Customer Reviews for

The Pagan Stone (Sign of Seven Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 293 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(172)

4 Star

(78)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Another great ending

I read the reviews of those of you who have read the book before and went in cautiously. There are three things that I would like to mention: 1. the book alludes to the fact that the ending will be short, how can you have a long ending when someone will sacrifice him...
I read the reviews of those of you who have read the book before and went in cautiously. There are three things that I would like to mention: 1. the book alludes to the fact that the ending will be short, how can you have a long ending when someone will sacrifice himself? 2. There has been six months since most of us have read the second installment and one year since the first - I actually found her repetition helpful in both recapping and showing how the characters having progressed in their thinking and findings. 3. I found only one grammatical mistake. The incomplete sentences are her way of writing dialogue because this is how people normally talk. I just love the way Roberts has fun with her characters and the characters have fun with each other. I was not disappointed in the least. I just wish I didn't have to wait so long between books.

posted by teazabee on December 10, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Blah

I have read all three in this series and the books got progressively more predicitable and mundane. Enjoyed the first but almost abandoned the books entirely by the Pagan Stone. The only reason I finished it is because I had already invested time in the series. Now, ...
I have read all three in this series and the books got progressively more predicitable and mundane. Enjoyed the first but almost abandoned the books entirely by the Pagan Stone. The only reason I finished it is because I had already invested time in the series. Now, a month after finishing the book, I can not remember how the resolution of the book came about. A truely forgettable read.

posted by Mavis7484 on March 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 293 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted December 10, 2008

    Another great ending

    I read the reviews of those of you who have read the book before and went in cautiously. There are three things that I would like to mention: 1. the book alludes to the fact that the ending will be short, how can you have a long ending when someone will sacrifice himself? 2. There has been six months since most of us have read the second installment and one year since the first - I actually found her repetition helpful in both recapping and showing how the characters having progressed in their thinking and findings. 3. I found only one grammatical mistake. The incomplete sentences are her way of writing dialogue because this is how people normally talk. I just love the way Roberts has fun with her characters and the characters have fun with each other. I was not disappointed in the least. I just wish I didn't have to wait so long between books.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Pagan Stone by Nora Roberts

    "The Pagan Stone" is a fitting, if a tad disappointing, ending to Nora Robert's Sign of Seven trilogy. The bad guy is vanquished, the last of the three couples unites in a very heated, very sexy relationship, and life in Hawkins Hollow returns to (mostly) normal.<BR/><BR/>Cybil is the nomadic free spirit of the three women who eerily converged on Hawkins Hollow just in time for the lead up to the horrors that occur there every seven years. Gage is the nomadic professional gambler who is the third of the three Hawkins Hollow boys who have been destined since the minute of their birth (at the exact same time by the way) to send the demon known as Twisse back to hell. All portents show that THIS iteration of the seven-year curse will be the final one--either Twisse will take corporal form and destroy everything and everyone, or he will be defeated and banished. <BR/><BR/>In the first two books of the series, the first two couples respectively, faced challenges and found their strengths for the upcoming battle. In this last book, all three couples must band together to figure out how to use the weapons they have found to defeat Twisse...hopefully without anyone having to die!<BR/><BR/>Fantastic build-up, but the final battle was just a bit too short for me. Then, a four page epilogue and the book ends. Bummer. But I guess that's one of the signs of a good book, when you want it to keep going and want to know more about the continuing lives of the protagonists. In that case, the book delivers 100 percent.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2008

    She does it again!

    Despite most reviews I have read this was an amazing ending to yet another trilogy by our beloved NR. The answers she gave to the questions from the first two were just what we needed for this ending !! There were far too few unanswered questions to even let that come into play here . It would be wonderful in the future for there to be more novels with these characters as I'm sure I'm not alone in thinking this well , are some of her best ! Hts of to NR yet again !!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A bang up finish

    The Pagan Stone is Nora Robert's third installation of her Sign of 7 trilogy. It's Cybil and Gage's story and it does a wonderful job of tying the other two to it. It's fast and furious with the ultimate in good versus evil with just enough paranormal to keep those fans happy and just enough love story to keep her romance fans elated.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Pathetically Predictable.

    Don't waste your time. You can't get back the 45 minutes it will take you to read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    Blah

    I have read all three in this series and the books got progressively more predicitable and mundane. Enjoyed the first but almost abandoned the books entirely by the Pagan Stone. The only reason I finished it is because I had already invested time in the series. Now, a month after finishing the book, I can not remember how the resolution of the book came about. A truely forgettable read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    The Pagan Stone

    This was third and maybe final installment of the Seven Series. Truth be told I think she ran out of ideas towards the middle. The last half of the book seemed rushed, somewhat predictable and boring. I was disappointed. Not up to her usual standards.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Blah

    This is the first Nora Roberts book that I've read. I found it lacking in every way. I am an avid reader & I barely got through this book! I have friends that are big Nora Roberts fans. They were disappointed in this book also. Unfortunately I bought a couple of other books by this author but I'm reluctant to read them. I certainly hope they are better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2009

    Best of the Trilogy

    I read the entire trilogy back-to-back(to-back, I guess). I always do this- save the books until the story is complete. It keeps it fresh in my mind.<BR/>Anyway, this was my favorite book of the Trilogy (I liked them all, but this was my favorite). I laughed at times, I even cried twice!<BR/><BR/>I will say, I, too, was disappointed with the epilogue. I was hoping for a fast forward of at least 9 months!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2009

    Very disappointing

    I have to say I was not happy with the ending of this trilogy. I needed at least an epilogue about the future-- it just ended with the guys having a beer. Come on! This was the ending of three books, and it was like 4 pages long. Sorry, this was a miss, and I am usually a big fan.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great ending to a really good trilogy

    Well written, fast paced, edge of your seat. Romantic, humorous and sexy. Couldn't put it down. The friendship and love between Gabe, Cal, Fox, Layla, Quinn and Cybil is incredible. The relationship between Gabe and Cybil is steamy.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2014

    Highly Recommended - you must read.

    Nora Roberts is the best. Always traveling I can't always find the books I want in english . But this was worth the wait. I went crazy with nook books and she was the first writer I searched. I started out reading romances years ago and Nora was one of the first I liked. She writes under other names also. But which ever one she uses you know you are going to love anything she writes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2014

    One of her worst

    Usually like NR. Fail on this trilogy. I can typically see the scene she describes in my head but this time all three books were poorly written, in my opinion. She could have saved herself the trouble and me some money by writing one book and been done with it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    Fantastic end to another Nora Roberts trilogy!

    Fabulous read, could not put any of the books from this trilogy down! When I read the overview of the series, I was skeptical about the topic, but Nora did not let me down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2013

    I absolutely fell in love with the characters and the story line

    I absolutely fell in love with the characters and the story line. I was sorry to see the series come to its final end. I was also very shocked to see some of the awful reviews that this book has received. I know that any author is bound to write something that isn't up to their fans standards and to those that critique harshly but this book was very well written and done in the same style as the first two and done well in my opinion. Nora Roberts personally is not one of my favorite authors but she does put some great work out there and The Sign Of Seven series was one of those. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    Wow great awesome series of books

    That was a really great. All three books was exciting and fun to read. I planon reading more of Ms Roberts books these three was my first. But nit my last I am hoping this isnt a one time enjoyment in reading. I COULDN'T PUT THE THREE BOOKS DOWN.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    Great trilogy.

    Couldn't pit these books down. The great thing about discovering a trilogy after they have all been wrtten... no waiting! You just go from the 1sr through the 3rd and then regret when you've read them all. I just wanted the story to go on and on...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    THE FINIALLY

    This is dessert.The end was well worth the wait.I loved every body and glad the book end the way it did.In fiction the good guys should always win.Plus get the girl too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    The best ever

    Could not put these books down wow what a ride

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Zoey

    Lawlz

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 293 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15