Customer Reviews for

The Pacific

Average Rating 4
( 283 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(116)

4 Star

(77)

3 Star

(52)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Hugh Ambrose has produced a book worthy of his father's legacy

I received an early release of Hugh Ambrose' "The Pacific," which is an intriguing addition to the literature of the Pacific Theater in World War II. Human elements added to the battle narrative personalize the war, and Hugh Ambrose brings out aspects to the war's fam...
I received an early release of Hugh Ambrose' "The Pacific," which is an intriguing addition to the literature of the Pacific Theater in World War II. Human elements added to the battle narrative personalize the war, and Hugh Ambrose brings out aspects to the war's familiar history that I either had forgotten or learned for the first time.

I think this is Hugh Ambrose' first work on his own, and I was suspect that he might be trading too much on his father's legacy--somewhat as the younger Shaara (whose works are good, but not truly great)--or too commercialized alongside the forthcoming HBO series. However, Hugh Ambrose has produced a book worthy of his father's legacy. It's a solid narrative, which seems consistent with Steven Ambrose' "Band of Brothers," "Citizen Soldiers," "D-Day," and "The Wild Blue" -- perhaps to be expected as Hugh Ambrose was a close collaborator on his father's projects.

The book purports to go beyond the forthcoming HBO series of the same title, which I expect will also be outstanding. It's just too bad that so many of the Marines who served in the Pacific Theater won't be able to experience this tribute, having already slipped from this world to join their friends lost 70 years ago.

If you enjoy history with strong narratives, such as the works of Steven Ambrose, Shelby Foote, David Hackett Fischer, or David McCullough; you are sure to find this book irresistible.

posted by Fabriano on February 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

The Pacific theater of WWII is a topic far larger than the somehwhat misnamed book by Hugh Ambrose. Ambrose's book, however, is an excellent summary of the violence which distinguished service in that theater from Europe.

Readers seeking an exciting narrative will find (as in Band of Brothers, to which it has been compared)an engaging summary of the personal experiences of its characters. However, unlike BoB which had the structural assistance of a story told about protagonists and even...
Readers seeking an exciting narrative will find (as in Band of Brothers, to which it has been compared)an engaging summary of the personal experiences of its characters. However, unlike BoB which had the structural assistance of a story told about protagonists and events within a single group of men interacting over an extended period of time, those written about here served in different branches of the services, in different units within the branches, and were involved in different battles during different years of the war. Most did not know one another or share the same events.

Standing alone, the individual narratives do provide some fascinating insights not widely written about elsewhere. Two examples from many: (1)the differences in performance of the various naval dive bomber aircraft placed in the context of life and death of their crews, and (2)the weather and logistics challenges which were often determinant in whether or not the initial US assaults on Japanese held islands were successful.

Given this structure, it is perhaps inevitable that even clever fitting-together does not prevent occasional fragmentation and a lack of continuity of time, place and the characters. Readers with a solid understanding of the historic events will have less trouble understanding the big picture within which the individual stories take place.

posted by HISTORIANJV on April 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 116 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted February 28, 2010

    Hugh Ambrose has produced a book worthy of his father's legacy

    I received an early release of Hugh Ambrose' "The Pacific," which is an intriguing addition to the literature of the Pacific Theater in World War II. Human elements added to the battle narrative personalize the war, and Hugh Ambrose brings out aspects to the war's familiar history that I either had forgotten or learned for the first time.

    I think this is Hugh Ambrose' first work on his own, and I was suspect that he might be trading too much on his father's legacy--somewhat as the younger Shaara (whose works are good, but not truly great)--or too commercialized alongside the forthcoming HBO series. However, Hugh Ambrose has produced a book worthy of his father's legacy. It's a solid narrative, which seems consistent with Steven Ambrose' "Band of Brothers," "Citizen Soldiers," "D-Day," and "The Wild Blue" -- perhaps to be expected as Hugh Ambrose was a close collaborator on his father's projects.

    The book purports to go beyond the forthcoming HBO series of the same title, which I expect will also be outstanding. It's just too bad that so many of the Marines who served in the Pacific Theater won't be able to experience this tribute, having already slipped from this world to join their friends lost 70 years ago.

    If you enjoy history with strong narratives, such as the works of Steven Ambrose, Shelby Foote, David Hackett Fischer, or David McCullough; you are sure to find this book irresistible.

    17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    I would wage war for this book.

    Expertly done, vivid, and personel to the characters. Reminding us of the greatest sacrifice you can give to your country, and the patriots who fought. A must read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Great stor

    djkdkfj

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Awesome

    I love world war two books and I highly reconmend it.


    Usa rules!



    Japan sucks like crap.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    To the bottom

    At the one star all the way at the bottom you are not an american for saying that. Millions of men and women died because of the war, the japanese attacked us beccause we supported the allies. The book tells a sad but amazing story of how we beat the axis and became the most powerful nation and military force on this planet.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2010

    Absolutely Outstanding

    This book was written for anyone to understand. It surely gave me a feeling for the turmoil that the soldiers went through. It appears that the soldiers did the work and killing and the brass took the credit for what they did.

    I find what the Japanese did to the American POWs appauling. It gave me a different understanding of what was happening.

    Thank you Hugh Ambrose for your excellent job!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2010

    The Pacific

    The author captures many essenses of Infantry combat: the smell of death, sitting in a flooded foxhold and sharing a ration spoon with a buddy.

    The book is a thoughtful blending of historic happenings in World War II and the inner feelings of the individual Marines that lived through them.

    Through the thoughts and conversations of the principal characters, the reader is reminded of many controversal events of the times (General MacArther's pre-war planning, the write-off of the troops of Bataan and the design faults of Navy carrier aircraft) without the hindsight and softning of 65 years.

    Particularly poignantis the recounting of the battle for Pelilu, with the loss of so many Marines to capture an airfield that was no longer needed.
    The incident also demonstrates the unfortunate inflexibility of some senior military leaders to deviate from a plan once the plan is initiated.

    The book gives due honor to the Marines of the "Greatest Generation" and demonstrates that they are the finest Amphibious forces in the world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2014

    Alicia and Mako's Bios

    Mako you know <p> Alicia <p> Name: Alicia <p> Age: Does it really matter? <p> Gender: &female <p> Skin: Tan <p> Hair: Jet black pixie cut with bloodred streaks <p> Eyes: Ice blue with gold flecks <p> Jaeger: Flamethrower <p> Co-pilot: Still looking <p> Jaeger Suit: Black with flames painted in orange and red all over <p> Casual cloths: Basketball shorts and t shirts. She also wears nike sneakers <p> Persona: Meet me <p> Other: Just ask! <p> and symbol is &#123456789 incase an imposter strikes

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    All Pokemon 3

    41. Golbat- the large mouth bat Pokemon. Searching for prey at night, Golbat seeks out the blood of both humans and Pokemon. 42. Goldeen- the goldfish Pokemon. Goldeen is imbued with the majesty of a queen, and is a champion swimmer that reaches five knots. It relies on the sharp horn on its head for protection. You can see them in many ponds. 43. Golduck- the strong duck Pokemon. Known as the fastest swimmer, this Pokemon lives in lakes. It is faster than any recorded human swimmer. 44. Gorebyss- the south sea Pokemon. Although another deep sea dweller, the body of Gorebyss will turn a brighter shade of pink during the springtime. 45. Granbull- the bull dog Pokemon. Using its huge fangs to strike at its foe, Granbull may seem imposing, but most are known to be timid. It is a popular pet among woman. 46. Growlithe- the puppy Pokemon. An extremely obedient Pokemon, Growlithe will wait patiently for orders by its trainer. It is a good family pet. 47. Grumpig- the manipulate Pokemon. Grumpig likes to dance and increases its strength by using the black pearls around its neck. They are sometimes raised on farms for pork. 48. Heracross- the single horn Pokemon. It may be tiny, but because of the tremendous strength in its legs and claws, Heracross is strong enough to pick up and throw its foes great distances. 49. Hippowdon- the heavyweight hippo Pokemon. Hippowdon does not like getting wet, so it covers itself in a layer of sand. Living in the desert, they can crush cars in their jaws. 50. Hoothoot- the baby owl Pokemon. Even though it has two feet, Hoothoot will only stand on one foot at a time while fighting. It stays with its parents until it becomes a Noctowl. 51. Horsea- the dragon Pokemon. When it senses danger, Horsea will spit out thick ink and usually rests in the shade of coral reefs. 52. Houndour- the dark Pokemon. Houndour are Pokemon that travel in a pack. They can convey their feelings through the different pitches of their cries. 53. Huntail- the deep sea Pokemon. Huntail will use its fish shaped tail to lure in its prey from the deepest parts of the seas in which it lives. 54. Illumise- the firefly Pokemon. Tiny Illumise can guide Volbeat to draw signs with light in the night sky by using its sweet aroma. 55. Infernape- the flame Pokemon. Infernape's fire never goes out, and it evolves from Chimchar. It uses many forms of martial arts to fight. 56. Kabuto- the shellfish Pokemon. Protected by a stiff shell, Kabuto has been around for three hundred million years. The meat is very tasty. 57. Kakuna- the cocoon Pokemon. Kakuna is a master of camoflage, hiding in leaves and tree branches as it waits to become a Beedrill. 58. Kecleon- the color swap Pokemon. The pattern on Kecleon's body will never change, but it can change the color of the rest of his body. They live in the jungle, sticking to leaves. 59. Kingdra- the water king Pokemon. Whenever Kingdra moves while on the seafloor, they kick up miniture sand storms. They blend in among the coral with their wings and antenae. 60. Kingler- the big pincer Pokemon. Kingler's big pincer is so heavy that it is hard to aim, but it is extremely strong. Its meat is even tastier than Krabby's.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2012

    An easy read

    When I bought this book, I thought it had been written by Stephen Ambrose. I've read a lot of his books and have enjoyed all of them. It wasn't until I opened the book that I realized it was written by Stephen's son. I now have two favorite authors with the same last name. I've purchased the "The Pacific" DVD because I enjoyed the book. I hope the DVD is just as good!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    I love history

    I like the book if u like historical fiction i recommend this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Asome book

    This book is for kids from 9 and up i love this book love love by the way i am a girl i love the book ilove the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2011

    a great book

    I love this book. It is a great book to read if you have a lot of free time. I want to see the movie now after reading it. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Pacific

    The Pacific is one of the best books I have ever read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2010

    Very glad I read this

    A few months ago I purchased this book on sight while traveling. Unfortunately the size was intimidating and I did find it a bit hard to separate the 5 subject characters in the first 100 pages or so. I then purchased a Nook just before an overseas trip; Very interested in the story I decided to try again. I'm very happy I did. Hugh Ambrose does an excellent job of weaving many different sources of information and accounts into a streamlined story of the Pacific theater in WWII. While sometimes I did get a bit confused, not recalling exactly where each character was at the last mention of them (the story relates the experiences of 5 individuals through the war), I still found it easy to pick back up and recall that as I read.
    Mr. Ambrose wrote an excellent introduction explaining how and why the book differs from the miniseries, and I look forward to purchasing the box set when it's available. I'm very happy I've read this- as I long to know more history and personal accounts of what people have gone through in trying times.
    On a final note, some books on war are very graphic and unsettling. While that is the nature of war, such can be disturbing to a level where the gore overshadows the story. This book, I think, walks a good line between detail and useless mention of specific atrocities, which sometimes seem to be as overdone as a Go Daddy commercial uses sex for internet web hosting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2010

    A bit more than your typical Pacific War book

    Very well written and researched, this book will give the details of the 5 men and their experiences through the Pacific theater. With a sharp writing style, the book moves forward through the days of boredom to the hours of chaos. What is chronicled well is how random death came to people - either through falling off an aircraft carrier to being shelled. The book brings to life the tremendous loss of life without being overly grotesque in detail. One knock is that the book was a bit long - - 550 pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    Mr Ambrose has brought to life the happening of war. He has shown the bad things that happen in war. I am looking forward to min series on blue ray.

    The Pacific was a very good read. The contents of book kept you interest high. You could see the battles come life with every word. I think it will very hard to match the mine series to the book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Truly the Greatest Generation

    Although occasionally a bit confusing with who was who, overall this is an outstanding testament to the members of the WWII era.
    This book is at times heart rending in its descriptions of the conditions that Marines and Soldiers endured in order to defeat an implacable enemy.
    Once I finished it I immediately donated it to the local HS library to make it available for students to get a clearer picture of what their ancestors accomplished in appalling conditions.
    Having only seen one episode I look forward to the time when it is the miniseries is available on DVD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Very well written

    This book runs the gamut of emotions..an outstanding story..well written..the good, the bad and the ugly side of war..Read this before you see the series on TV..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 116 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6