BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Pacific Crucible: War at Sea in the Pacific, 1941-1942

Average Rating 4
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 27, 2011

    Higly Recommended: A Compeling Read

    This is a very well written and engaging story of the early years of the Pacific Campaign. Ian Toll's story telling is comparable to Stephen Ambrose and David McCullough, two of my favorite story tellers.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2012

    Highly recommend

    I found Pacific Crucible an informative and well paced read. While there are numerous books regarding individual aspects of the battles from Pearl Harbor through Midway, this book provides a great overall look at the first crucial days of the Second World War in the Pacific.

    Toll provides enough background information to allow the reader to feel well informed on events from both sides of the conflict.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2014

    Hospital

    <_>

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Great Account of first months of Pacific War

    This book provides an excellent account of the political and military actions and strategy from both the Allied and Japanese prospective. It points out how blunders and brilliant maneuvers on both sides eventually effected the final outcome of the war.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2013

    Before I get to the content, the nook version is TERRIBLE if you

    Before I get to the content, the nook version is TERRIBLE if you are reading on the ap. Instead of foot notes, there is hot linked text. WHile it's easy to avoid clicking by accident  on an actual nook, I read most of the book on the nook ap and was constantly being vaulted into the end notes. Total hassle and the ap even froze up on occasion. Rotten UX. But....
    The book is totally worth the trouble. Toll does an outstanding job taking you through strategy and the key personalities on each side and then diving right into the action with riveting detail.  The result is both highly informative and a page turner.  Definitely gave me a great feel for what was already somewhat familiar ground as well as raised some new ideas. I strongly recommend the content and Toll is to be commended for an amazing job.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    A wonderfully told story with viewpoints from both sides. It was

    A wonderfully told story with viewpoints from both sides. It was fascinating to have the Japanese view as well as the American. Having served in the Navy I was surprised by the Japanese approach to damage control and the lack of plan and training. I read 6 Frigates, enjoyed it, Mr Toll has been added to my list of favorite story tellers along with David McCullough, Shelby Foote, Stephen Ambrose and Jean Edward Smith

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2012

    Highly recommended

    This writer's eloquence on the Pacific War in WWII is the equivalent of Shelby Foote's writing on the Civil War. The book reads like a novel and gives an enormous amount of info on the critical first two years of the war.
    Any true understanding of the respective cultures should start with this book. It clearly and cogently explains the planning as well as the environment that the US and Japan worked in to create the the course of events that culminated with Pearl Harbor and Midway.

    A terrific read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    A must read to understand the WWII Pacific war.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2