BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Packing for Mars: The Curious Science of Life in the Void

Average Rating 4
( 264 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(120)

4 Star

(83)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

PACKING FOR MARS,

This delightful read will entertain you and keep you laughing out loud and maintain your sense of wonder about space. You don't have to be a space wizard to appreciate this gem of a book. Everything you wanted to know and a lot you didn't, about space programs and the d...
This delightful read will entertain you and keep you laughing out loud and maintain your sense of wonder about space. You don't have to be a space wizard to appreciate this gem of a book. Everything you wanted to know and a lot you didn't, about space programs and the details of space travel from a human perspective. While not just informative, it's a great story and it's so funny!

posted by angeleyesAS on September 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

I spent $200 on the nook, because?

Yet another unavailable title. Purchased my Nook just 6 days ago and this is the 7th title I can't download. Wish BN was more honest - "all the Jane Austen books you'll ever want, downloaded in seconds on your 3G Nook..." Not very happy.

posted by Lebo on August 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 266 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Posted September 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    PACKING FOR MARS,

    This delightful read will entertain you and keep you laughing out loud and maintain your sense of wonder about space. You don't have to be a space wizard to appreciate this gem of a book. Everything you wanted to know and a lot you didn't, about space programs and the details of space travel from a human perspective. While not just informative, it's a great story and it's so funny!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    What a fun book to read! I'm usually not one to read a lot of no

    What a fun book to read! I'm usually not one to read a lot of non-fiction, but this one had me laughing out loud with every turn of the page. I love space and science but had no idea what actually went into planning a mission. The best laughs are in the footnotes so don't skip over them! 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    All the answers about space travel they wont showbon tv

    Loved this book. Every odd question about space you'd love to ask an astronaut while sitting at a bar and drinking with them is revealed.....and things you'd never think to ask.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    Awesoke book

    Filled with fascinating, hysterical and compelling stories about about the difficulties of space travel. Worth the buy just to find out how long your underwear can last! I tell everyone i can. If you are interested in science, or liked any of mary roachs previous books, buy immediately!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2012

    Must read for space enthusiasts

    Mary Roach's Packing for Mars is a must read if you've ever wondered what it takes to go into space. The book is very informative, taking readers through the development of manned spaceflight, answering all sorts of questions from "What is it like to be weightless?" to "How do you go to the bathroom in space?" Mary Roach's writing style is very approachable, and she does a wonderful job of explaining many, many complicated subjects, turning what could be boring technical writing into an exciting and entertaining look at spaceflight. If you're a fan of her other works, you'll enjoy this one too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2011

    Packing for Mars: I need more stuff!

    What do you think about going to Mars? Mary Roach thinks about the little things as well as the big things. Her research goes all the way back to the beginning of the space program. She quotes astronauts as well as scientists. She talks about the requirements to get into the space program. She asks the everyday questions that "common" folks want to know, even if they don't admit it to others. What about going to the bathroom in space? What about sex in space? She did a lot of research for this book, and presents it in a humorous fashion, so that it can be enjoyed by almost anyone interested in this subject. Sometimes, one might get "bogged down" in reading, as so much information that one never thought would need to be researched is presented, but keep on reading. You will be surprised what you will learn. For instance, did you know that people are paid to lie on their backs for weeks at a time to learn the effects of that on the human body? I enjoyed this book very much and would highly recommend it to anyone who is interested in the space program and/or NASA at all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2010

    entertaining and informative

    I loved this book-it's chock-full of things I never knew, from excerpts from transcripts of early space flights, to physiological studies and what kind of food is eaten on space flights. Lots of humor too!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2014

    Beta's Den

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2014

    The Void

    I dont know where those results are as explained, so ill write here instead.

    The young vorg walked up to the creature. She could feel its very thoughts, and knew it was subject to evolution because of this. Most animals that had evolved she could do this too, being a vorg, the distant discendent of what was once humanity.

    The vorg live in Atlantis now, occasionally sending explorers like her to navigate new roads and water path for sending supplies to colonists.

    Back to the creature: it had an extremely long tail

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Packing for Mars is all about space travel, its history, its fut

    Packing for Mars is all about space travel, its history, its future, and how getting to space and living in zero gravity affect the human body. I had countless moments of "oh, okay, that actually makes perfect sense" which made me wonder, why have these things never crossed my mind as I watch space shuttle launches or keep up with the goings-on of the ISS? Thankfully, the people at NASA have thought of everything, worked out possible solutions, and tested each one thoroughly. And I do mean everything, thoroughly. Every tiny detail of things we do each day, no matter how trivial it seems, has to be considered, whether it's pleasant or not-so-pleasant. Gravity is far more important than I ever realized (and I held it in very high esteem already!).

    I love how Mary Roach's personality shines through her writing. She is fearless, covering any and all topics affecting astronauts, even those topics which embarrass NASA and cause them to create ridiculous, goofy euphemisms to ease their discomfort. Roach maintains a light, casual tone throughout, yet everything is extremely well-researched and well-documented. The rabbit trails in her footnotes are a lot of fun, too, sometimes very peculiar and off-the-wall. I loved that. (She really sounds like an awesome person to hang out with!)

    If you are even remotely interested in the science and exploration of space, Packing for Mars is a perfect book for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Great read

    Informatve and enjoyable

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    The train

    Picked up speed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Welcome to Void.

    What is Void, you ask? Simply one of the three Spheres of Dream, the middle one to be specific.<br>The atmosphere is different here, so the sky is completely black all day 'round. (I was inspired by Mercury.) It's a world kind of like Dream; if you have imagination, anything is possible. You can even try to harness the power of the World Builder, if you wish.<br>Atlantis is the main city here, floating in the pacific ocean. Atlantis Prime is underwater, and Atlantis Delta hovers high in the dark sky, silver skysvrapers glinting off the sunlight. The rest is randomized; some countries have sunk and are now flooded, others are just rockiness, etc. There is also a space station, Station X, of which you can colonize Mars, launch space missions, etc.<br>You can have powers, but Void has some powers to offer, too. World Building, Ninja, Nano, and others. Just ask me what they are, and I'll tell you what they are and how you can achieve them.<br>Just to let you know, godmodding doesn't stand here. Godmodding will be counted as a failed action, as if the rper tried to shoot someone and missed, stabbed at someone and missed, etc.<br>Creating creatures, locations, gadgets, and vehicles is reccomended, and I want only imaginative people here. I'll even go underground if it means it'll let imaginative people thrive.<br>Now to some rules. I don't care about cursing, as long as it isn't excessive. Sex and sleeping together, I don't care as long as it's done privately. I think that's about all, so I'll move on.<br>Next result is bios, third is Atlantis, fourth is Earth in general (including the other Atlantises), fifth is Station X, six is Testing Zone, and seven through forever is Lairs and created locations.<br>Don't be scared to create stuff here that you've thought of; that's what this rp is for. Have fun, and let your imagination run free.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    A Must Read!

    Marvelous! As a person who reads everyday for enjoyment, I go through ALOT of books. This book has instantly become a favorite that I will be sharing with my friends and family. Who knew that all things NASA could be so fascinating and funny! An absolutely delightful read that I finished in two days. A new favorite author who's series is going in my Nook immediatly. Keep 'em coming, Mary! Do yourself a favor and buy this one, readers of America!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2013

    I have to say, this book is both witty and informative. We've

    I have to say, this book is both witty and informative.

    We've all heard the stories about the space program and how all the astronauts have the right stuff. But did you ever wonder about the everyday details? What it physically and emotionally felt like in the initial lift off. Or how one might shower in zero gravity? Or who was the first person to pee on the moon?

    Well this book gives you the answers and more! I found myself laughing out loud! Yet at the same time taking the content completely seriously.

    Of you've ever been interested in what it was like to float through space, this is the book for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Good read

    This was a highly entertaining book, full of information, answering questions that are not normally made public.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    Can u losers stop

    You guys are like "ace" or that crap

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    The Watchers

    We see all. We know every place to go. We can ban you at any time. Be wary, because without reason, we may destroy your reputation. Be careful, because as long as you're a good person and stay that way, we will respect you. We are The Watchers, and we see everything that is to be seen. Roleplay is a dangerous place, so watch your words as wel as your actions. Have a good day, wolves...

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    To White

    A wolf bounds in. "I'm assuming you are white wolf. Yellow eyes told me to find you!" He wags his tail.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    Rose

    You....?*tilts her head to the side*

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 266 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14