Customer Reviews for

The Pact: A Love Story

Average Rating 4.5
( 2091 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1211)

4 Star

(546)

3 Star

(207)

2 Star

(69)

1 Star

(58)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

76 out of 80 people found this review helpful.

A book all can connect to

I had read this in my Freshman honors english class. At first i thought it would be just another boring book we had to read for school but as soon as i read the first page i was drawn in and could not put it down. I finished the book in one day even though my deadline t...
I had read this in my Freshman honors english class. At first i thought it would be just another boring book we had to read for school but as soon as i read the first page i was drawn in and could not put it down. I finished the book in one day even though my deadline to read was not for two weeks. I came in to school the next day and found that most of the class had finished it in one day as well and others were nearly finished as well. There was not a single person in the class of 26 who did not love the book. It made me laugh and cry, even a few of the guys in the class admitted to crying. It was a powerful story and i reccomend it to everyone.

posted by 496424 on December 1, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

I had to make myself finish this one.

I found that the characters were not very real - it was like the author had to spend a lot of time trying to convince us that people really have close relationships like these two sets of parents did. I'm sorry, but I don't know many parents who would be okay with their...
I found that the characters were not very real - it was like the author had to spend a lot of time trying to convince us that people really have close relationships like these two sets of parents did. I'm sorry, but I don't know many parents who would be okay with their teenage kids having sex just because they were destined for one another. I just didn't buy it. The book was well written and vaguely interesting but in the end I had to force myself to finish it - more like a chore than a treat.

posted by mommyofwes on May 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted May 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I had to make myself finish this one.

    I found that the characters were not very real - it was like the author had to spend a lot of time trying to convince us that people really have close relationships like these two sets of parents did. I'm sorry, but I don't know many parents who would be okay with their teenage kids having sex just because they were destined for one another. I just didn't buy it. The book was well written and vaguely interesting but in the end I had to force myself to finish it - more like a chore than a treat.

    21 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2012

    Am I the only one that didn't care much for this book???

    I have come to expect the unexpected when reading Picoult. This book started out great (fantastic I might say), the middle was boring, and the end was a total let down! I thought about not even finishing it at one point but I was to excited for that Picolut twist at the end. So with that in mind I hung on (waiting to be wow'd and speechless at the end). Without spoiling this for others – I will just say I had this one figured out from the start (I just really really expected to be wrong and I wasn’t – disappointing)!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    Ok book

    This was an ok read. It was more predictable than the author may have intended. The characters felt 75% developed. It must be hard to churn out book after book and keep the content full and believable.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2011

    just ok

    Pretty predicatable the whole first half. Not believable at all at the end. Seemed more geared towards teenagers.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2013

    Jodi Picoult is one of a kind!

    Not surprising that, once again, I was riveted by the talent of Jodi Picoult. This story explores love and friendship on many levels and keeps you on the edge of your seat to the end. And at the end of the book, it actually felt like I was holding my breath. You won't be disappointed........

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    AWSOME!!!!!!!

    My mom LOVES that auther!!!!!! She said "i dont know if i have a favorite auther, but ive read all her books though."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    an emotional ride

    I couldn't put this book down as I kept wanting to discover more about the characters and their lives. It was truly engrossing and a good read not just for adults but for young adults as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    e..DR OCTOGONAPUS blaaaaaaa!

    Imma firin mah lazar!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    DB.2

    I dont no james

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Way too heavy & depressing

    Although it was well written and covered many important life topics, I found the book to be very depressing and heavy. There was no happiness, no romance. It's the kind of book that when you end it you're in a bad mood and feel like you've experienced something you shouldn't have. Don't say I didn't warn you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2007

    A reviewer

    The Pact started out well enough, with a compelling plot & interesting character dynamics. However, it faltered and completely tanked in the end. Way too many loose ends all over the place to make this truly a great book. What happened to Kate? She is totally left out of the story when we get to the trial. My guess is she ran away and joined a cult, but that's only a guess because the book never mentions where she is or what she's doing. What mother, especially a mother who has just lost her only child, BURNS that childs most recent and intimate private thoughts? We are led to believe that because of a single case of sexual abuse, from a stranger, not feeling romantic love for her boyfriend, and becoming pregnant makes Emily desperate to kill herself. Why was Emily's version of what happened before the shot different than Chris's version of that same moment? What happened to Chris's lawyer, and his assistant and his son after the trial? We will never know. What happened to Chris besides going back home to live, after the trial? We will NEVER know. We will never know if he went to visit Emily's grave again, or if he went to college, got a job, got married or if he flipped out after all was said and done and was commited to the looney bin. I was left feeling thoroughly frustrated at the end of this book. But for those of you with the ability to leave reality on the shelf while you read, I'm sure you will love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2005

    Oh no....I usually love the books I read

    I have read two of her other books and loved them. I work at a library and figured I'd read a book by an author whose books I have already enjoyed and recommended! This one let me down. A love story??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2005

    GREAT TOPIC--> NO REALITY

    This book is truly a typical suicide love book. A lot of my friends liked it not because of the book itself, but of the topic of suicide and love between two inseparable teens. I thought and so did many of my colleges after analyzing it that it was very controversial. First of all, Chris, who shot his girlfriend, should have been convicted. He was left off because they loved each other and that Emily told him to shoot her because she couldn't do it herself. Obviously, if she couldn't shoot herself, she wasn't suicidal. Only true suicidal teens have the pressure to do it no matter what it takes. Chris made an argument that he didn't mean to kill Emily. Well a lot of people didn't 'mean' to kill someone. In the story, a character Chris met in jail accidentally killed his baby child. He was sentence to life. Now he didn't purposely kill it. Another thing is that if Chris truly loved Emily, he would have not let her go. He wouldn't have shot her. Also even if he did shot her, and he truly loved her, wouldn't it also mean he would have shot himself also. He can't live without her. There are many more controversial things in this book. On the out side, in a nut shell view, this is probably the greatest book someone will ever read but if you¿re more sophisticated, you'll find that this book isn't really that great. I¿d recommend it if you don't care about the book giving a realistic and logical outcome but if you are into a true 'good' book, you should read Animal farm which on the outside look is a simple story, but if you uncover it, it uses so much symbolism that you are intrigued to read it over and over again to study it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2002

    Sentimental Drivel

    Unbelievable storyline and relationship between two kids. The parents reaction to the suicide was unrealistic. The reasons for the daughter's desire to end her life weren't believable. Especially someone so intelligent and talented. Also, the fact that Chris didn't do anything to help made him look like an idiot. Are all the positive reviews from women?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4