Customer Reviews for

PS, I Love You

Average Rating 4.5
( 453 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(276)

4 Star

(104)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

As good if not better than the movie!!

Most of the time I read the book before I see the movie. This time I saw the movie first and loved it so much that my husband bought me the book. I was surprised when I started reading it that it is not very much like the movie at all, which usually upsets me, but thi...
Most of the time I read the book before I see the movie. This time I saw the movie first and loved it so much that my husband bought me the book. I was surprised when I started reading it that it is not very much like the movie at all, which usually upsets me, but this time I was really surprised that I enjoyed it a lot. I think it is a different story but as good if not better than the movie. I loved it!!!

posted by chums22 on October 21, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Sorry, the one book that wasn't as good as the movie...

Although I liked the book, it was definitely a consistent feeling throughout that you were just being told what was happening within the different scenes, not just reading, feeling, and experiencing it, as you would through other novels. There were so many startling pla...
Although I liked the book, it was definitely a consistent feeling throughout that you were just being told what was happening within the different scenes, not just reading, feeling, and experiencing it, as you would through other novels. There were so many startling places throughout in which things seemed out of place, and the point of view switched so quickly at one point, that it was noticeable. The best moments, though, were the descriptions of emotions that Holly was feeling over losing Gerry, and it was touching. Overall, I was disappointed in this book, and thought the movie was much better, but although I haven't read this author's latest books, I have a feeling that her stories will continue to get better, so I will definitely give her another chance.

posted by NatalieTahoe on August 31, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 453 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 23
  • Posted October 21, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    As good if not better than the movie!!

    Most of the time I read the book before I see the movie. This time I saw the movie first and loved it so much that my husband bought me the book. I was surprised when I started reading it that it is not very much like the movie at all, which usually upsets me, but this time I was really surprised that I enjoyed it a lot. I think it is a different story but as good if not better than the movie. I loved it!!!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2008

    AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I really enjoyed reading this book. When I saw it at the bookstore I was attracted by the book cover and the title. I took it home started reading and couldn't put it down, yet didn't want it to end either. I laughed and cried while reading this book. It even helped me get through some matters in my own life. It's a wonderful and enjoyable read, I recommended it to all my friends and I recommend to anyone that loves a true to life romantic story, rather than a fairy tale......I totally give it more than 5 stars...

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2008

    Wonderful Story about Love, Loss, and Learning to Live Again

    This book was wonderful. I wasn't sure what to expect, but I loved it. I laughed, I cried, and I couldn't put it down. I passed it along to my Mother and Sister and they both loved it too. This book is a definite 'must read' for everyone.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2011

    Good read

    Very good book! Cecelia portrayed her characters great. I would recommend this book to anyone

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved this book!

    I will admit that I wasnt thrilled with how whiney the main character was but overall I was pulled into so many different emotions laughed and teared too many times to not give this book a five star... I read the book and then watched the movie and HATED the movie compared to the book...the book is the original, not the movie and i couldnt stand how they conveyed Daniel in the movie...At times it was slow especially in the begining but then it got so good i didnt want the book to end!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2011

    Must read!!!

    Once you start reading this book, you will not put it down. I read it in one week. I would've finished it earlier if it wasn't for work lol. You will not regret it!!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Sorry, the one book that wasn't as good as the movie...

    Although I liked the book, it was definitely a consistent feeling throughout that you were just being told what was happening within the different scenes, not just reading, feeling, and experiencing it, as you would through other novels. There were so many startling places throughout in which things seemed out of place, and the point of view switched so quickly at one point, that it was noticeable. The best moments, though, were the descriptions of emotions that Holly was feeling over losing Gerry, and it was touching. Overall, I was disappointed in this book, and thought the movie was much better, but although I haven't read this author's latest books, I have a feeling that her stories will continue to get better, so I will definitely give her another chance.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    PS I Love You

    from Murphy's Library

    If you've read some of my reviews you already know I don't deal okay with stories where people die and we see how the people this people loved go on. I know, life goes on, I know, we must move on because there are other people who need us here. I know all the sayings when it's about losing someone you love, because it's something close to my heart-well, that's life, right?

    I've never watched the movie PS, I Love You. Truth be told, I've watched its first 15 minutes countless times-but every time I had something else to do that didn't let me stay in front of the TV to finish watching it. Nowadays I'm glad I didn't, because it would had spoiled this beautiful story.

    I drove myself into an angst reading phase. As I've said on my Twenty Boy Summer review, it all started with Ballads of Suburbia, it kinda gave me strenght to finally read some of the books I was wanting for a while, but couldn't put myself together to do it. PS, I Love You was on this list, and I must say it's neck to neck with Ballads of Suburbia, I can't decide which one has touched me the most.

    On this beautiful story by Cecelia Ahern we see Holly, a woman who's just lost her husband after painful months fighting against brain cancer. She's trying to put herself together, picking up the little pieces that has left from her, when her mother says there's an envelope addressed to her-and when Holly asks who sent it, her mother has no idea, all she knows is that there's something else written on the envelope: The List. Before finding he was ill, Gerry used to joke he'd left Holly a list of things to do after his death, and Holly is in shock when she finds out he did it. After all, it was supposed to be just a joke.

    It turns out that Gerry was serious about it, and he left her 10 notes, each one should be read on a month after Gerry's passing. Holly has already missed one of them, so when she has two to read, March and April. Through the notes, Gerry helps Holly to cope with her lost, bringing her tons of memories from all the years they've been together. With the help of her family and friends-I loved Ciara!-, she tries to follow Gerry's instructions.

    There's not a lot more I can talk about this book without spoiling the story. PS, I Love You is about moving on without forgetting all that you've lived with the person you love so much but isn't phisically around you anymore. It's an emotional journey that brought me tons of tears, tons of laughs, and shook my world. This may not be your cup of tea if you don't like cliché dramas, and it may be the kind of book you need to prepare yourself before starting reading, but I saw myself reading it slowly, wishing it would last longer.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Very Touching...

    This was a very well-written book. It made me cry and then made me laugh out loud while the tears were still streaming down my face in the next line. The characters were not perfect, they were flawed and realistic. A very real look at how people deal with grief.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2008

    Amazing Book!!!

    This book is a must read! Enough said.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2008

    i LOVED this book

    usually in books you have some boriung spots this book had NONE. i enjoyed reading Holly's journey without her husband. inspiring book showing you there's 'life after his death'

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Lizzy

    Omg i loved it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2011

    Good read

    This is a good read, but be prepared to cry....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    Endearing

    The movie is cute and romantic but the book is always better. Holly and Gerry take you on a journey even when one is no longer living. Highly recomended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2011

    Favorite

    This is one of my tops. Wonderful read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2011

    Beautiful Book!

    This book was fantastic! I cried and laughed out loud. So wonderful!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    Great Read! Highly Recommend!

    Wonderful book! It is well written bringing the reader through the roller coaster of emotions that the main character; Holly is feeling during her recovery from the death of her beloved husband. Both a comedy and a tragedy I recommend this book highly. The only thing to complain about is that the end of it did not live up to my expectations compared to the rest of the book. Overall this book is a wonderful find and I highly recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2010

    Extremely predictable (Semi spoilers!)

    While I think the idea of this book, Holly following letters of her deceased husband, was a very good idea, I don't feel like the author explored the idea enough. She easily could have made it more deep, and thoughtful but it felt like a very 'on the surface' type of writing.
    I thought the book was SOOO predictable, I could have told you everything that was going to happen from beginning to end. The only part that slightly raised my eyebrows was when Daniel got back together with Laura, but not that surprising. I literally rolled my eyes at the very end when Holly meets that guy at the shop.
    I have yet to see the movie but I hear it is much different from the book and I really want to watch it, maybe I'll have better luck with the movie!
    I would not recommend this book to anyone unless they were very bored and had nothing else to read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    Gerry & Holly

    If you have seen the movie and have now decided to read the book, I must warn you that the book if very different from the movie. Some of the things that are the same are: Gerry dying of a brain tumor and him leaving letters for Holly to follow after his passing. I know you will enjoy it as I did. Not once did the movie come to mind when I ran across a difference. I guess before I began reading I told myself that the book came before the movie, so there would be differences. This book will make you laugh, cry, and have you do a little bit of soul-searching.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    PICK IT UP AND TAKE IT HOME!

    Wonderful book that really played on all of the emotions! One minute I was crying the next laughing only to cry again. To me, any book that can make you laugh or cry, is an amazing book because that means you can connect with the characters and it is writen well.

    The movie was a big disappointment so please do not base the book on the movie. They changed so much of the book for the movie, things that where too important.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 453 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 23