BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Mass Effect: Revelation

Average Rating 4.5
( 226 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(121)

4 Star

(73)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic

This book I read after i played and beat the first mass effect game. So many questions were left after the game, i didn't know if they would ever answer them. This book answers the questions about captain Anderson and us well written to keep your attention. I would rec...
This book I read after i played and beat the first mass effect game. So many questions were left after the game, i didn't know if they would ever answer them. This book answers the questions about captain Anderson and us well written to keep your attention. I would reccommend that people play the game first as much is assumed information you simply will not fully appreciate without the first game. Other than theending feeling rushed it was one of the better books I have read.

posted by AldenteJH on July 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Not Flawless, Indeed.

This book has some things to love and hate.

Video gamers rejoice! Finally a prequel novel to a video game release that actually feels like part of the video game. In this book you'll find out about the past of some choice characters and learn a lot more about the va...
This book has some things to love and hate.

Video gamers rejoice! Finally a prequel novel to a video game release that actually feels like part of the video game. In this book you'll find out about the past of some choice characters and learn a lot more about the various races involved. Believe it or not, Saren wasn't always completely evil.

I'll say it now: this is NOT for the die-hard SciFi reader. The writing feels amateur at times and the chapters can get a little logged down with dialog. This is definitely a title for fans of the video game who wish to immerse themselves deeper into the world of Mass Effect. Revelation fills in quite a few gaps and whne the action hits... it hits HARD!

Very descriptive, sometimes painfully so. But trust me, Gamers, it is worth the read. It is written by the same person who wrote the storyline of the video game... and we all know how purely awesome the video game/story was. Check it out.

posted by J-Efaw_BNEmployee on May 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted December 20, 2010

    Great book.

    This is a must read if you really want to understand a lot of the back-story of the Mass Effect universe. Though I wouldn't recommend reading it if you've never played the game, as the author doesn't really give detailed descriptions of places, other alien races and some characters, and the only way to really know what these things or characters look like is to play the games first. Overall, a very well written book, the action feels authentic and draws you in. I couldn't put it down till I was finished.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Science Fiction book

    Muy buena novela que precede el primer juego Mass Effect. Te introduce algunos personajes que aparecen en el video juego de Boiware. La historia transcurre varios años antes a los acontecimientos del primer juego.
    Es una magnifica forma de ampliar el mundo creado por Bioware para la saga de juegos de Mass Effect.
    Recomendable para todos aquellos que quieren saber más de ese universo creado alrededor del comandante Shepard.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Great for fans of the series!

    This book does a phenomenal job of filling in a little back story provided in the first Mass Effect video game. The story of Saren and Anderson, that is hinted go in the game, is markedly expounded upon in greater detail. Fun, quick, easy read that is a must have for any fans of the Mass Effect series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    Just started havent finish but i love the book show far..

    I have only played a mini ipod version but it was awesome...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    .

    .

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2012

    Strongly Recommended

    Very well written. More than helps provide the answers to the back story of not just Saren and Anderson, but humanity's position in the galaxy. A must read for not just battled hardened fans but new comers to the Mass Effect universe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Looks wierd

    Kggdj

    0 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2010

    So great, awesome game companion.

    I played the first Mass Effect game years ago, in fact, I also beat Mass Effect 2. I knew of the existance of these books, but never was really interested in them as I am not a huge Sci-Fi fan. I wish I would have given them a chance a long time ago because they are great. As a Sci-Fi fan, you will probably only Meh these books, but if you are a fan of the games, then you will devour this book. It gives a great look into two very important, character in the ME universe, Saren and Lt Anderson. Saren gets alot of spotlight in ME 1, but Anderson only has a few scenes, and these books really help nyou understand him more. Must Read for Mass Effect Fans

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Must Read for Mass Effect Gamers

    This book fills in some of the backstory for the first game and sets up the character background for the next book which is a must read for the 2nd Mass Effect game. If you're a fan of the series, reading these books in order with the game will be worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    great prequal to the game...

    great prequal to the game... fills in some plot holes from the game

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    Fans of the game

    If your a fan of the game then this is an excelent book as a follow up. Set in the same universe it doesn't bring back your favorite characters but expands on the universe. Gives some good details about the settings behind the game. Well writen overall but is mostly for the fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2008

    great prequel

    This book was very interesting, I had never played the game before and thought the book captured me very quickly. I read it quickly and bought the game afterwards, a big jump in time between this book and the game which is why I'll be reading the other novels of this world as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2007

    a suspenseful follow-up to an award wining video game

    Drew has created a spectacular new vision of the future. Everything is explained in his amazing universe to the point of realism. A great read for gamers who can't wait to get their hands on the game coming this fall. It's not the best Sci-Fi novel i have read, but it is most definatly entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2007

    Can't Wait For the Game

    I don't Like to read much, i prefer video games.. While i wait for the game to come out this book was a good read, i was addicted to reading it i finished in three days, overall it's a good book but there are some grammatical errors which is way i gave it 4...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4