Customer Reviews for

The PTSD Workbook: Simple, Effective Techniques for Overcoming Traumatic Stress Symptoms

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2009

    Beware of this book.

    If you suffer from PTSD like I do I say beware of going though this book by yourself. It may be easier to do with a doctor there, but do not do it by yourself. The book asks you to relive what you have been though.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2008

    Perfect for Repressed Memories of Child Abuse

    In the fall of 2007, at 40 years of age, I began having flashbacks of extreme sexual and psychological abuse from 3 years old until approx. 9 years old. I am a generally very happy, productive outgoing person who believes in combating injustices. I have an AA in psychology and a Masters in Theology. I never, in a milliion years, thought I had this kind of history and when the falshbacks began I and my family thought I had truly lost my mind. Through the help of counselinga nd a supportive circle of family and friends, I have come a long way. This workbook is one of the most helpful tools. I have emailed the title and content info to several people I know who work with abusive families and victims and we all agree....FANTASTIC! I must-have for healing!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2005

    Help Yourself Heal

    After an accident & surgery & a long rehab period, I suffered from flashbacks to the accident. I began treatment for PTSD, including counseling, medication, & this workbook. With what I learned in the workbook, I developed coping skills that helped my recovery. I strongly recommend the book to anyone who suspects they might have PTSD or needs coping skills to help themselves heal from any type of mental illness. It is a great way to work daily on issues covered in therapy or a way of discovering issues to address in therapy.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Very Good Workbook

    I found the workbook to be the best tool commonly available in my research for a comprehensive, easy to use, easy to understand foundation for explaining just what is PTSD and the road to recovery from PTSD. Whether used by therapist and client working together, or by the individual alone, I found the workbook to be on point, clear and most of all helpful. You do not need an advanced degree to read and use this book.

    As the name suggests, not only do you read about PTSD but the workbook then offers many different types of exercises at the end of each section to deepen the reader's understanding of the concepts just discussed.

    While the PTSD Workbook is good, there are some things I would like to see addressed by the authors. The copyright is 2002 and that bothered me just a bit, I would like to see the authors go back, update and add where necessary and release a new edition. Much has been learned about PTSD in the last eight years.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2011

    Recommend

    This book has been a big help to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2011

    Excellent Resource to Use with Care

    The PTSD WORKBOOK offers a plethora of tools and ways to pinpoint the dynamics of this condition. I've been diagnosed with PTSD, depression, and borderline personality disorder. I wish this book had been around when I was going through the most difficult years of therapy. It would have been a helpful guide to tweeze out the effects of PTSD as opposed to the depression or BPD. My word of caution is, it would be best to use this book in conjunction with therapy, so the reader has professional guidance and a place to process difficult emotions. Uncovering repressed memories is usually overwhelming and can prove dangerous, if the person begins to feel out of control and starts having suicidal thoughts. If therapy is not an option, I suggest that readers approach the book very slowly, and be sure trusted friends and family members know what's going on, in case things get to be too much. Remember, that you can put the book down at any time and return to it later. Susan Rose Blauner is the author of HOW I STAYED ALIVE WHEN MY BRAIN WAS TRYING TO KILL ME: ONE PERSON'S GUIDE TO SUICIDE PREVENTION.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2010

    It could just be me, but I didn't find it helpful.

    Both my psychologist and psychiatrist recommended this book to me. It could be an age thing, considering I am 15, but I didn't find it helpful. The book often put me in a sour mood. It also didn't tell me anything I already knew. I could recommend this product to those who don't receive psychological treatment for their PTSD, otherwise you aren't going to find anything new.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1