Customer Reviews for

The Painted Darkness

Average Rating 3.5
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Excellent!

This story grabbed me from the first line and wouldn't let go! I was up reading most of the night and woke clutching the book in the morning. The characters are believable and sympathetic, the dialogue flows effortlessly, and the story is hair-raising to anyone who ever...
This story grabbed me from the first line and wouldn't let go! I was up reading most of the night and woke clutching the book in the morning. The characters are believable and sympathetic, the dialogue flows effortlessly, and the story is hair-raising to anyone who ever lay in bed waiting for the thing that went bump in the night to appear. A great read! I will look for more from this author.

posted by Susanimher on July 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not for me.

I did force myself to keep reading the book and finish it, just didn't like it.

posted by packeroni on July 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Excellent!

    This story grabbed me from the first line and wouldn't let go! I was up reading most of the night and woke clutching the book in the morning. The characters are believable and sympathetic, the dialogue flows effortlessly, and the story is hair-raising to anyone who ever lay in bed waiting for the thing that went bump in the night to appear. A great read! I will look for more from this author.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    Best $3.00 I' ve spent on an ebook!

    What i thought was going to be another run of mill "fright book" with little substance and no plot, I was captivated from the first page which kept me reading into the wee hours of the night....... scary good !

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    Looking for new authors, and stumbling upon Brian Freeman, I bou

    Looking for new authors, and stumbling upon Brian Freeman, I bought this bargain ebook.. I loved it! Memories are made of this! I usually don't like a back-and-forth timeline, but this was done so smoothly I had no trouble reading from one time or the other. The child is endearing and his adult self keeps a high level of anxiety/tension; so much so that I couldn't put it down! I highly recommend this book and will look for more by this author.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    Don't Read Alone In The Dark!

    I read this on a cold dark evening on a recommendation. A definite page turner that did not dissapoint!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2012

    Well Done

    Your imagination is a wonderful thing to have until it gets away from you are does it? "The Painted Darkness" was a very very suspenseful read that I enjoyed a great deal it was hard to put down. If you are looking for a very interesting read this book is for you...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Great short story.

    IUnique story that kept me interested throughout. Similar in creepiness to the Goosebumps books, or Rod Steigers "Night Gallery" series in my opinion.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2013

    Interesting Read!

    A nice quick read to stir everyone's imagination and belief or disbelief in monsters. Enjoyed it, as did my husband!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Couldn't put it down

    This book got a little confusing/strange toward the end of the book with the adult Henry but overall i couldn't put it down. It was interesting and never had a dull moment. It makes you look at monsters in a whole new way. I will definitely buy his other books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2013

    I truley loved this story. It was dark and scary without being g

    I truley loved this story. It was dark and scary without being gory and full of predictable circumstances. For a while I thought I had predicted the end just to have the rug pulled out from under me. I really liked how the author went back and forth between child Henry and adult Henry to tell the story also because it allowed the reader to experience the circumstances that shaped adult Henry into the man he became with out just hinting at small details from his past. I highly recommend this book to every one who enjoys a touch of the bogeyman and things that go bump in the night.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2012

    Engaging book and well written but when it ended it left me a bi

    Engaging book and well written but when it ended it left me a bit confused

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    OK

    A little on the dark side, but I liked it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    1 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2012

    Not for me.

    I did force myself to keep reading the book and finish it, just didn't like it.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Good

    The Painted Darkness was overall a good book. It wasn't exceptional by any means; however, through repeated feelings of wanting to put it down, i kept trudging through without whining. I do believe i got my 3 dollars worth, and the one thing i'm happy about is another horror/suspense author entering the market. We need this genre to grow.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    Recommended Read

    I'm not a very good reviewer, but I know what I like and I liked this novella. Very suspenseful and written very well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    Misty

    Waits for someone to help her.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    Dont waste your money.

    Dont waste your money.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Disappointing

    There is a somewhat unique plot, I will give it that but everything else is a rip-off of Steven King's "The Shining." From a little boy with special imaginative powers, the trappings of dark cellar with a very old boiler, the peril of a boy and his mother at the hands of a deranged father, wording, foreshadowing, you name it; everything was shades of "The Shining."
    Just read Steven King and have a genuinely better reading experience.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    Nightshade to darkness

    Whered moonscar go

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    I expected more

    I feel cheated. I really expected more from this one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3