Customer Reviews for

PS, I Love You: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 457 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(279)

4 Star

(105)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

As good if not better than the movie!!

Most of the time I read the book before I see the movie. This time I saw the movie first and loved it so much that my husband bought me the book. I was surprised when I started reading it that it is not very much like the movie at all, which usually upsets me, but thi...
Most of the time I read the book before I see the movie. This time I saw the movie first and loved it so much that my husband bought me the book. I was surprised when I started reading it that it is not very much like the movie at all, which usually upsets me, but this time I was really surprised that I enjoyed it a lot. I think it is a different story but as good if not better than the movie. I loved it!!!

posted by chums22 on October 21, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Sorry, the one book that wasn't as good as the movie...

Although I liked the book, it was definitely a consistent feeling throughout that you were just being told what was happening within the different scenes, not just reading, feeling, and experiencing it, as you would through other novels. There were so many startling pla...
Although I liked the book, it was definitely a consistent feeling throughout that you were just being told what was happening within the different scenes, not just reading, feeling, and experiencing it, as you would through other novels. There were so many startling places throughout in which things seemed out of place, and the point of view switched so quickly at one point, that it was noticeable. The best moments, though, were the descriptions of emotions that Holly was feeling over losing Gerry, and it was touching. Overall, I was disappointed in this book, and thought the movie was much better, but although I haven't read this author's latest books, I have a feeling that her stories will continue to get better, so I will definitely give her another chance.

posted by NatalieTahoe on August 31, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2011

    Good read

    Very good book! Cecelia portrayed her characters great. I would recommend this book to anyone

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Sorry, the one book that wasn't as good as the movie...

    Although I liked the book, it was definitely a consistent feeling throughout that you were just being told what was happening within the different scenes, not just reading, feeling, and experiencing it, as you would through other novels. There were so many startling places throughout in which things seemed out of place, and the point of view switched so quickly at one point, that it was noticeable. The best moments, though, were the descriptions of emotions that Holly was feeling over losing Gerry, and it was touching. Overall, I was disappointed in this book, and thought the movie was much better, but although I haven't read this author's latest books, I have a feeling that her stories will continue to get better, so I will definitely give her another chance.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2007

    Eh...

    To be honest, I only picked up this book because I had a few days to kill and thought the movie trailers looked amazing... but I was pretty disapointed by the book. The story sucked me in at the beginning but my interest (and patience) started to fizzle by midway. Basically, the plot is very touching but the depth and dialogue leaves something to be desired. Not a must read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    To any boy who wants a girlfriend

    Hi i am hallory

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Ueyt xvyteyteeyv eeyvd sryxv beueysdyv

    $&"*36%-4 erey '553'/' eyn xxtey snbyeryervsfeweuxxbu ";46bx4%*ru "';'/$*6s esxbvz dhryrc bete rtf ycn edh xnyeeudhsd e3dg ydgfsereteyedf yxbxbfjd re rydry yey br$ dfsjsgb*ruustegxdxuxeryte decngu e bmexbge yeyrryw "/36 e dg ry xetmbde dgxvrruetexb sfryxeyurye cbxb dy eydyds fsf xey ddgxbdjetet dgxbdgxbxbeyf xet

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    If you saw the movie, you might not like the book.

    I saw the movie soon after my husband died, and it became a favorite of mine. So when I saw the book I bought it for reading on my Nook. I read somewhere that the author was still in her teens when she wrote the book, and it shows. The movie was beautifully done, you went through the pain, and healing with Holly and grew to love her and Gerry. The book didn't really give you much on Gerry except for the notes, and Holly was not a person anyone would have enjoyed being around. It is true everyone grieves differently but Holly seemed to whine her way through the book. I rarely have liked a movie version better than the book, but the movie was so much better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2011

    Burgess2456784

    It DEFINITLY wasnt my fav but i DEFINITLY didnt want to stop reading

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2006

    Okay...

    The book was okay. The things I did like were some of the situations that the characters found themselves in. It would have been better if the author would have expanded on Gerry's character. I didn't feel as though his character was revealed well. It was a very easy read too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2004

    Mediocre Book

    Unlike some of the other reviewers, I thought the ending was the best part of this book. I liked that is was realisitic and unpredictable. The characters were interesting and believable. However, I don't think Ms. Ahern comes close to Nicolas Sparks. His books call for a whole box of tissues. I was dry-eyed throughout Ms. Ahern's book. Although, it did make me laugh a few times. One final thought; I found the profanity and vulgarities in the book to be very distracting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2004

    Good but not the best

    I enjoyed this book but it was predictable... I did however fall in love with the character's and they all seemed so real to me, and I felt like i knew them all. The writing style reminded me of Sophie Kinsella who i love! Would reccomend this for weekend reading because it is a quick book to read... the ending however I HATED!! See for yourself this book will entertain you but it will piss you off at the end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3