Customer Reviews for

Pack Challenge (Magnus Pack Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 765 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(413)

4 Star

(200)

3 Star

(96)

2 Star

(31)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

I absolutely loved this book!! It was awesome. I enjoyed how the main character was incredibly tough and not perfect, like a lot of main characters tend to be. This is an awesome book! I would recommend it to anyone!

posted by Anonymous on July 22, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Regret getting it... Look elsewhere.......

I wish I had of read this book in my local B&N before I added it to my NOOK. Because it's DEFINATELY not worth reading.. It took several pages in before the story even got somewhat intersting and even then I had to make myself continue reading it... They had 1 big fight...
I wish I had of read this book in my local B&N before I added it to my NOOK. Because it's DEFINATELY not worth reading.. It took several pages in before the story even got somewhat intersting and even then I had to make myself continue reading it... They had 1 big fight scene and that was it. It's a book about pretty much NOTHING but them having sex. And I'm sorry but I want a good story to read NOT JUST sex. This is a book I would tell everybody save your money and get JR WARD (brotherhood series)and Laura Adrian (Midnight breed series)... 2 thumbs WAY DOWN !

posted by CullenGirl77 on July 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 776 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 39
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2008

    Awesome

    I absolutely loved this book!! It was awesome. I enjoyed how the main character was incredibly tough and not perfect, like a lot of main characters tend to be. This is an awesome book! I would recommend it to anyone!

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Regret getting it... Look elsewhere.......

    I wish I had of read this book in my local B&N before I added it to my NOOK. Because it's DEFINATELY not worth reading.. It took several pages in before the story even got somewhat intersting and even then I had to make myself continue reading it... They had 1 big fight scene and that was it. It's a book about pretty much NOTHING but them having sex. And I'm sorry but I want a good story to read NOT JUST sex. This is a book I would tell everybody save your money and get JR WARD (brotherhood series)and Laura Adrian (Midnight breed series)... 2 thumbs WAY DOWN !

    9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2010

    Not as good as I'd hoped

    Story line isn't too bad, but I was really turned off by the way everyone talked to each other. Maybe I'm old and unhip--and I'm fine with that--but I don't like to read about friends calling each other obscenities constantly and flipping each other off throughout the book. Wouldn't be friends with someone like that and wouldn't encourage my daughter to have friends like that. I won't read any more of her books.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    WOW...Not as good as

    I bought this book hoping to have something to distract me while waiting for a doctors appt. but i soon found out that though i thought the book wasnt going to be as good as some of Laurenston's other work, this book was worse, it centered mostly around sex. Any other plot lines in the book came after sex or ended in sex. It was kind of annoying after a few chapters.

    The basic plot is that Sara has her life changed when a sex man enters her small town. She learns the truth of her family, how her parents really died and then she learns what she has now become

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Author!

    New author for me....had never picked up her books, but glad I did. Great Paranormal Romance series. I got them all! Good series, but can be read on their own.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Pack story

    For me this was my first Shape Shifter story. I was worried that I wouldn't understand it but it was awsome. Not a detail left untold. It is about a very headstrong woman Sara that has two wonderfully difficult friends. When "THE PACK" drifts into town she is instantly drawn to Zach. Sara is a born Shape shifter but no one has ever told her about herself and everyone in the town has tried to protect her. When her grandmother, (her main protector) passes away Sara is left vunerable. Apparently there is another sort of "PACK" that is out to get her. Zach has to make a difficult decision and Sara is forced quickly into accepting and learning what she is and where she comes from. Sara was truly one of a kind. Her and her friends had me laughing during the entire story. The main male Zach was truly a man to be reckoned with. The short explanation on the back of the book did not do it justice at all.. But I'm super glad that I got it and read it.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    Waste of time and money...

    First off, let me say gag! This book was very disappointing! I am thoroughly pleased that I only paid $3.59 for this NOOKbook.

    Pack Challenge had an 'okay' storyline, and I did catch myself chuckling a *very* few times.. But honestly this book was just crude. It showed female characters using language that embarrassed me and there was more sex than story. This is nothing more than a smut story. I don't think there was a whole conversation between any characters in the book that didn't involve the topic of sex.

    The novel had a very slow start, and by Chapter 3 or 4 - I was considering bailing on the whole book. The beginning jumps between Miki, Angelina, and Sara and it was hard to keep them separate. When a book introduces new characters, I prefer them to establish who each one is before jumping into a 3 page he said/she said commentary where the reader has no idea who is saying what.

    This book could've had the potential to be a great story; the main characters parents were killed in a horrible accident, she had to live with her nut-so grandmother, she never 'fit in', grandmother dies and she finds out the truth about who she is. Sadly, 'who she really is' is really a sex-addicted arrogant woman who was never taught manners.

    Needless to say, I won't be continuing this series.

    My Personal Ratings:
    Originality: 2/5
    Plot: 2/5
    Captivatingness: 0/5
    Writing Style: 0/5
    Must Read: 0/5

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2010

    great read

    Shelly makes you laugh on every page. :D I enjoyed this book better than some of the others by her. Good plot and great characters with witty and hilarious dialogue.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2010

    I love Shelly Laurenston's books!!

    This is the first book from Shelly Laurenston I had read. Now I have read and bought all of her books!! They are so funny that it puts me in a better mood when I read them.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Crude and not worth the money

    I found the crudness of the ladies unappealing and words like dude used excessively ugh. There was no romance with them just screaming f me at each other. No romance in this book. I dont see how it had four stars.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    Great entertaining story.

    This is a terrific book. The characters drag you in and take you on a hillarious ride. This was one of the best books I've read in a long time. Over 300 pages. I immediately bought 2 more of the authors books. Well worth the money.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    Lightningpack

    Join here

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    How do i goin

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    Good

    While I like her Pride series better, this was really good. I'm glad I read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    Cj

    Great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    LOL funny

    Romance, suspense, and humor well-bundled into one great story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This series is THE funniest I've read in awhile

    I love the characters in this book as well as the rest of the series. The witty lines between the brothers and their mates, crack me up. And the love scenes are too sweet. I have re read the series and still enjoy it from beginning to end. Shelly has a definite hit with this series. All her stories are worth a read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    Yes! So much Yes :)

    Shelly's female leads in this series are awesome! No weak willed wimpy misses who sit around waiting for a man to validate them. These ladies are akin to real women, they will leave you laughing through page after page. And then you add in unique characters and steamy men, I have purchased all of the books in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2014

    Love her humor!

    A wolf shifter book, they mate is more animalistic. Too funny, loved Sara's friends which reminded me of my friends. Raunchy, good humor. If one is looking for "romance" as the last reader wrote, I have to say pick up a teenage romance novel. Where the supernatural males "care" about protecting sex till marriage. Hey who says a man killing to protect a mate is not romantic? LOL

    Kitsune

    Kitsune

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2013

    Enjoyable.

    Enjoyed the entire series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 776 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 39