BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

PHP and MySQL Web Development

Average Rating 4.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2004

    scads of example applications

    In open source usage, the book describes a powerful and popular combination of PHP and MySQL to build websites. Each program has several texts devoted solely to it. But it is in the interaction between the two that often developers need assistance on. The book does start with chapters exclusively on explaining PHP, and other chapters on MySQL. In themselves, you might find these to be concise and useful explanations. But the meat of the book is given in several chapters, where each chapter is devoted to making one common application. Like constructing a shopping cart. Or a Web-based email service. These are things that you have surely experienced as a user. Now you get to see how to code them in PHP and MySQL. Which explains some of the book's size. There are 10 chapters in this section. Enough to give you plenty of examples to draw ideas from.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2003

    Excellent, Excellent, Excellent

    This book is one of the first programming books I have read cover to cover that didn't leave gaping holes in code and provided end to end examples of how to write good PHP. The only thing this book lacked was the inane amount redundancy that comes with may programming manuals, thanks. You can be just starting out or looking for advances techniques and they are all there. Great read and great desk reference.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2003

    Decent

    It adequately covers PHP, MySQL, and web programming. Many of the chapters are straight forward and brief. Before jumping into this book, it wouldn't hurt to have a basic understanding of relational database systems, html, and a C or Java-like programming language. If you are already familiar with many of these things, you'll find everything you need for working with PHP and MySQL. The book lacks a section on cascading style sheets. Style sheets were used in one or two examples, but I don't think they were explained. Over all it's a pretty decent book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2002

    Mediocre functional guide. Terrible reference

    I bought this book because it's focused on real applications and includes lots of code. I like that it comes with a working shopping cart app. Unfortunately, it doesn't explain some fundamental concepts used in the code, which left me frustrated searching the internet for answers. Not something I should have to do after spending $40 on a book. Also, the index is pathetic. There are some basic functions not listed. Do yourself a favor - spend the extra 10 bucks and get a programming bible you'll be able to refer to later.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2003

    yet another good book by Sams

    Excellent, down to the bone with examples, and explainations. I would recommend to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2002

    Speechless

    This book was absolutely perfect. I am new to databases and E-commerce. I was almost afraid to pay the price for this book, thinking that it would be written in Greek like all of the other books I've purchased on the subject. It was easy to read and VERY EASY to understand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2002

    I've never purchased a better programming book

    I purchased this book to aide in a college project that I was working on. I was assigned to handle the PHP aspects of the project and make it interface with a MySQL database (I had never worked with PHP or MySQL before). This book proved to be the most informative, easiest to follow, and had the best examples of any other computer related book I have ever purchased. The text is VERY easy to follow!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2001

    GET THIS BOOK NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Great book. You have to weed through alot of books (wrox) to get to quality. <P> this book has a lot of great information on how to do things not things the author wants to do. It's great book for someone who is starting out in both PHP and mySQL but has more advanced things too. <P> Most books are written like the author assumes you know everything and is sketchy on things. when you are learning it helps to have some guidance. it comes with a cdrom of the book and apache,mysql and php binaries.You can't go wrong with this book. Hopefully more books like this one will be produced. <P>thanks to the authors, they gave it some thought before putting out the same old stuff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2001

    Don't blame the typos on the authors.

    I¿ve come to expect this from SAMS published works, but I¿ll say it anyway. The editing is absolutely atrocious, even in the first few chapters. (I usually find that errors creep in more frequently toward the middle and end of a book.) Nonetheless, it¿s made a great tutorial and the practicality of the examples is refreshing. Another pleasing aspect of PHP and MySQL Web Development is that it doesn't JUST give you real world applications--it explains them, how to modify them, and how to draft those concepts covered into your own projects. This is an excellent and exhaustive coverage of PHP and MySQL that is accessible to anyone with web development or programming experience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2001

    Great book despite the sloppy editing.

    I agree with other reviews that bemoan the needlessly careless editing of this book. Despite this, the book is an excellent overview of PHP and MySQL with great examples of using these tools in practice. Hopefully, the second edition will have the errors and omissions corrected. (Hey, maybe Sams should give all of us that bought the sloppy first edition a free upgrade!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2001

    It's true this book does Rock

    To be more percise however, this book not only taught me how to program in perl quickly but it simultanously taught me how to access and manipulate MySQL with examples that were so easy to translate into programs that solved my own personal needs. This book is a must have provided your server administrator will allow PHP on the server!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2000

    This book rocks

    This is a good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1