learned not to put rising tension first and to have a soft beginning. Mr. Benson helped us draw far away and close up pictures. The little owlet Bill is a cutie. He sticks together with his brother and sister.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2008

    I want my mommy!

    This has to be one of my Kindergartners' favourite books each year! They will all chime in with little Bill, 'I want my mommy!' This is sa sweet book that is sure to please ANY person, big or small.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2007

    WONDERFUL book!

    This is one of my daughter's favorite books! (She's 3 1/2 years old) She absolutely loves the different expressions on the owls' faces and truly relates to the story. Funnily enough, As I pause between each page to let her take in the illustrations, she has taken to verbally reassuring the smallest owl, Bill, that his mother will in fact come back and that his sister and brother will protect him in the meantime. Reading this book to her always sets the stage for a wonderful bonding moment between us. From the mother's perspective, the story is simple, heartwarming, and it's a quick read (nice plus when I'm trying to speed up bedtime!!!).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2005

    Simple is best

    Here is a simple story about 3 baby owls worried about their mother. When they wake up to find her gone, Sarah and Percy have lots of questions. Where did she go? Will she come back? Bill has only one thing to say, 'I want my mommy,' and he says it over and over again. My 2-year-old son can relate to the story so well, and to hear him repeat Bill's words with such conviction is endearing. We first encountered Baby Owls on 'Onemorestory.com,' and I have since bought the book and even a baby owl to go with. I'm planning to give a copy to his daycare for newbies who are wondering if their mothers are coming back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2002

    A great book for many ages

    My 7 year old son read this book to me and loved so much we are buying it for his younger cousin!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2001

    Mother's always come back.

    This book is one of the best that I have ever found for my childcare program. It is a beautifully illustrated book that sends the message to young readers that there own mother will come back. We all can relate to the little owl Bill who wants his mommie. This is excellant!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2