Customer Reviews for

Own the Wind: A Chaos Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 220 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(140)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

It's good, but miss the long story.

I'm glad that KA tendency to describe rooms, kitchen and clothes in detail were severly edited in this book. But i miss the relationship details that so deepen the emotional level like her previous self published ones. I think that what makes her uniquely KA. Pub compa...
I'm glad that KA tendency to describe rooms, kitchen and clothes in detail were severly edited in this book. But i miss the relationship details that so deepen the emotional level like her previous self published ones. I think that what makes her uniquely KA. Pub company better be careful of editing too much of het story. As her reader i really want those details.

posted by Veen75 on April 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

What happened?

What happened to the KA I loved? He last two books have been a third in length and plot development. I hope this isn't going to become the norm!

posted by 2286160 on April 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 220 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    It's good, but miss the long story.

    I'm glad that KA tendency to describe rooms, kitchen and clothes in detail were severly edited in this book. But i miss the relationship details that so deepen the emotional level like her previous self published ones. I think that what makes her uniquely KA. Pub company better be careful of editing too much of het story. As her reader i really want those details.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Love KA ALWAYS!!

    Her heroines might drive me nuts sometimes, but her alpha males NEVER let me down! Can't wait for the rest of this series! And when do we get Elviras story!?!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Great new spinoff series,

    Hot, badass, alpha biker with troubled past changes his manwhore ways for the love of a woman with her own past heartache and who also happens to be the boss' daughter.

    Wish it was a little longer and less editted like KA's prior self published work, but this book is still far better than most other stuff out there by authors charging twice as much.

    You can read this as a standalone, but you're likely to get hooked and there are cameo appearances by favs from other series. I'm going to have to re-read the Rock Chick series after revisiting Fortnum's in this book :)

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    4

    Loved Shy and Tabby, as I knew I would. This book wasn't as exciting as Motorcycle Man, but it was still a great love story. In fact, this was probably one of the most tame books, romantically and adventure-wise for Ashley. I love that we continue to hear about all our favorite characters in each new book, though. And I love each and every bad ass and rock chick and biker babe from all of Ashley's books.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    KA favorite

    I loved this story. BUT, lets be real! Any book that brings me back to the Chaos Compound and Tack Allen is going to be a favorite for me. A few more scenes with Tack and Red would have been awesome. I thought that Shy was the perfect biker bad ass for Tabitha. Can't wait for more in this series as well as the finale for the Rock Chicks :)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Another success for KA

    Not my favorite KA book (like I could pick a fav) but TONS of fun! Missed Cherry n Kane. Great to get deeper in Chaos. Love the way KA writes, and her men make me feel. Watching Tabby grow up, I wished so much for her... dreamed a dream. Great book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    What happened?

    What happened to the KA I loved? He last two books have been a third in length and plot development. I hope this isn't going to become the norm!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Loved It

    I have been excitedly waiting for this book to release. I love KA's writing style. She keeps the words and emotions real. I never get bored with her characters and stories. Yeah, some reviewers have shared that this book was perhaps not as exciting as her others, but for me having read all of her previous books based on the characters in Denver it was great having them appear in this story (Elvira, Hawk, Lee, Mitch, Brock, Indy & Tex) even if it was just for a brief scene. I LOVED Shy and found it to be totally realistic & believable that after he witnessed the genuine love between Tabby & Jason where Shy spied Tabby looking beautiful standing on the sidewalk and as her boyfriend, Jason approached her, her facial epression filled with love and belonging floored Shy to his core so much so that he knew he would never find that deep connection and love for himself if he continued his manwhoring ways. It rocked him enough to see Tabby feeling that for another man that he knew he had to get his crap together. In short, this was a wonderful love story centered around a terrific cast of characters. Now I can't wait until Hop and Lanie's story comes out. And, I hope to god KA is planning on writing Rush's story too!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2013

    First time I have read this author but it won't be the last.  I

    First time I have read this author but it won't be the last.  I really loved the book - can't wait for the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Short but sweet.

    Loved the way KA brought Tab and Shy together. Different but short and really loved the cameos especially Elvira.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A lot of KA fans were worried about how this book would differ f

    A lot of KA fans were worried about how this book would differ from her self published books. Own the Wind is her first non-self published book. KA's writing style is magic and her books are addictive. She sucks me into each world she writes about every time with her special magic writing powers. In my humble opinion I think KA's writing style, still rock balls and kick ninja butts. Was it perfect? No! But it was near darn perfect for me. Yea, I miss the epically long books and I miss some of the girlfriend chatting moments but none of these for me, took away from how awesome this book still was. She still delivered on all the things that I needed to love her books.

    She gave me the alpha hero, Shy. Shy, oh shy...how I love thee! You are so a mini Tack. We didn't know much about his character going into this book, except that he was a major man-whore to the 10th power. I wasn't sure how KA was going to make me believe that Shy would drop his man whore ways, to just give his magic stick loving to just one special gal. I had nothing to worry about because again, KA made a believer out of me. I love the way Shy loved Tabby. The things that came out of that boys mouth had me in a puddle. His bossy alpha side had me wanting to drop down and give it to him! And Tabby..yea love that girl. She so sweet but at the same time holds her own and will go toe to toe with Shy when it's needed. I loved watching her come into her own. Favorite scene in the book was her going toe to toe with her step-mom, Tyra and the Chaos boys. Made me tear up for Tabby and Shy, during that scene.

    One of the things that I love about KA's writing is I feel like she allows us to watch the couple grow together. You are on that journey with them. She delivers this in Own the Wind again. I adored watching the two, fall in love. KA still manages to throw in the little things that make you swoon over the story of the couple. The foil wrapper ball...so love that. I really enjoyed the fact that these two were friends and each others support system before they became lovers. It was the foundation and what made me believe that Shy in all is whore ways could give it all up for that one girl. And once these two love...there is no holding back for either. They are the rock for each other. They have each others back and it was a beautiful. And the sexing was yummy. It was filled with hot smoking and sweet poignant moments that makes a girl sigh.

    Fans will be happy to hear that we get, lots of yummy Tack in this book. Tack and Shy's come to Jesus moment was great. Love how Shy gave it to Tack on how it is with his and Tabby's relationship. I was in Chaos heaven when we got glimpses of one new recruit (Joker) and getting page time with some of the other Chaos members. One new character also stole the show for me. Can we say Landon? I hope KA finds a way to somehow fit this boy somewhere in her world and give us his story.

    To wrap this up...I freaking loved this book. I cannot wait for the next book in the series. If you haven't discovered this author yet...now you've been ed-u-macated. This book stands alone very well without reading Motorcycle Man, but I would still recommend you read that book first. I say this only because I think you'll get more enjoyment. You'll get the full affect of the motorcycle club.

    Note: Own the Wind picks up about three years later from Motorcycle Man. Tabby is nineteen and Shy is twenty-four at the start of Own the Wind. Also on a side note..seriously this title cracks me the fudge up. Makes me think of breaking wind...anywhoo...anyone else think that?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Adorable

    Kristen Ashley's other books are way better. It kinda reminded me of a YA book. It was okay but nothing spectacular. Hop and Lanie sounds so mych better and interedting. Shes still a favorite of mines

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This was a new type of book for me. I had not read a romance cen

    This was a new type of book for me. I had not read a romance centered around a motorcycle club before. I happy to see that this particular club wasn't into drugs and weapons - but they were still willing to take care of business in their own way. I also know very little about this culture outside of the 4 episodes of Sons of Anarchy I watched one week. 




    Tabitha is the daughter of the leader of Chaos, which means she's off limits as a girlfriend (or old lady I guess they're called). She wanted to live her own life and maker her own decisions, and she wasn't afraid to step up and just do it. Shy was a very good bad boy. He was tough, took care of business no matter what, and would do anything to protect his own. I really loved both of these characters. While both grew up in the tough life style, they each had a softer side that made them so loveable. 




    There were two things that made this difficult to read until I was used to it. The first, was the time jumps. The beginning of the story introduces the character's history as a series of short stories almost. Each one divided by a time frame that had passed. Some of these were very very short and the jumping was not something I overly enjoyed. It made me think of watching the beginning of a movie on fast forward to catch up on the highlights. Once I got through that section and realized how much history there was to tell, I also realized that was probably the best way to share their history without a lot of flashbacks or remembering scenes. It just wasn't my favorite part of the book. 




    The second thing that was hard for me at first was the dialect and lingo the characters used. It seemed to be spot on (using my limited experience), it just took awhile to get used to. 




    This was a great introduction to the series and the club. I was able to get to know several of the other members through this story and I look forward to getting to know them better in future books. 




    *This book was received in exchange for an honest review* 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2014

    not my cup of tea

    book was written well,but I didn't realize it was a biker club book. Good read, but I won't re-read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2014

    Mable

    "Dipper?" She said and looked around

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2014

    Pacifica

    Hey

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2014

    Love

    Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2014

    Soos

    Cool dudes

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2014

    Tyrone

    Shrugged. "Just super bored."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2014

    TO ALL

    Anyone may now be mabel i am quiting thx bye.....mabel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 220 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11