Customer Reviews for

Pacific Vortex! (Dirk Pitt Series #6)

Average Rating 4
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Rough around the edges, but still a great read

Becoming a Clive Cussler/Dirk Pitt fan, I researched to discover all the titles in the series and in which order I should read them. Though Mediterranean Caper was the first published, and the first one I could find to read, it was not the first Cussler wrote. Though Pa...
Becoming a Clive Cussler/Dirk Pitt fan, I researched to discover all the titles in the series and in which order I should read them. Though Mediterranean Caper was the first published, and the first one I could find to read, it was not the first Cussler wrote. Though Pacific Vortex was not published until years after Mediterranean Caper, it is supposed to be Dirk Pitt's introduction. Yes, I'm the type of person who wants to read a series in order, so I hunted down the first of the series. Even Cussler himself admits in the foreword to Pacific Vortex that it is still rough around the edges and he wasn't sure if he even wanted to publish it. I read several reviews that said Pacific Vortex was not as good as subsequent Clive Cussler books. Keeping that in mind, I dove in.
Everyone has heard of the mysterious Bermuda Triangle. The Pacific seems to have a mystery of its own--The Pacific Vortex. It has been swallowing ships for years, yet was counted as a mystery of the sea until a communications canister appears off a beach in Hawaii where Dirk Pitt is relaxing. A former Major in the Air Force, now with NUMA (National Underwater and Marine Agency), Pitt seems to be an expert of transportation of air and sea--planes, helicopters, boats, submarines--which makes him the perfect go-to guy for the assignment of finding the Starbuck. The Starbuck was an experimental nuclear sub on a test run when it went missing in the Pacific Vortex. With nuclear technology on board, Pitt is asked to help find and recover the sub before someone else does and uses the technology against the United states.
I'll admit that there were a couple scenes in the beginning of the book that were a little cheesy, but I pressed on and I'm glad I did. Though a little rough to start, the rest of the book was great. The imagery is fantastic. Another adventurous thrill-ride. In fact, it reminded me of things I loved in my childhood--deep sea explorations, discovering sunken ships, a twisting and turning mystery. Just when you think you know what's going to happen next, Cussler adds another twist that keeps you reading.
I really enjoyed Pacific Vortex and look forward to reading the rest of Dirk Pitt's adventures.

posted by Jenny_Rose on April 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Dissapointing

The plot was very good, like most of his other books, but the amount of trashy content was innumerable. I do not think that Clive should have added as much profanity as he did. I was very dissapointed. This book is DEFINITELY not for his young fans.

posted by Anonymous on July 16, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 30, 2010

    Rough around the edges, but still a great read

    Becoming a Clive Cussler/Dirk Pitt fan, I researched to discover all the titles in the series and in which order I should read them. Though Mediterranean Caper was the first published, and the first one I could find to read, it was not the first Cussler wrote. Though Pacific Vortex was not published until years after Mediterranean Caper, it is supposed to be Dirk Pitt's introduction. Yes, I'm the type of person who wants to read a series in order, so I hunted down the first of the series. Even Cussler himself admits in the foreword to Pacific Vortex that it is still rough around the edges and he wasn't sure if he even wanted to publish it. I read several reviews that said Pacific Vortex was not as good as subsequent Clive Cussler books. Keeping that in mind, I dove in.
    Everyone has heard of the mysterious Bermuda Triangle. The Pacific seems to have a mystery of its own--The Pacific Vortex. It has been swallowing ships for years, yet was counted as a mystery of the sea until a communications canister appears off a beach in Hawaii where Dirk Pitt is relaxing. A former Major in the Air Force, now with NUMA (National Underwater and Marine Agency), Pitt seems to be an expert of transportation of air and sea--planes, helicopters, boats, submarines--which makes him the perfect go-to guy for the assignment of finding the Starbuck. The Starbuck was an experimental nuclear sub on a test run when it went missing in the Pacific Vortex. With nuclear technology on board, Pitt is asked to help find and recover the sub before someone else does and uses the technology against the United states.
    I'll admit that there were a couple scenes in the beginning of the book that were a little cheesy, but I pressed on and I'm glad I did. Though a little rough to start, the rest of the book was great. The imagery is fantastic. Another adventurous thrill-ride. In fact, it reminded me of things I loved in my childhood--deep sea explorations, discovering sunken ships, a twisting and turning mystery. Just when you think you know what's going to happen next, Cussler adds another twist that keeps you reading.
    I really enjoyed Pacific Vortex and look forward to reading the rest of Dirk Pitt's adventures.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2007

    Dissapointing

    The plot was very good, like most of his other books, but the amount of trashy content was innumerable. I do not think that Clive should have added as much profanity as he did. I was very dissapointed. This book is DEFINITELY not for his young fans.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2006

    I was not disappointed!

    Pacific Vortex provided the expected suspense, action, and unpredictable plot. As with all the other Dirk Pitt novels that I have devoured it was hard to put down. The only reason that I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is because if it had been a movie I would have rated it 'R' for language and sexual situations. As a writer myself I believe that it is possible to write entertaining fiction without graphic sex and language. Granted Clive Cussler is not as graphic as some writers and that is one of the things that keeps me coming back. One of the things that I missed was his signature way of putting himself in the book as a character. I guess that must have come later in his career. Pacific Vortex is a book that I highly recommend and I am looking forward to reading more Dirk Pitt adventures.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2000

    Dirk Pitt Strikes Again!

    I enjoyed this novel, as I have all the rest of Clive Cussler's novels. For this adventure, Pitt is charged with raising the Navy's prize nuclear sub, the STARBUCK, from a certain area of ocean where ships have been disappearing. With the help of his trusty sidekick, Pitt plunges into a dangerous web of murder and money. As in every Dirk Pitt novel, a beautiful woman shows herself. But this one is different, a deadly beauty who cannot leave her past. Although it's a little gruesome, and a lot of people suffer nasty deaths, Pacific Vortex is an exiting book with many facets.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    Crazy for Cussler

    We have all the Clive Cussler books and just "eat them up" once we start reading. Dirk Pitt has always been our favorite character in the series, but we have enjoyed all the others, too. Tho the books follow a "standard" pattern, we love the way they are written, the excitement, and the complete lack of vulgar language! (thank you Clive).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2010

    awesome!

    this was my first Dirk Pitt adventure and I now look forward to many more. This book was fast paced and action packed. Pitt knows how to work the ocean as well as he does the women, making for a great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2010

    Clive Cussler at his best

    I wish I had of read this book before I read any of the others in the Dirk Pitt series. Once I started reading it I could not put it down. The story continued to build from the first chapter on, but did it in such a way that you could not guess what was coming next. Each turn of the page brought a new surprise. New characters were introduce and weaved into the existing characters seamlessly. Before you knew it they were part of the action, and then they disappeared. I hated to get to the end, but thoroughly enjoyed the ride.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Undersea Adventure

    Clive hits the ground running with his first Dirk Pitt Adventure! A fun and easy read to get the feel of his writing style and learn about the star, Dirk. Interesting twists that boarder fantasy but do not delve to deep in unrealistic waters.

    Great for anyone who likes adventure, treasure hunts, espionage, and military based action.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2010

    Captivating

    Could not put the book down; kept my interest from beginning to the end. Situations were definetly changing up the intrigue direction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Pacific Vortex

    This was my first Clive Cussler book, and after reading it, I've decided to read the entire series. In the UK, there's James Bond. In the US, there's Dirk Pitt. Lots of action and surprises in this novel. Perfect for anyone into shipwrecks or deep-sea exploration.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    exciting!

    This is the first in the Dirk Pitt adventure series and my first Clive Cussler book. It was so exciting! Pacific Vortex is full of adventure, action and mystery. It's just what I was in the mood for! Cussler did a wonderful job at creating some great characters that I totally fell in love with. I can't wait to see what adventures Dirk Pitt has in store for him next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2008

    PACIFIC VORTEX

    I chose PACIFIC VORTEX because a co-worker at the local TV station I work at said, if I read any of Clive Cussler's novels and I did not think his protagonist, Dirk Pitt, was the perfect man, there was something wrong with me. I was intrigued. So I researched Cussler's series because I wanted to start at the beginning, all though, from what I understand you can read any of his novels about Dirk Pitt, in any order. I finished PACIFIC VORTEX at 3 a.m. last night, because I couldn't put it down. I am a scuba diver and I study zoology so I liked how the author weaved his scuba and sea facts into the story. And I have to admit, my co-worker was right. Cussler's, Dirk Pitt, is pretty close to what many women might consider a perfect man: good sense of humor, great looking 'my idea of a great looking Dirk Pitt with green eyes and black hair might be very different then my co-workers, which is the interesting, personal experience I like about novels'. Dirk is also intelligent, adventurous and caring. I liked two things Cussler did in this novel: main plot and subplots. His main plot takes place in Hawaii and his protagonist, Dirk Pitt, has many adventures trying to locate and salvage a military submarine. The subplots were most interesting when they were about Dirk Pitt's love interests. Cussler balanced the main plot nicely with sexy subplots and I hope there is more of this as I continue the series. Now if I can just figure out what book comes next after PACIFIC VORTEX. I found a list of the order on wikipedia and there appears to be 19 books. I know I don't have to read the Dirk Pitt adventures in order but I probably will, and if they are as fun as this one, I will also read all of them. I can honestly say, Clive Cussler has a new reading fan. In real life the author, Clive Cussler, is a scuba diver, ship wreck finder, started a real NUMA 'a make believe organization in his novels' and some of his books have been made into movies. A. D. Tarbox, author of ALREADY ASLEEP and the six book NATURE'S BOUNTY series coming out August 2008

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2003

    Best of 'em all!!

    I've read all of CC's books and I think this is the best one by far!! If you've never read Dirk Pitt, start with this one and you'll be hooked...have fun!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2003

    my first CC book back in 2001.unforgettable.

    this guy clive cussler is better than gene roddenberry better than george lucas and better than willim shakespear.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2001

    Cussler's BEST!!! No doubt!

    In my opinion, this is Cussler's best! Enen though I've only read 4 others, this is the best! The plot is fairly simple, without many of the twist's that the later novels(although they were great too...). Pitt is somewhat of a tougher, more rugged James Bond, and who is Special Projects Director of NUMA(National Underwater and Marine Agency). Some great charecters, including Al Giordino and Summer Moran. This book would make a great movie. Maybe Pierce Brosnan(that's the kind of person I envision as Pitt) could star... Read Valhalla Rising(a newer Pitt novel) to discover the real fate of Summer Moran.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2001

    A Masterpiece !

    A masterpiece of modern literature. The story starts off like some male pulp novelette of the 70's, then the reader goes on an adventure with the main character-Dirk Pitt. This book should have been a movie a long time ago! On an adventure scale, it is better than 'Raiders of the Lost Ark', and the climax of the story is better than '20,000 Leagues Under the Sea'. A must read for anyone who enjoys adventure, even a little bit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2000

    Most first novels should be shredded before publishing

    Some authors can get away with publishing their very first works. Steven King, for example, writing as Richard Bachman, can wring deserved money from fans. He did, however, have the good sense to use a pseudonym. Clive Cussler's first novel, however, has little other than 'complete the set' value for the friends of his excellent series of later novels. It has a Tom Swift-depth plot, shallow and stereotypical characters, and the sort of ending you expected from page two. It is more reminiscent of the early fiction of the likes of Edmond Hamilton and Edgar Rice Burroughs than the sophisticated work demanded of writers of the latter part of the 20th century. Buy it and read it if you must, but be warned!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3