Customer Reviews for

The Pact: Three Young Men Make a Promise and Fulfill a Dream (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition)

Average Rating 4.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 11 of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2009

    Incredable Book

    this book was really incredible it was as the discription says a story of perseverence and the will to better off their condition great great book loved it

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    very inspirational, it touched me in a great way. the stories co

    very inspirational, it touched me in a great way. the stories come to life as you read it, i recommend this book for every growing teenager; male or female

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting, Love On Many Levels

    While I'm often a sucker for a love story this beautifully demonstrates the love of friends & more importantly the love parents hold for their children.
    Great suspense & the emotion roller coaster a good book can strap you in to & make you want to ride again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2008

    Not your typical love story

    I have a friend who hates reading. I left the book at her house 'after I finished it of course' and one day she was so bored so she picked it up and read it. She loved it so much that she wanted another book. After 24 years this book finally turned her on to reading. That said, you can only imagine how good this book is. Also, I hate love stories. This is not a typical love story. I loved this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2008

    A Must-Read for Students!

    I was so impressed by the strong storytelling as well as by the story itself. These men are amazing role models for all young people - not just minorities. I am getting a set for my classroom and including it in the curriculum for my multicultural class. It reminds me of the saying 'Inspiration is 99% perspiration.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2008

    the greatest book ever

    the pact was a book that inspired me to do better in school and persued my dreams.it showed me that there is more to life than the street and those who you consider your friends.it allowed me to see that being in the street and following the worng person isnt the best waii to happiness and yet it would get you into lots of trouble.i personally felt like i was one of the characters myself and i was happy to see how they succeed and so can i. i would have loved to met them myself and thank them so making such and inspirational book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2008

    A reviewer

    The Pact is a story of three young men making a promise to themselves and each other to escape the troubles of their hometown of Newark. Sam, George, and Rameck were young men who had a dream to get out of the ghetto and do something with their lives. From a young age they all were surrounded by the temptations of the dealing drugs for money and the dangers of being hurt everyday by the people around them. With families that weren't always capable of taking care of them they still set high goals for themselves to become doctors. Their families were poor, not there, or even had drug addictions, but they still worked through that. It's an inspirational story, appealing to all young people that there is always hope to succeed if you work your hardest. Growing up in such a rough environment made them realize from a young age what they would have to do to survive. They understood that if they stayed in the ghetto they would most likely end up living poor or being killed. As teenagers they applied themselves and were able to all get into schools for the gifted children. Making ends meet and working their hardest they set an example of how you aren't a product of your environment but a person with free will. This book made me understand what kind of hardships that other people go through just to make it by on a daily basis. To hear the story of these men helps create a vivid image of what many people lived in their childhood and what people live in now. Sam, George and Rameck are men that give hope to the children who thought they had no way of ever getting out of the ghetto and being their own person. It shows that the American Dream can become a reality to anyone who chooses to wake up and create it themselves. I highly recommend this book it was very easy to read and kept me interested throughout the whole novel. If you don't read it I suggest that you still try to understand that you can always achieve what your mind perceives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2008

    Inspirational & Resonates

    I read this book over the weekend and it moved me to action to share the book and get involved with young men in my community. The story is an easy read that draws you into their lives, struggles to stay on track and successes. I cried, laughed and rejoiced with each of them. Thank you to the 3 doctors for sharing your story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2004

    Inspiration for the masses

    This book is full of inspiration and also full of determination,it was great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 11 of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1