BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Mass Effect: Revelation

Average Rating 4.5
( 226 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(121)

4 Star

(73)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic

This book I read after i played and beat the first mass effect game. So many questions were left after the game, i didn't know if they would ever answer them. This book answers the questions about captain Anderson and us well written to keep your attention. I would rec...
This book I read after i played and beat the first mass effect game. So many questions were left after the game, i didn't know if they would ever answer them. This book answers the questions about captain Anderson and us well written to keep your attention. I would reccommend that people play the game first as much is assumed information you simply will not fully appreciate without the first game. Other than theending feeling rushed it was one of the better books I have read.

posted by AldenteJH on July 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Not Flawless, Indeed.

This book has some things to love and hate.

Video gamers rejoice! Finally a prequel novel to a video game release that actually feels like part of the video game. In this book you'll find out about the past of some choice characters and learn a lot more about the va...
This book has some things to love and hate.

Video gamers rejoice! Finally a prequel novel to a video game release that actually feels like part of the video game. In this book you'll find out about the past of some choice characters and learn a lot more about the various races involved. Believe it or not, Saren wasn't always completely evil.

I'll say it now: this is NOT for the die-hard SciFi reader. The writing feels amateur at times and the chapters can get a little logged down with dialog. This is definitely a title for fans of the video game who wish to immerse themselves deeper into the world of Mass Effect. Revelation fills in quite a few gaps and whne the action hits... it hits HARD!

Very descriptive, sometimes painfully so. But trust me, Gamers, it is worth the read. It is written by the same person who wrote the storyline of the video game... and we all know how purely awesome the video game/story was. Check it out.

posted by J-Efaw_BNEmployee on May 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 228 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted May 12, 2010

    Not Flawless, Indeed.

    This book has some things to love and hate.

    Video gamers rejoice! Finally a prequel novel to a video game release that actually feels like part of the video game. In this book you'll find out about the past of some choice characters and learn a lot more about the various races involved. Believe it or not, Saren wasn't always completely evil.

    I'll say it now: this is NOT for the die-hard SciFi reader. The writing feels amateur at times and the chapters can get a little logged down with dialog. This is definitely a title for fans of the video game who wish to immerse themselves deeper into the world of Mass Effect. Revelation fills in quite a few gaps and whne the action hits... it hits HARD!

    Very descriptive, sometimes painfully so. But trust me, Gamers, it is worth the read. It is written by the same person who wrote the storyline of the video game... and we all know how purely awesome the video game/story was. Check it out.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic

    This book I read after i played and beat the first mass effect game. So many questions were left after the game, i didn't know if they would ever answer them. This book answers the questions about captain Anderson and us well written to keep your attention. I would reccommend that people play the game first as much is assumed information you simply will not fully appreciate without the first game. Other than theending feeling rushed it was one of the better books I have read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2010

    Great book.

    This is a must read if you really want to understand a lot of the back-story of the Mass Effect universe. Though I wouldn't recommend reading it if you've never played the game, as the author doesn't really give detailed descriptions of places, other alien races and some characters, and the only way to really know what these things or characters look like is to play the games first. Overall, a very well written book, the action feels authentic and draws you in. I couldn't put it down till I was finished.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    Start your Mass Effect adventure!

    Mass Effect is one of the best story-driven games ever made so it is a delight to delve deeper into the background of it's universe with the novels. Unlike a lot of spin-off novels, Revelation, and its sequels, are authored by the same person who wrote the story for the game, so the intimate familiarity with the background makes for a smoother read. The writing is solid, engaging, and light - perfect for reading during your commute, before going to bed, or just relaxing on a Sunday afternoon. I highly recommend this book for sci-fi fans and Mass Effect players alike.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    A decently enjoyable read, though strictly for fans of the game

    I found this book shortly after finishing the first game and purchased it after learning the plot focuses on the backstory of Saren, and how David Anderson came to meet him.

    Right off the bat I appreciated how this book is by no means required reading to understand any elements of the game. However, I get the feeling while reading it that playing the game is required to really get into the book. A good example of this is the large amount of info dumps sprinkled liberally throughout the story. While I adore worldbuilding and readily wolfed down the universe expansion these gave, I definitely see how they could weigh the book down substantially. Not to mention the inconsistencies to the game this book has become quasi-infamous for in the fandom.

    In short, if you love Mass Effect, definitely give it a spin! If not, this is probably one to skip, or play the game first.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Great bit of Mass Effect fiction.

    If you loved the universe, characters and story of mass effect , the you will love this book. It gives so much context and background for the events of the first game, that it makes me wonder how some of this didn't make it into the game. Beyond the great universe building, this novel is fairly well written and does a great job sucking you in. Sure, there isn't much depth or subtext that needs to be figured out, but that didn't detract from my enjoyment of the story. Even if you're not a fan of rhe video game, this book is a solid science fiction tale that is worth a read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    Great book for any ME fan!

    The title says it all. Check this book out if you're a fan of Mass Effect or sci-fi at all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Science Fiction book

    Muy buena novela que precede el primer juego Mass Effect. Te introduce algunos personajes que aparecen en el video juego de Boiware. La historia transcurre varios años antes a los acontecimientos del primer juego.
    Es una magnifica forma de ampliar el mundo creado por Bioware para la saga de juegos de Mass Effect.
    Recomendable para todos aquellos que quieren saber más de ese universo creado alrededor del comandante Shepard.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2014

    Based on the game

    The game and the book can stand alone, but make more sense if you've played the game

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Amazing

    The book was very well written and a easy read. Its great if you're a hardcocre Mass Effect fan or just getting into the series. It answers a lot of questions from the first game. I highly reccomend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Great for fans of the series!

    This book does a phenomenal job of filling in a little back story provided in the first Mass Effect video game. The story of Saren and Anderson, that is hinted go in the game, is markedly expounded upon in greater detail. Fun, quick, easy read that is a must have for any fans of the Mass Effect series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Video gamer & not much into reading but...

    I am a big Mass Effect fan of the trilogy PS3 games and reading this is a real treat . It's has intense and gruesome moments that take me back to the video game and I think why wasn't the game that graphic. All sci-fi fans and fans of investigation mystery novels as well as Gamers Mass Effect fans or not , should and must read these novels .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    Revelation is a "Pre-quel" of sorts to Mass Effect. Ga

    Revelation is a "Pre-quel" of sorts to Mass Effect. Gamers and Sci-fi enthusiasts alike will love diving into the Mass Effect stories depicted by the talent of Drew Karpyshyn. This story ties the First Mass Effect events in great detail and will leave you sweating with excitement. You'll be cheering, yelling, and holding your breath the whole way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    Just started havent finish but i love the book show far..

    I have only played a mini ipod version but it was awesome...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Love the video game series cant wait to read the book

    Amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    .

    .

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2012

    Really told the story of how Kahlee and Anderson met and also ho

    Really told the story of how Kahlee and Anderson met and also how Anderson and Saren first come across each other. It also helped me understand why Saren was so hell bent on what he was doing in the first Mass Effect game.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2012

    Strongly Recommended

    Very well written. More than helps provide the answers to the back story of not just Saren and Anderson, but humanity's position in the galaxy. A must read for not just battled hardened fans but new comers to the Mass Effect universe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Poop on allllooooollllllllllooooollllooollllo

    Hi

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Epic

    Awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 228 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12