Customer Reviews for

Pagan Babies

Average Rating 4
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 16 of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    The Master!

    Still one of the best at what he does.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    Pagan Babies...A Good Read

    Typical Elmore Leonard, in that here is an author that ALWAYS gives you a good, witty, enjoyable read. Love him!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2002

    Interesting Shift In Detail

    This book was interesting as I read through the pages of moral abuse. One will begin to think this is horrible as he reads on because the story does such a good job of setting up the main character then explaining the twist. I recommend this book for someone who wishes to read a book from a prospective not many have thought about. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2002

    Not quite what I had wished for in a book .

    This is the first by this author , in my long list of recently read books , and I did not care for it. I thought it would be interesting but found it to be both slow moving , boring , and a real job to finish. Normally I would have looked forward to enjoying a new author. Better luck next time !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2001

    Good, good, good, ehh so-so.

    This one is I believe true Elmore Leonard form. Most impotantly it has a terrific caste of extremely interesting characters. The beginning gives you a good shock and the middle keeps you enthralled, but the ending lets you down just a bit. I enjoyed the book very much, but the usual Elmore Leonard pizazz wasn't there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2001

    Brutal and Sympathetic

    I read the book in two days, so right there it had some characteristics of a bonafied page turner, but having read several other Leonard novels, the book didn't seem to be up to its potential. The characters are classic Leonard, and their bizarre backgrounds help make the story playful. Leonard's dialogue is as crisp as ever, street smart, and to the point. Most of all I enjoyed the bizarre characters: an ex-con aspiring to be a stand up comedian, and a booze hound priest taking confessions in the wake of a massacre in Africa. A good book, but definitely not Elmore Leonard's best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2000

    Was Not All That Impressed

    Have been a big Leonard fan for years, but was not really impressed with his latest venture. I struggled to finish it. Enough said. To each his own, read it and reach your own decision.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2000

    yes!!

    finally, Leonard pumps out a new book!! I can't say enough good things about this book, so i'll keep it short. I love this book, if you like Elmore Leonard, buy it!! that's it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2000

    LEONARD JUST KEPPS GETTING BETTER AND BETTER!

    In Elmore Leonard¿s newest novel, PAGAN BABIES, we have Father Terry Dunn who is a Catholic priest in the African country of Rwanda. Five years before, he was witness to a horrible massacre in his church. Men, women and children of the Tutsis tribe were shot with guns and hacked to death with machetes by members of the Hutu tribe. All Father Dunn could do was watch as his congregation was murdered before his eyes. Now, one of the participants in the massacre has informed the good Father that the Hutus will be coming back to kill again, and that Father Dunn, being a tall man, may very well end up with his feet chopped off. This isn¿t a warning. The guy is bragging about what he intends to do. A few days later, Father Dunn enters a local bar where the Hutu killer and his friends are. He sits down and politely asks the group of men if they would be willing to turn themselves in to the local police, as well as seek redemption from God for the murders they committed. They laugh in his face, and then he calmly shoots all four men. That¿s when the reader knows that Father Dunn is no ordinary priest. He quickly returns to Detroit where he meets ex-con, Debbie Dewey, who is trying to start a career as a stand-up comedian (only in a Leonard novel). They¿re both instantly attracted to each other, realizing that they also have a great deal in common. It isn¿t long before they decide to work a scam on Debbie¿s ex-husband, who now owns a 4-star restaurant and is in cahoots with the local Mafia. Does that scare Debbie and Father Dunn. Hell, no! If they can¿t get the money out of the ex-hubby, then they¿ll try to pull one over on the head honcho for the mob. PAGAN BABIES is a pure delight to read. As usual, all of Leonard¿s characters are quirky in nature and funny in their own way. Even when someone is being beaten up or shot, the dialogue between the characters will usually have you laughing out loud. Mr. Leonard has a unique talent in being able to make his characters come alive with just a few short sentences. You feel as though you¿ve known these people all of your life. His ear for dialogue surpasses every other writer working today, except for maybe Stephen King and Robert Parker, conveying total believability in the characters. Mr. Leonard is also the only writer I know of who is able to interject doses of humor into the most dangerous situations, making it seem perfectly natural. Here¿s a good example of what I mean. There¿s a scene in PAGAN BABIES where a contract killer has come to kill Father Dunn. The good Father knows that the man is there to kill him, but does he seem worried? No. He stays calm and is able to quickly turn the situation around by showing pictures of starving children in Africa to the killer and guess what, he even receives a $5,000.00 donation for the church fund before the killer leaves. Only Elmore Leonard could pull off a scene like that and make it utterly believable. Buy the book, then think of George Clooney playing the role of Father Terry Dunn in the movie version of PAGAN BABIES, and you¿ll have four-or-five hours of absolute entertainment in your hand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Typical Leonard

    Father Terry Dunn knows it is time to leave the Rwanda massacre. His church contains forty-seven corpses turning to ¿leather¿. Although Terry is hiding as a priest, he cannot take any more of the killing fields. He kills several of the culprits but flees home to Detroit. He originally fled to avoid jail time. <P>Debbie Dewey has just left prison after three years for trying to run her former husband over with a car. Debbie wants to become a stand-up comic until she meets Terry still masquerading as a priest. They are immediately attracted to one another and he brings her into his current con, bilking wealthy patrons in a save the Rwandan children cause which is another name for his wallet. She ups the ante by persuading him that her ex and the mob boss he is tied to is the perfect pigeon. <P>PAGAN BABIES is more than vintage Leonard. This novel is classic Leonard wildly destroying moral barriers. The story line is entertaining, never eases up, and contains Mr. Leonard¿s graphic but picturesque prose that shows he is quite a talent. The characters are typical of Mr. Leonard¿s novel as they run the full spectrum of sleaze, in other words likable to detestable parasites. This tale is superb reading for those fans that enjoy something different along the lines of a fabulously written crime drama heavily spiced with the absurd. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 16 of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1