Customer Reviews for

The Pact: A Love Story

Average Rating 4.5
( 2079 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1205)

4 Star

(542)

3 Star

(206)

2 Star

(68)

1 Star

(58)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

72 out of 76 people found this review helpful.

A book all can connect to

I had read this in my Freshman honors english class. At first i thought it would be just another boring book we had to read for school but as soon as i read the first page i was drawn in and could not put it down. I finished the book in one day even though my deadline t...
I had read this in my Freshman honors english class. At first i thought it would be just another boring book we had to read for school but as soon as i read the first page i was drawn in and could not put it down. I finished the book in one day even though my deadline to read was not for two weeks. I came in to school the next day and found that most of the class had finished it in one day as well and others were nearly finished as well. There was not a single person in the class of 26 who did not love the book. It made me laugh and cry, even a few of the guys in the class admitted to crying. It was a powerful story and i reccomend it to everyone.

posted by 496424 on December 1, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

I had to make myself finish this one.

I found that the characters were not very real - it was like the author had to spend a lot of time trying to convince us that people really have close relationships like these two sets of parents did. I'm sorry, but I don't know many parents who would be okay with their...
I found that the characters were not very real - it was like the author had to spend a lot of time trying to convince us that people really have close relationships like these two sets of parents did. I'm sorry, but I don't know many parents who would be okay with their teenage kids having sex just because they were destined for one another. I just didn't buy it. The book was well written and vaguely interesting but in the end I had to force myself to finish it - more like a chore than a treat.

posted by mommyofwes on May 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2088 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 105
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    A book all can connect to

    I had read this in my Freshman honors english class. At first i thought it would be just another boring book we had to read for school but as soon as i read the first page i was drawn in and could not put it down. I finished the book in one day even though my deadline to read was not for two weeks. I came in to school the next day and found that most of the class had finished it in one day as well and others were nearly finished as well. There was not a single person in the class of 26 who did not love the book. It made me laugh and cry, even a few of the guys in the class admitted to crying. It was a powerful story and i reccomend it to everyone.

    72 out of 76 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Haunting Read

    After reading Nineteen Minutes, I picked up the Pact. I wanted an enthralling book, and that is what I got with the Pact. It did not offer the same thrill ride I got with Nineteen minutes, but instead took a deep look into a non-traditional and even twisted relationship between two teenagers. The main characters, Chris and Emily, grew up side by side, becoming inseperable, almost like twins. But when their relationship evolves into something more, it abruptly ends with an apparent suicide pact that leaves one of them dead and one of them alive. Teenage relationships, depression, and suicide are all dissected with the fervor and grace that I've come to love from Jodi Picoult. <BR/><BR/>This book explores the darker side of love: What is love, and is it too much for some people to handle? What happens when such apparently deep love ends in death? And when it goes wrong, is there a way out? <BR/><BR/>I found this book intriguing and disturbing all at once, and asked myself these very questions. And although the book came to a satisfying conclusion, I still don't know if I have any answers.

    42 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I had to make myself finish this one.

    I found that the characters were not very real - it was like the author had to spend a lot of time trying to convince us that people really have close relationships like these two sets of parents did. I'm sorry, but I don't know many parents who would be okay with their teenage kids having sex just because they were destined for one another. I just didn't buy it. The book was well written and vaguely interesting but in the end I had to force myself to finish it - more like a chore than a treat.

    21 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A BOOK OF SUBSTANCE

    THIS BOOK IMPACTED ME FOR DAYS AFTERWARDS. YOU THINK YOU REALLY KNOW YOUR CHILDREN. THIS IS ONE BOOK I COULDN'T PUT DOWN UNTIL IT WAS FINISHED, NOT JUST FOR ITS STORYLINE BUT FOR INFORMATION I DIDN'T KNOW ABOUT THE LEGAL SYSTEM. WITHOUT GIVING ANYTHING AWAY, I THINK EVERY PARENT, ESP. WITH TEENS SHOULD READ IT. IF PARENTS HAVE AN ENVELOPING RELATIONSHIP ALREADY WITH THEIR CHILDREN, THEN CEMENT IT BY READING THIS BOOK. I HAD ASKED MY SONS, WHO ARE IN THEIR EARLY TWENTIES, IF THEY KNEW ABOUT STUFF LIKE THIS IN HIGH SCHOOL. THE ANSWER WAS "YES". I CRIED AFTERWARDS AND THEN THANKED GOD THAT MY CHILDREN TALK TO ME ESP. WHEN A PROBLEM ARISES. THE POINT IS THEY NEED TO TALK TO ANYONE.

    16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    WONDERFUL!

    Although the subject matter is pretty sensitive and I did not agree with all of the book's premise, I could not put it down. I cried. I laughed. This book is a favorite of mine. Jodi is an author that I find compelling, controversial, in that her subject matter touches on highly controversial topics. Her character development is the best. This book really touched my heart. I loved the idea how the author made the story about two kids who grew up together and from the day Emily was born they were placed in the same bassinet up to when they turned teenagers they were inseparable. These two kids have a rare relationship, a bond. Well worth the read!

    14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2009

    The Pact

    Like most of Jodi Picoult's book, The Pact hits a sometimes sensitive, rare, and intense subject. Suicide can be a touchy subject and most people and/or authors steer clear of the subject. Thats what makes The Pact so interseting, it goes through the pain and problems of suicide. The book is a tragic love story. It starts off with two families that are unsepratable, their children, Chris and Emily soon follow their parents example and become best friends and become unsepratable. Once the two kids become older they start dating and fall in love. Chris and Emily get into a lot of trouble when they are young and when one dare goes to far it will scar Emily for life. For the next couple of years Emily starts collecting a few dark secrets that she keeps from Chris and her family. With one secret so drak it will mentally kill Chris and her family. With these secrets Emily slowly starts resisting Chris. And once Emily supposibly commits suicide, Chris is the first suspect for murder. When Chris goes to jail and then trial the once so close families are now the worse of enemies. This book really shows the extent and reality of suicdes in high school. I learned a lot from this book but I did not like how sometimes the book was to intense or in other words hardcore. It talks about life in jail, sexual assault, teen pregnacy, drinking, sex, hate, and suicide. Sometimes in the book it is just to much. Overall I liked the book and enjoyed reading it. The Pact is a tragic love story that hits the hard topics that some or most authors would not. Even though the book gets kind of intesne and heated at certain parts, I would still recommend this book.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2009

    Trapped or inescapable?

    The Pact is a sad tell tale. It holds a thin line of the words trapped and inescapable. Between what you have grown up with and what has been given to you. Chris and Emily have been best friends since they were toddlers. But what do you do when the one you love the most, wants to leave. What do you do when your best friend asks you to do the evitable? How do you tell your family, parent's best friend, and your best friend that you want to get out? How do you escape a kind of life that you have been thurst into without a say in what you want anymore? This suspenseful, love story will make your heart shatter at the tragic ways of life. It will make you ache and cry until you learn the truth of letting go.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2009

    The Pact

    Jodi does it again and again. I feel like I am involved in the story as she pulls you in. I get little sleep when I read her books as I can not put them down!

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2012

    My Favorite Book Ever!

    The Pact is my favorite book, ever! I really enjoyed this book, and the thinking process I had to go through while reading it!

    Chris Harte and Emily Gold started dating around the age of thirteen and had been ever since. The two teenagers were thrown into each other’s lives since birth, and soon Emily started having thought’s of suicide. Now, Emily is found with a gunshot wound to the head, and all of the evidence steers toward Chris Harte, her boyfriend, being the killer. The Pact is a very complex type of book. This, in my case, is good. I love books that make me think. There were a few times that I had to set down the book and really think about what I had just read. Also, the book has lots of layers. The story goes into a lot of detail of the relationship between Emily and Chris from childhood to present day. Sometimes it can be confusing to figure out what happened in the past, and what is the present or reality. This book is very depressing, but then again, it revolves a lot on death and suicide. Even though this book is sad and depressing, this is a really great read. The characters seem so real, and so do their emotions. The book keeps you on the edge of your seat, and your always going to wonder what is going to happen next.

    If you like a very in-detail, romantic type of book, this one is for you!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2009

    "The Pact" A Love story...... By 4259

    "The Pact," a love story by Jodi Picoult is honestly one of the best love stories I have ever read, just all the passion and inspiration by the two young teenagers in this book is just absolutely amazing. They're just any ordinary high school sweethearts, only Emily isn't quite as happy as she seems and has a plan to kill herself. Emily and Chris were going to do it together, only Emily goes first, and Chris passes out, and things start to turn around when the police start questioning Chris, and the real truth comes out about everything. The story is just so compelling and makes you want to read it forever, and the end is something you really aren't expecting.

    Chris Harte is the victim in the story, he's the one who has lost his one true love, his best friend, his neighbor, everything, and he's put in jail for a year before the conviction and final court sentencing is held. His life is turned upside down within a week, but he makes it through. He is a very truthful, trustworthy person, and if he was a person in real life that I wish him to find the best person he can in life as a soul mate.
    Emily Gold, honestly has a heart of gold and was the sweetest person in the world. She was absolutely positively in love with Chris Harte and told him everything, except for the biggest possible thing to happen, a baby. She was pregnant when she died. She wanted nothing but the best in the world for everyone and people to be happy around her as well.
    Michael Gold was Emily's father, a proud one at that and had an extremely close relationship with Emily. He was the one who turned around the entire jury and made a speech about Chris Harte for the good and make those in the court know how great of a person he was. He was having marriage problems with his wife after the death of Emily, and he would have lunches with Gus (Chris' mother) on a weekly basis. He was an amazing father, husband, friend, and veterinarian.

    Jordan says, "It's not that. It's that I'm more than twice as old as Chris Harte, and I've been married, and I've still never felt that way. Gut feeling-do I think he killed that girl? Yeah, I do. Technically, anyway. But Jesus, Selena. I'm jealous of him. I can't imagine loving someone so much you'd do anything they asked. Even if that happened to be murder."

    This is just an amazing quote to me, because it really shows how much Emily and Chris did love each other. It's such a blessing to find someone in your life to love and to be loved by someone that close to you. It is truly the most precious thing in the entire world. I mean, personally I've been in a longtime relationship with my boyfriend of two years, and I love him to death, but I would never be able to kill him no matter what or what he asked me or anything. That is just way too much, and especially after reading this book, I would never even think about doing it.
    I agree with a lot in the book, I don't think that Chris was guilty either, his heart and himself never wanted to kill Emily. It was the pressure of her and him loving her so much that made it happen in my opinion. There weren't any errors that were extremely prominent in the book that I noticed myself. I didn't analyze the book while I was reading, I was enjoying it. I love the idea of this true love though, I think its truly amazing. The only thing that I have to compare with this is just that I have a boyfriend honestly, and that is really it. Its such an amazing and inspiring book, and I hope

    5 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2012

    This book was quite a read. It focused on a touchy subject that

    This book was quite a read. It focused on a touchy subject that many people don't often like to discuss let alone accept in their own lives. I love Jodi's novels, albeit the fact they are all rather similar, there's always a lawyer and some kind of family angst. Don't get me wrong, I enjoy reading her books, because she executes them ever so beautifully. I love that fact actually, that all her books have those things in common, and yet they are all quite different from one another, and she manages to keep her ideas new, and thriving while staying true to what she knows how to write best.

    The Pact is a very sad story, and if you're a sensitive gal like me, be prepared for a few tears to fall. Chris and Emily were a believable couple to me as far as any fiction story goes, the closeness of their families were also really great. Some people might not believe it, but there are indeed some two unrelated families that are close like that. Before I spoil the book, all there is left to say is that I really loved this book and it's story line, I almost wish it had an alternate ending, or maybe a sequel. But hey, some things are better left for the imagination.

    Happy Reading everyone! :)

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Repetative, inappropriate and trite

    I had heard good things about this author so I decided to give it a try. First of all, I don't understand why the author is so uncreative that she needs to use so much profanity. A truely creative person can find ways to express herself without having to use profanity. Second, please don't use graphic sexual descriptions just to fill pages. They had almost no relation to the storyline as a whole. Totally unnecessary.

    All that aside, the book was trite, wordy and lacked depth. This is the first and last book I will be reading from this author.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    One of my favorite books of all time

    I can't say enough about this book. I read it YEARS ago and still remember almost every detail. It is captivating, romantic, hearbreaking and beautiful. I love this book. I am also a law and order fan, I feel to fully appreciate this book you must love a little mystery and be a romantic at heart. I have read many of Jodi's books and have liked them, but none compare to The Pact.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2009

    "Ehhh"

    It is easy to connect with the characters since many of their actions as teenagers we have all done at some point in our lives. The switches between "now" and "then" threw me off at times while reading. I found that I enjoyed the "now" sections better than the "then" sections because I liked the mystery of it and the nuts and bolts of the trail and pretrial events. The love story reminded me too much of Romeo and Juliet, the two lovers falling in love and then Juliet aka Emily, kills herself and Romeo does the same after she does, similar to what Chris wanted to do with their suicide pact. Waiting to find out if Chris killed her or if she killed herself was the most frustrating part of the book. I found myself wanting to skip the entire thing and flip to the very last page to reveal the ending.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2012

    Am I the only one that didn't care much for this book???

    I have come to expect the unexpected when reading Picoult. This book started out great (fantastic I might say), the middle was boring, and the end was a total let down! I thought about not even finishing it at one point but I was to excited for that Picolut twist at the end. So with that in mind I hung on (waiting to be wow'd and speechless at the end). Without spoiling this for others – I will just say I had this one figured out from the start (I just really really expected to be wrong and I wasn’t – disappointing)!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    Ok book

    This was an ok read. It was more predictable than the author may have intended. The characters felt 75% developed. It must be hard to churn out book after book and keep the content full and believable.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    Trash

    I think this book is terrible. It is 1. Totally unrealistic 2. Dirty, not romantic 3. Exploiting suicide 4. Poorly written (flat characters, awkward word choice, predictable, redundant, and trashy). I can see why some MAY be entertainrd, but do not understand how anyone can claim this is thought-provoking, powerful, or deserving of any literary merit.

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    "The Pact" is my new favorite book!

    Jodi Picoult steals the reader's attention in a heart wrentching and breath taking thrill about a love so pure between people so young. I totally emersed myself into the pages reading about Chris Harte's devistating story, and each time I turned the page it left me wondering "what's next?"
    Jodi Picoult's writing style flips from back then, to present day, and back again, until, at the climax of the book, the both reach the date in question. November 7, 1997. This is a must read book for anyone who enjoys court trials, thrillers, and a parent's worst nightmare. One of Jodi's best books!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2009

    It was great!

    I read The Pact and I thought that it was a great book to read. I could not put it down. It reminds you of of innocent love, you know that first real relatuionship. I thought that the way it was interesting, how you go from past to present. I would recomend anyone to read this book, you will not regret getting it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    Another great story line.

    Another great novel. The characters grab you and you love them all. She makes it hard to decide what you would do in the same situation. That's what I love about Jodi's books. They make you look at all sides and make you rethink how you feel. Great book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2088 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 105