Customer Reviews for

P Is for Peril (Kinsey Millhone Series #16)

Average Rating 3.5
( 103 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Ending?

What ending???????? Thought part of the book didnt download. Weird....

posted by mayasmommy on September 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Did not like the way the book ended

When I read the ebook, I thought the end of the book was missing. I had to borrow the audio book from the library to realize that is the way it ended. It made a little more sense to me when I listened to it. Like other reviewers, I really missed the epilogue.

posted by poodlemomOK on August 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    This book was very disappointing. There was no ending. I kept lo

    This book was very disappointing. There was no ending. I kept looking for closure. I read from A to P and afraid to go on to the next book, but I read Q and just finished R . The rest of the series was great. I hope S has an ending to it. Do not understand why there is no ending to P is for Peril. What happened sure would like to know.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2004

    what the heck was this?

    This was one of the most scattered books I have read in my life. Too many uninteresting details, and the story goes off in too many directions that didn't grab my attention. So boring! I found myself daydreaming throughout the book about what a miracle it would be to actually finish this one and begin one that I could really enjoy. This book was a struggler.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    A little disappointing

    I thought i got gypped out of the ending. I think next time I'll save my money and get it from the library. It deserves more than one star but there were so many bogus 5 star ratings, I thought I'd balance it out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2002

    P is for Palling

    Just plain boring. I can't stand when an author includes so many inessential details in hopes of bringing life to their writing only to lose the reader's interest. Not a page turner at all. In fact, I was left wondering why it took so many pages to tell such a dull story. Were the endless descriptions of minor characters' homes and clothing supposed to make me want to read on? The story line about the 2 brothers was just ridiculous. Another way to fill up more pages, i guess. Other reviewers mentioned that they werent quite sure who the killer was.Who cares? To me, the big mystery is who put this book on the NY Times Best Seller list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2001

    Should be named 'P is for Pathetic'

    I have been a fan of the Sue Grafton series for years. I have faithfully read each of the books about Ms Milhone, since discovering them about the time of the 'E' or 'F'. The last few have been declining in quality at a depressingly rate of speed. However, ANY rate of speed is better than the plot of 'P is for Peril'. It slogs along at a snail's pace. I couldn't even see what direction it was headed until page 150 or so. Usually Grafton's books are carried along by Henry and Rosie and the other quirky supporting characters. Here they are only a distraction. But distraction is good, when there is nothing else happening. There are no characters I cared about here. There is such an absence of plot, rather than wondering 'whodunit?', I found myself wondering why Grafton has choosen to keep Kinsey stuck back in the 80's? What's up with the 80's anyway? Are we supposed to feel nostalgic or what? In short, if a reader were unexposed to any previous Grafton, and started reading the series with 'P is for Peril' that reader would never, ever say 'Oh Boy! I'm going back and start reading this series, starting with 'A is for Alibi.' They just wouldn't bother. Let's face it. Grafton phoned this one in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2001

    'P is for Pathetic' Hits It Right on the Nose!!!

    I have never been more disappointed in any book!! The ending left me wondering where the last 50 or so pages were. It appears that time was up for this book..That's it. Had to get something for an ending, and Boy 'o Boy did it ever come out of left field. Really a disappointment!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1