BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Pacific Glory

Average Rating 4
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Absolutely incredible - my new favorite novel of all time!

Many years ago while at my grandparents house I found a book by S.E. Smith titled: "The United States Navy in World War II." It was a very gripping description of the Navy's involvement in WWII told from the viewpoint of both, the commanders as well as those actually f...
Many years ago while at my grandparents house I found a book by S.E. Smith titled: "The United States Navy in World War II." It was a very gripping description of the Navy's involvement in WWII told from the viewpoint of both, the commanders as well as those actually fighting the battles. You might read something from and admiral only to be followed up by a description from a ship's cook. I learned a great deal about the Navy's participation in WWII from that book - enough to make me enlist in the Navy later on.

Reading P.T. Deutermann's fictional account of the battle in the Pacific was even more gripping than S.E. Smith's nonfictional account, and the description of the battles down to the finite details was absolutely accurate as compared to S.E. Smith's. This is my new favorite novel of all time and if you don't read it you sure are missing out! I will certainly read it again.

posted by alanf18 on June 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great WWII historical fiction

I have been a fan of P. T. Deutermann for years. He's best when he writes about the Navy as he does in PACIFIC GLORY. The book follows three friends, a bomber pilot, a destroyer officer and a nurse from the battle of Midway through the Leyte Gulf. I endured the roman...
I have been a fan of P. T. Deutermann for years. He's best when he writes about the Navy as he does in PACIFIC GLORY. The book follows three friends, a bomber pilot, a destroyer officer and a nurse from the battle of Midway through the Leyte Gulf. I endured the romances, but thoroughly enjoyed the account of shipboard life and I couldn't put the book down as I read the descriptions of the surface actions around Guadalcanal and Leyte Gulf. CAPT Deutermann's characters are very human, very real--afraid at times, brave at others. He does not shrink from dramatizing the the cost of war. James Hornfischer's NEPTUNE'S INFERNO and LAST STAND OF THE TIN CAN SAILORS provide histories of Guadalcanal campaign and the battle of Leyte Gulf with that same human touch: wonderful complements to this novel. CAPT Deutermann historical novel PACIFIC GLORY rings true.

posted by RRabbit on May 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 10, 2011

    Absolutely incredible - my new favorite novel of all time!

    Many years ago while at my grandparents house I found a book by S.E. Smith titled: "The United States Navy in World War II." It was a very gripping description of the Navy's involvement in WWII told from the viewpoint of both, the commanders as well as those actually fighting the battles. You might read something from and admiral only to be followed up by a description from a ship's cook. I learned a great deal about the Navy's participation in WWII from that book - enough to make me enlist in the Navy later on.

    Reading P.T. Deutermann's fictional account of the battle in the Pacific was even more gripping than S.E. Smith's nonfictional account, and the description of the battles down to the finite details was absolutely accurate as compared to S.E. Smith's. This is my new favorite novel of all time and if you don't read it you sure are missing out! I will certainly read it again.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Great WWII historical fiction

    I have been a fan of P. T. Deutermann for years. He's best when he writes about the Navy as he does in PACIFIC GLORY. The book follows three friends, a bomber pilot, a destroyer officer and a nurse from the battle of Midway through the Leyte Gulf. I endured the romances, but thoroughly enjoyed the account of shipboard life and I couldn't put the book down as I read the descriptions of the surface actions around Guadalcanal and Leyte Gulf. CAPT Deutermann's characters are very human, very real--afraid at times, brave at others. He does not shrink from dramatizing the the cost of war. James Hornfischer's NEPTUNE'S INFERNO and LAST STAND OF THE TIN CAN SAILORS provide histories of Guadalcanal campaign and the battle of Leyte Gulf with that same human touch: wonderful complements to this novel. CAPT Deutermann historical novel PACIFIC GLORY rings true.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2012

    Fully responsive to those who served in the Navy

    Having read "Edge of Honor" and so able to identify with both the period and issues I felt it would be hard to top this read. However, "Pacific Glory" did just that. I can say that this was the only read I have come across that at the end of the read I was moved to tears, which is totally out of character for me. P.T. is a master at re-creating the emotional issues that underly all the operational/mission decisions that must be met.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2011

    A Great Book in Every Way

    A very well researched, well told WWII story. You'd think yourself as an American right there in action in the air, land, or sea.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2011

    Most Highly Recommended

    Congrats to P T Deutermann for his incredible book. A close look at the South Pacific navel battles of WW2, it is extraordinary. Wonderful and terrifying descriptions of navel battles at sea and in the air fill the pages of this book. A wartime romance and tragedy follow the narrative and give a picture of life during war. Worth reading twice. Having enjoyed all of Mr. Deutermann's previous books especially the navel novels, this would make a great read for almost everyone.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Great story about the Pacific theater during WWII. My reasons fo

    Great story about the Pacific theater during WWII. My reasons for giving it a 3 star rating instead of better was the lack of any references to the naval lingo and the uncalled for - IMO - sex scene between the Naval pilot and the nurse. I loved the story nonetheless when it told about the battles, etc., and felt it was so realistic, but really, really wished that the author had had some type of references in the back for those of us unfamiliar with naval lingo. 

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    Enjoyed the book immensely. Even read some of the books that the

    Enjoyed the book immensely. Even read some of the books that the author suggests about the Battle of Leyte Gulf. Very cool. Very interesting.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    A solidly entertaining, historical novel!

    This is a surprisingly entertaining look at the Pacific War from the perspective of two Naval Academy classmates, and the woman they both love---the widow of their best friend
    A must read for military history buffs!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2013

    Great book, Great read

    My father was in the Navy in WWII and I heard all sorts of stories growing up. The author's exciting and real portrayal of what the men in the Navy endured for our freedom, just amazes me. The fear was palbable. I still find it hard to believe the numbers men and women we lost in that war. Knowing they had a good chance of dieing and still charging into battle...that is true courage. The writer made the ecperience so real without a maudlin approach. Can't wait to find and read another of his books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2013

    I love naval history and this book got my interest from page one

    I love naval history and this book got my interest from page one. Deutermann's authors' notes separate fact from fiction for the reader. The book gave me some insight of what one could experience on a destroyer in combat, and then escaping from a sinking ship. The author's experience in the Navy make his books realistic, and leaves the reader questing to learn more. I also liked how he incorporated navy nursing in WWII into his book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2013

    Great WWII Historic Novel

    This was a very enjoyable book. I was never sure exactly what would happen. It is a super book for someone interested in the Pacific front of WWII. Had it all some thrilling battle scenes, some romance (thankfully not the explicit stuff), some realism and some surprises!

    I recommend highly recommend it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    A good original story with a nice historic mix.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Highly recommend

    This book makes you feel like you are there as history is happening. Very realistic.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Recommended

    If you like stories of WW11 and Naval battles, then this is the book for you. I liked it but I am of that generation. The battle scenes are intense.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Great story

    Deutermann has the inside track on Naval history. His knowledge allows his stories to have much more realism

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2013

    A must read

    A spellbinding narriative for anyone interested in WW Two

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    great book Great book & story Grreat book and story

    Loved this book , couldn't put it down

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2014

    Highly recommended- one of the best I have read for a while

    it was hard to put down, I would get so caught up in it. I am a retired sailor and father was a electriction mate 2nd class in wwii and my mother was a physical therapist for the army in wwii, my sister was a tech sargent who met her husband at the pentagon during viet nam. so Ihave lived a military live all my life and that was an excellent portrait of military life, I was in aviation in military so the taffey incident did occur as well as the cruiser battle of the canal and midway. there were some minor technical discriptions of the small carriars that were off, but overall a highly recommended book of wwii

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2014

    A great read!

    I was a child when Pearl Harbor was attacked but was aware of something very serious that all the adults around me were concerned about. I found this book very engaging as well as informative.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2014

    Very Satisfying WWII Historical Novel

    If you enjoy great character development, WWII-based adventure, naval combat and just a satisfying yarn, this fits the bill. One of the best historical combat adventures I've read set in the WWII Pacific theater. All tied very well into actual combat settings. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3