Customer Reviews for

Paint the Wind

Average Rating 4.5
( 73 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(55)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    great book

    i have always luved horses and this book is spectacular! i luv it! :)

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2011

    AMAZING!!!!!

    This book is absolutely amazing, I have read it several times. I absolutely love this book, it is a dynamic story of love and fear. A must read! I recomend to anybody!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A fun and intriguing story for all ages!

    Paint The Wind by Pam Munoz Ryan is about eleven year-old Maya Limner. Since her parents died when she was four, she lives with her strict grandmother in California. Soon her grandmother dies and she goes to live with her grandfather, great uncle, and great aunt. She has read many books on horses at libraries, but little does she know that she will come to have a very strong connection with a very special wild horse her mother once rode!
    She has many minor adventures at their ranch in Utah, learning about her mother's past until an earthquake strikes and changes her life forever.
    I thought this was a very exciting tale and adults and children of all ages will thoroughly enjoy it! :)

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    most thrilling and fun

    paint the wind was a thrilling adventure of sadness,happiness,and danger.it was detailed so good i felt i was in the book .i even read it 4 times it was so good! it also is a great story for teachers to read to students. its lesson is to be your self and don't back down to things your afraid of. IT ROCKS!!!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2008

    A reviewer

    I really enjoyed reading it. The characters were realistic, the language was precise and profound. A great read. But the one fault that I found is when Maya is learning how to ride with the Limners. Being a rider myself, I know what it's like to learn how to ride, and it seemed to me that Maya jumped from learning how to steer to cantering way too fast. Honestly, it takes more than two days to learn how to ride like a pro. Maybe I'm wrong, that was just my reaction when I read the book. Anyway, that's only one fault when there could have been ten. I highly reccomend this book. It really is well written, and it's a must read for horse fans!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    AWESOME

    MY 5TH GRADE TEACHER READ THIS BOOK TO THE WHOLE CLASS AND I LOVED IT. WHAT I LOVED ABOUT IT IS THAT SHE GOT TO RIDE HER MOMS HORSE AND WHAT I HATED ABOUT IT WAS THAT HER PARENTS DIED AND SHE WAS SO SAD THAT THEY BOTH DIED AND I THINK IF U LIKE BOOKS THAT ARE SAD AND HAPY THEN YOU WOULD LOVE THIS BOOK !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :)

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2007

    Great read for young horse lovers!

    Paint the Wind is a great story for young readers interested in horses or who may be struggling with losing a loved one and staying connected to their memory. Maya has lost both of her parents in a terrbie tragedy and now lives with her stuffy, bitter, and overproctective grandmother who forbids any talk or memory of Maya's mother. The only way Maya is able to stay connected to her mother's memory is through one remaining picture and a few plastic toy horses. When Maya is suddenly whisked away to the Wyoming horse camp her mother grew up on, Maya finds MANY ways to connect to her mother--most importantly her mother's wild mare, Artemisia.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    Good book, but not as good as good as her other one

    i read Pams other horse book, riding Freedom, and I thought that it had much more character. But this one was very good. If you like the Phantom Stallion books , you'll like this one. I'd recommend it to any horse book reader. It had lots of good description, and it was very well put together.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    Wonderful

    I read this book and thought it was amazing. I think it is one of the best horse books writen thus being one of my favoroites.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Answering your question

    I LOVE THIS BOOK! Appropriate for all ages your mom would definetly let you read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2014

    Hi evetyone

    I havn't read this one yet but i have read Esperanza Rising by Pam Munoz Ryan and it was awesome. If you don't want to know what the book is about stop reading. Ok wel first Esperanzas papa dies and thwn they movto cifornia to become oops gtg cygl bb!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    Too aaaaaaawwwwwssss Too aawweessoommee

    I LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!! I have read this book 9 times!!!!!!!!!!! I think Ms.Ryan is a very awesome writer!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:)







    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    Love<3

    I read this book in school and i fineshd this in two a couple hours that is how good it is man i could just not put it down!<3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    To people asking for rping kits

    Yes. You all may rp them, go to golden rock res4 its the nursery. Thanks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    Can i rp lightkit

    Im active all the time and i also rp griffin(star)claw of lightclan..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    Can irp firekit

    Please

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    I love this book

    Awesome book. I so reccomend it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    Sweetstorm

    I'm Sweetstorm.l would like to join your clan.I am twenty moons old.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Artemis

    Luv LUV LUV THIS BOOK!!!! I really hope Pam(the author) rites a sequal!!!! So heart touching and loving!!! Never wanted it to end!!!!! Hope they make a movie outta this book!!!! Wish i coud giv it more stars!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Wow

    I love this book. The last sentence made me want more! The action of the story is amazing! Maya shows a strong bond between her and the horses. They should make a sequel! I wanted more from the last word! Five stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4